Brock 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 (edited) My Pioneer DV-355 (region free) is nearing it's shelf life. I've been to Courts and Giant (cheapo mah) and so far it's all Region 3 players. Any recommendations? OT...my Akira and Hyundai DVD players CMI...died within a year+. Can't read the discs (for Akira) and can't write (Hyundai recorder) Edited May 1, 2008 by Brock ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 (edited) try this site.... http://www.dvdhacks.co.uk/ http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks Edited May 1, 2008 by Dynaway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Testa_ross4 Clutched May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 All the so called Region 3 players should be hacked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Author Share May 1, 2008 Thanks. Seems it's only for older players. I wish to buy a new player that already has it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 if not wrong, most of the pioneer players are region free...... maybe u can look ard for the model n see if the hack is available before purchase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinichi21 Neutral Newbie May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 philips quite good and cheap. can play all dvd. and now a days usually u can just ask the person in the shop to "upgrade" any dvd players so can play all dvd disc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Author Share May 1, 2008 Thanks for the heads up. I'm thinking of Pioneer...Samsung...Panasonic...Toshiba. Past experience with Philips was bad. Only 1 year and it died. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Author Share May 1, 2008 But I intend to get a reliable one leh. Don't want to plunk my $$$ down for something that doesn't last. See my bad experience with Philips, Akira and Hyundai. Weird thing is that departmental stores, especially toy section, have theirs running 12 hours every day and yet it still lasts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Author Share May 1, 2008 Must pay extra bo? My discs tend to be Region 1, 2 and 3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Droozy Neutral Newbie May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 (edited) mmm i bought philips DVD recorder 5 yrs ago. Serviced once only during warrnanty period. Now still strong though hardly used. Ask my fren to buy Philips dvd player ..3 yrs already still strong ! Edited May 1, 2008 by Droozy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 (edited) Bought a Panasonic DMR-EH57 DVD/HDD Recorder last year end, check with the BD sales verified all-region playable. Edited May 1, 2008 by David Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geminik Neutral Newbie May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 My enzer DVD players gonna be 3yrs old and still running strong, I dun think it really matters which brand u buy now since DVD players are dirt cheap nowadays and region free Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 When I bought my Philips dvd player a few years ago, the salesman said it's region-free...and it really is. He said to avoid Sony, since they own the movie business as well so it's against their interest. The region code is for all manufacturer's to comply during manufacturing. But apparently, they can make it region-free after that without much problem. Philips is easier to go region-free somehow, even if it is forced to region 3. Just google for it. I accidentally upgraded the software and make it region-coded, but was able to downgrade it back to region-free. And yes, it's still working and I'm happy with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Author Share May 1, 2008 Hmm...ok. Will also consider Philips then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Author Share May 1, 2008 Jippun brand reliable. I'm more interested in non-HDD recorder. Wanna record some kiddy shows for me kid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Author Share May 1, 2008 Nowadays I can't seem to locate Enzer. All Akira or Hyundai. Some Shinco lying around too. Problem with these is that can't even find proper hacks to remove Region 3 settings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Author Share May 1, 2008 Looks like another thumbs up for Philips...Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 goto mooooosetafar B2 electronic dept and ask lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...