Muffler with welding mark can pass LTA inspection?

Hi guys, I'm driving a latio and contemplating whether to operate my muffler to semi-flow or changing to a universal "sports" muffler. The downside of operating is that it is a one-way ticket and is very hard to find 2nd hand stock muffler except Tan Cheong when I want to swap back. Another way is to change to a universal muffler whereby I can revert back to stock any day. One question I need to ask is universal muffler normally needs welding and I'm not sure whether I can pass inspection by the 3rd yr even if I change back to stock cause of the welding marks. Any bro with experience can kindly advice? I know it is illegal and carry a fine :)

yeah, kinda hard to get a spare one when needed to.

maybe u can try chipping in wif a few of the latio pals to get 1 backup one for LTA use?

which part of changing to a universal muffler requires welding? sorry for this noob question cos it never happens for my case and i've tried swapping in and out 6 different types of exhaust system ranging from axleback , catback to turboback .i see the mech jus unbolts and bolts back the flanges.care to enlighten?

welding should be no problem, if they ask jus say people bang ur backside and need to weld back the muffler lo.

Probably your car has got muffler made specially for it? Most exhaust shop I ask says welding is required otherwise if dun wan welding got to op the original exhaust.

welding should be no problem, if they ask jus say people bang ur backside and need to weld back the muffler lo.

Bro you personally tried before?

Welding issues when doing swapping did not cause probs for me during inspection. Have done it before on my old car.

If u're concerned abt tell-tale signs, probably u can tell your welder to cut at the joints instead of in the middle of a pipe. Even stock muffler boxes have welding marks at the joint.

Clutched
Hi guys, I'm driving a latio and contemplating whether to operate my muffler to semi-flow or changing to a universal "sports" muffler. The downside of operating is that it is a one-way ticket and is very hard to find 2nd hand stock muffler except Tan Cheong when I want to swap back. Another way is to change to a universal muffler whereby I can revert back to stock any day. One question I need to ask is universal muffler normally needs welding and I'm not sure whether I can pass inspection by the 3rd yr even if I change back to stock cause of the welding marks. Any bro with experience can kindly advice? I know it is illegal and carry a fine :)

When inspection time comes, rent a stock and change back after inspection.

the most 50bucks...

Not intending to touch the cat.. dun wan CEL to come out also :P I just wanna try out different effect on different muffler only

op muffler i hear can pass inspection. unless u kena liak for other mods then they do thorough inspection then i really dunno [lipsrsealed]

ultimately risk is up to u. do note that if u get stopped, you are 99% gonna kena for illegal muffler but only 10% chance of kena for operated stock muffler. op muffler is rather quiet if u get good "stuffing". but if u want sound, then be careful lor

in the first place, if they see ur original ugly tail pipe tip, they not likely to bother with ur car [;)]

latio tail pipe tip is ugly, IMHO. mine also very ugly, so dun take offence [;)]

Haha.. Yes latio tail pipe tip is very ugly i agree fully. I did weld a twin tip earlier but took it out as my car is lowered and will strike curb if i reverse in. Think op muffler is the way to go i guess

u want "illegal" mod then try not to make ur car too obvious [;)]

but staying LTA legal can't get u anywhere.. [sly] unless ur ride has lta approved muffler. but those will be exxxxxx [knife]

for lta legal, can be loud and improve performance n still no worries though, u can consider [;)]

Yeah.. my car is an ah pek car lah.. no legal exhaust and I don't feel like spending 1k on a mod tat may not yield significant bhp gain. Furthermore there's no legal muffler at the moment and I dun tink it will ever will as this model is almost 3 yrs old already :)