Klein Neutral Newbie April 30, 2008 Share April 30, 2008 Hi, was shopping for a new shoes for my ride and Barum was out of stock and for my size 195/60 I am only limited to FD2 and not the 595 or evo series. Anyone have any good or bad things to say about this model? thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caltis Neutral Newbie April 30, 2008 Share April 30, 2008 I used FD2 for a while Good points: Very comfortable. Very quiet, almost noiseless in those new resurface road Grip ok, good enough for general safe driving. Bad points Too quiet, make my engine and transmission sound very noisy Sidewall too soft for my liking I'm now using 595 EVO, noisier than FD2, but almost same noise as Michelin Primacy, so i'm ok, but i like the grip and hardeer side wall...shiok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klein Neutral Newbie April 30, 2008 Author Share April 30, 2008 Thanks for the feedback ... Too bad is that the 595 evo do not have my profile unless I upgrade to a 16 or 17 inch :) anyway how is the wear rate of FD2? .. i saw at at the tyre is that the wear rate is 420 and it should be quite good right? .. how is hard connering for the FD2 like? . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caltis Neutral Newbie May 1, 2008 Share May 1, 2008 due to soft sidewalls, dun dare to try hard cornering, not enough feedback for me to judge the limits of the tire. That's why i ended up with evo. Have to bear with a little harder and noisier side, but have the edge of performance when needed. Based on ur tire size, u driving latio? But fd2 grip is not bad serious, my main complaint of this tire is the too soft and comfortable ride. Took a few urgent traffic right turns, fd2 no signs of tire screeching. I will go back to fd2 if i change to 17.in cos the sidewall will be harder. Anyway buy the tire unless u comfortable with it and suit ur driving style. I like the brand cos free rotation and n2 filling and the staff cleans the rim properly before fitting the tire. Great workmanship and service Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klein Neutral Newbie May 1, 2008 Author Share May 1, 2008 Hey thanks for the info. Had changed all my 4 "shoes" to FD2. As what you had said, it is really silence comparing with most of the others that I had used so far like (AD07, ST115, 712, T1S and Gurun) Will wait until run in before I can comment more but as what you had said also, great service and good service. However I am not too sure about the free rotation:) Maybe need to ask them again. Btw, I am driving a Fiat GP not a fast car thus thinking of changing to a more "touring" kind of shoes. Was keen to upgrade my shoes as well but the cost of Oil is all going up... need to cut some cost here :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caltis Neutral Newbie May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 You change all 4 shoes with them...sure got free rotation. I think they forgot to tell you. Just drive in when 10k (or whenever you free to check with them) and get it rotated, should be free. Just keep your receipt lor... The silence is really scary...i never knew my renault was that noisy(even i felt my renault was quieter than my previous altis..)...sxxt... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear May 4, 2008 Share May 4, 2008 think for their 195/60,is v speed rating. most other tyres like bridgestone only H rating. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...