Count-Bracula Twincharged April 27, 2014 Share April 27, 2014 Digging up this thread makes me feel like I'm an archaeologist. I am planning to take up playing bass guitar, do I go Yamaha? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kilomatrix 1st Gear April 27, 2014 Share April 27, 2014 Hey all, I'm thinking of learning to play the guitar? Anyone got lobang? Any schools or private teachers to recommend? Is guitar hard to learn? Any tips? I have been playing for a while. I took up formal classical lessons from a private tutor (1 to 1) for about 2 years back in the early 90s. All I can say is, your tutor can only give you an hour of lesson per week, the rest is all your own hard work. How fast you want to progress depends on how many hours you want to devote yourself to practising the instrument. There is a difference between playing and practising. Playing is just playing your favourite tunes whereas for practising, you will have to practise various right and left hand techniques daily to build up your strength and agility, to allow you to handle more difficult pieces at a later stage. Absolutely no short cut. Just to share.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 27, 2014 Share April 27, 2014 Learning classical guitar is usually emphasizing on finger-picking type of playing. If want to play contemporary songs - or start a boyband - need to learn strumming, which is another story altogether. Not sure if there's any school that teaches such techniques though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Learning classical guitar is usually emphasizing on finger-picking type of playing. If want to play contemporary songs - or start a boyband - need to learn strumming, which is another story altogether. Not sure if there's any school that teaches such techniques though. I can't even do guitar hero Don say real guitar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Digging up this thread makes me feel like I'm an archaeologist. I am planning to take up playing bass guitar, do I go Yamaha? Nowadays, many schools offer lesson and gradings for pop/rock music lesson. Yamaha is one of them. Can also try Academy of Rock, which my son goes to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 I can't even do guitar hero Don say real guitar Real guitar is easier to play than guitar hero, trust me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Nowadays, many schools offer lesson and gradings for pop/rock music lesson. Yamaha is one of them. Can also try Academy of Rock, which my son goes to. If go ns, bring electric guitar, free time play you could be mine, Consperm satki to the max!!!!! Real guitar is easier to play than guitar hero, trust me. Whoaa!!! I didn't know this [shock] That time my friend lent me his guitar hero game, I let my son play, I thought easy to play and they will enjoy themselves but end up very hard to play They end up take out the guitar hero disc and play modem warfare Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 (edited) Digging up this thread makes me feel like I'm an archaeologist. I am planning to take up playing bass guitar, do I go Yamaha? If you are playing as a hobby ... don't go to schools ... because most schools go by the book, and it can be very dry after a while + you might give up shortly after you fail in breaking through ... If possible, borrow a Bass Guitar ... And read up about it ... Its a pretty simple instrument ... Chords are free on the internet http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php? For a start, go with simple chords & progression ... Join the Local Music Forum scene http://www.soft.com.sg ... You can also purchase a 2nd hand Guitar there ... If you intend to purchase a Guitar, take heed, a $200 Guitar cannot sounds like a $2000 Guitar, so I would recommend you to buy a good 2nd hand Guitar rather than a cheap new Guitar ... Buy a good Guitar Stand, most people forget about this ... Hercules is a good one ... <$50 Next, you will need an Amplifier ... This department, I cannot help you ... Cos I don't have one Choose an Artist you like ... When you like the songs, it makes practice fun ... This is Sting with his Fender ... Hope this gives you some direction ... Good Luck. Edited April 28, 2014 by Chowyunfatt 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 After you are done with the Bass Guitar ... You can try Electric & Acoustic Guitar ... Percussions ... Keyboard ... Just Like Morgan Wheeler ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ohinPqV3cMs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 After you are done with the Bass Guitar ... You can try Electric & Acoustic Guitar ... Percussions ... Keyboard ... Just Like Morgan Wheeler ... so you play in the kor tai with the old folk? is that you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Yeah, bass guitar got 4 strings only, so it's a good start. Moving on, can try acoustic with 6 strings. Though the steel strings can be painful on the fingers at first, acoustics have lower action (strings closer to the fretboard) so can be somewhat easier to fret and play barre chords without buzzing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Yeah, bass guitar got 4 strings only, so it's a good start. Moving on, can try acoustic with 6 strings. Though the steel strings can be painful on the fingers at first, acoustics have lower action (strings closer to the fretboard) so can be somewhat easier to fret and play barre chords without buzzing. learn from youtube lor for beginner, dun get the acoustics first lah, use those guitar that use the fishing line type, gentle to the fingers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 so you play in the kor tai with the old folk? is that you? No lar, I just play for fun ... I picked it up actually to play children's songs, now every night I perform my set in their bedroom before bed time ... I tell them that if they don't sleep, I won't stop Singing ... After which, nightmares come shortly ... I actually play like him .... ... I wished ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=341vSMO5ISU learn from youtube lor for beginner, dun get the acoustics first lah, use those guitar that use the fishing line type, gentle to the fingers Nylon Strings - Classical Guitar ... Not Fishing line lar, you 老人家 ... Yeah, bass guitar got 4 strings only, so it's a good start. Moving on, can try acoustic with 6 strings. Though the steel strings can be painful on the fingers at first, acoustics have lower action (strings closer to the fretboard) so can be somewhat easier to fret and play barre chords without buzzing. Yes, only 4 Strings ... But they are very thick & heavy to press ... fingers will sore ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Nylon Strings - Classical Guitar ... Not Fishing line lar, you 老人家 ... sorry lah, i 老人家 only play 二胡 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 sorry lah, i 老人家 only play 二胡 This one more Terror than Guitar, no Fret Board to guide one ... only feel ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEJh2FFUUoU this is one of my all time fav!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 I not so Rock ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PQsXOafY88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 28, 2014 Share April 28, 2014 Nowadays, many schools offer lesson and gradings for pop/rock music lesson. Yamaha is one of them. Can also try Academy of Rock, which my son goes to. Academy of Rock sounds like Jack Black movie. Thanks bro. Nowadays, many schools offer lesson and gradings for pop/rock music lesson. Yamaha is one of them. Can also try Academy of Rock, which my son goes to. Academy of Rock sounds like Jack Black movie. Thanks bro. If you are playing as a hobby ... don't go to schools ... because most schools go by the book, and it can be very dry after a while + you might give up shortly after you fail in breaking through ... If possible, borrow a Bass Guitar ... And read up about it ... Its a pretty simple instrument ... Chords are free on the internet http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php? For a start, go with simple chords & progression ... Join the Local Music Forum scene http://www.soft.com.sg ... You can also purchase a 2nd hand Guitar there ... If you intend to purchase a Guitar, take heed, a $200 Guitar cannot sounds like a $2000 Guitar, so I would recommend you to buy a good 2nd hand Guitar rather than a cheap new Guitar ... Buy a good Guitar Stand, most people forget about this ... Hercules is a good one ... <$50 Next, you will need an Amplifier ... This department, I cannot help you ... Cos I don't have one Choose an Artist you like ... When you like the songs, it makes practice fun ... This is Sting with his Fender ... Hope this gives you some direction ... Good Luck. I want to play like Robert Trujillo of Metallica. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...