Santaclaus Neutral Newbie April 18, 2008 Share April 18, 2008 (edited) Dear MCFers , I understand Honda launched Integra Type R first follow by GSR. Are honda testing our intelligence by naming it Type S ? Or is Honda launching this variant back then for a totally different market ? Just to clarify, I am referring to DC5R or DC5S, the last model of the the Integra series. Please share your views ! Edited April 18, 2008 by Santaclaus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear April 18, 2008 Share April 18, 2008 (edited) In the US market, the Acura Integra had 3 variants since the early 1990's: the RS, GS, and GSR. So the Acura Integra GSR is not a new trim, it was positioned at the higher end than ordinary Hondas. Acura is the 'luxury' division of Honda, like Lexus for Toyota and Infiniti for Nissan. In fact GSR had been around for a long time. Maybe it was called Type R in Japan 20 years ago. I am not sure when Honda started the Type R tuning division, or whether 20 years ago they had the Type R moniker. In the US market, a Honda CRX was the hatchback, which was phased out in the early '90s. After that, the targa top car was called the Honda Civic Del Sol. In Singapore that was called the CRX, if I remember correctly. So for different markets Honda named it differently? Edited April 18, 2008 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear April 18, 2008 Share April 18, 2008 The type s or gsr etc were intended to be cruisers while the type r's are supposed to be a race-car for the street. Totally different markets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 18, 2008 Share April 18, 2008 seldom people use 2 door as cruisers leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear April 18, 2008 Share April 18, 2008 toyota soarer, non-gtr skylines, non-turbo silvias, jag coupes, the 3l supra, I could keep going on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched April 18, 2008 Share April 18, 2008 no,in my opinion, i feel its for people who wants the look but dont need the performance of a type R. its totally different from a lancer that wants to dress up like an evo, thats called a "wannabe". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Santaclaus Neutral Newbie April 18, 2008 Author Share April 18, 2008 Thanks all for your views ! Please keep the comments coming ! Btw, IMHO, beside price, any other factors that will make pple choose GSR instead of type R ? perhaps auto tranny ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched April 18, 2008 Share April 18, 2008 actually i find the GSR very nice looking already .minor upgrades like rims and sports exhaust would make it look as nice as the type R .i dun mind having one if someone buy for me . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 (edited) GSR is definitely not Type R wannabe,but its hard to say for the drivers. they are definitely for different markets. the price tells everything. Edited April 19, 2008 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 if people only like the look of the integra,GSR is enough. if they want a performance high revving NA car,the "R" rules. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 i think most probably is the look of the car and the brand/model. then again,i supposed price is the main concern. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin53 Neutral Newbie April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 for me i prefer the look of the dc5r. the eyelid and the tailight. performance wise, gsr can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heckers Neutral Newbie April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 (edited) Quote no,in my opinion, i feel its for people who wants the look but dont need the performance of a type R. its totally different from a lancer that wants to dress up like an evo, thats called a "wannabe". sama sama la lancer wants the look but dont need the performance of a evo also what. LPPL Edited April 19, 2008 by Heckers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qaz20 3rd Gear April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 to each his own.. some people goes solely for looks.. some people goes for performance.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2077s 1st Gear April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 Is this Question "Is Integra GSR a Type R wannabe?" for the dim witted or what? The GSR is not an imitation, Honda maufactures them, just like the Type R. From Honda's point of view, same model with different variants are simply a correlation between sales figures and marketing strategies. Different folks, different strokes... car manufacturers offers practicality and usability first, den comes sportiness or performance. Without profits and regular market share, we will not have heavily researched high performance car models to speak of. Why not speak of the Type R as a GSR wannabe instead? Why was the Evo modelled after the 4 door lancer instead of being a one-off sports model body to begin with? It is because of the popularity of the lancer being a road car which appeals to the masses, therefore building on that popularity makes sense to its manufuacturer Mitsubishi. In fact, this question is misleading and hypothetical. There is no answer because the question asked is due to misconceived parallels between non-factual assumptions and cause. It is like asking... "Are monkeys human wannabes?" Go answer that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heckers Neutral Newbie April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 (edited) Interestingly , the question should have been are human monkey wannabes? or is that apes? go answer that[laugh] Edited April 19, 2008 by Heckers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 GSR > Type S sticker > NOT wannabe GSR > Type R stricker > WANNABE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 19, 2008 Share April 19, 2008 Quote for me i prefer the look of the dc5r. the eyelid and the tailight. performance wise, gsr can liao. is there a difference between the eyelid and taillight ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...