Chalk Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Guy, understand MT generally have better FC than AT. But AT oso have the traditional 4 gear and the new CVT. So in those 3 types of transmission which have the BEST FC and which one LOUSIEST. And wats the science behind MT having better FC. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 read: Manual - http://auto.howstuffworks.com/transmission.htm Auto - http://auto.howstuffworks.com/automatic-transmission.htm CVT - http://auto.howstuffworks.com/cvt.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siyexcalibur Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 AT uses hydraulic coupling, hence more transmssion losses Best to worst MT, CVT, AT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 i think MT is metal gear push metal gear so mim enengy loss i think AT is liquid gear push liquid gear so more energy loss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeff89 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 i think its becoz for MT transmission, you can get to the higher gears without harsh accleration. MT transmission also allow u to shift gears at lower RPM. which make it more fuel efficient. you don need to rev that high to change gear, unlike in auto trans. With MT trans you will also get more power. FC is also dependent on the driver most of the time. And your right foot. Haha. Thats my thinking la if i am wrong please correct me. i still newbie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Also MT allows you to cruise down slope in neutral gear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 ok this is layman's term how u change gear using MT? using ur arm power How u change gear using AT? using torque convertor. Where the energy comes from? petrol combustion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chalk Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 i know how they work ... tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 don't think transmission loss = bad FC IMHO, its down to how the torque converter works in an automatic transmission. perhaps it requires more energy, therefore power => burn more fuel to drive the transmission train. Whereas in a MT, the transmission drivetrain is less complicated, basically just the clutch assembly and driveshaft. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chalk Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 and wat do u guys think is the most efficient speed to save petrol at highway ... 80?? and will u whack to 80 then cruise or slowly go to 80 then cruise ... assuming open road... no downslope.... i think i will whack to 8o then cruise ... hee hee ... maybe we need some scientist on this ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 i think most AT has onli 4 gear while MT has 5 gears so MT more efficent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dcat Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Be it AT, CVT or MT, it all depends on your right foot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 To put it simple, it's the transmission medium that makes the difference. MT: clutch plate. AT: hydraulic action(oil) CVT: rubber band....I mean steel belt. Now DSG(dual clutch transmission) is most ideal since it has the direct transmission like the MT and it shifts like an AT without the bad FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 remember sometime back there was this guy from the states that held the records for travelling the longest distance or something like that, as part of Shell promotion. He did mention that smooth acceleration and cruise at between 60-70kmh is the best way to stretch the petrol. Think he did the Singapre-Genting round trip (600+km) on a single tank of petrol in a Subaru Imprezza, somemore with petrol to spare Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chalk Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 yah i remember .... impreza some more leh ... thot fc lousy .... if he use fit or vios can go penang maybe ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 (edited) Quote and wat do u guys think is the most efficient speed to save petrol at highway ... 80?? and will u whack to 80 then cruise or slowly go to 80 then cruise ... assuming open road... no downslope.... i think i will whack to 8o then cruise ... hee hee ... maybe we need some scientist on this ... Read somewhere that car is most efficient at 90km/h. Any more than that, the car will be spending more power overcoming drag per unit km moved than the actual traveling itself. Depends on car to car, but i guess cruising at 85-100km/h most of the time will give you best FC. I once did Sg-KL 2 way on a single tank.. avg abt 100km/h. So could be quite true.. Edited April 16, 2008 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 (edited) from fluid mechanics, in air, 70-80kmh is the limit of linear drag. above that is square of drag coefficient and cube of drag coefficient.. forgot all that formula stuff liao.. Edited April 16, 2008 by Nolicense Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 penang? that one stretch a bit too much lah, round trip 1500km leh unless he driving a car with 99L fuel tank then maybe. bugatti veyron? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...