Rocky88 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 IMHO..we may be united here..but the filthy rich who are not bothered by ERP and petrol hikes, they sure spoil our market..black sheeps like them are enough to overturn our plan here.. :( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 unless boycott dun drive = no need to pay car installment. if not u boycott for wat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chalk Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 No use doing it here ... 1) s'porean not so united and 'ai kuo' like other. eg. our soccer team. got win i support .. no win i dun support ... epl team come i support epl teams ... wat the %^&* !! 2) we are train(brainwash by you noe who) to be selfish. Care for yourself 'buay hu' liao still do wat boycott. 3) u stop driving they lagi happy. then we all look stupid. 4) the rich wont care ... v-power like water to them ... 'or-kong' like library fine. ERP like ez-link taking bus ... ti... ti .... never mind lah let it 'ti' later i go top $500 ... 5) its the attitude ... if u think ppl here say I WILL BOYCOTT!!!! tell you next morning he will start emgine like he did for so many years on ... say onli lah ... this is just my opinion of our country men including myself ... i am not a patroit but i love my country... for peace and safety for my family ... but since young we have been poured ideas into our brain to 'mind our own business' talk too much... u push ur cause too far ... open letter box and u get lawyer letter ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M1122 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 This is Sg which is special... probably end up in Whitley Road Centre for a holiday....dun pray pray hoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 wait long long, don't forget that the major public transport providers here in singapore are public listed companies. u think they will do that? not to mention that they are already up to their necks in coping with current congestion woes, u think they will be so stupid to shoot themselves in their foot by offering such a scheme? this will only add fuel to the number of complaints against their service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 I don't think it will work. (1) Petrol company here just reduce the import of oil. They just indent for the amount necessary, not any surplus. (2) Our country started with no ERP anyway, they don't rely on ERP takings to sustain the ERP operation. (3) If everyone stops driving, the cars need to be parked somewhere. Parking takings will not be that badly affected. It doesn't cost much for them to maintain or operate a car-park anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 if you try to organize a boycott, as in really organise one, thru flyers, house calls, mass sms, or thru some clubs or bodies you belong etc, basiscally something that works as opposed to tcss in a chatsite, i think u will be drinking tea in CID at least. or maybe having your toilet breaks in whitley (with added security these days, of course). this govt (becuase of LKY's personal past and beliefs as a unionist) is very fearful and watchful of the people organizing themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modas88 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 I find threads like this quite amusing. In the old days, when the govt discouraged car ownership by having high coe, high parf and high road tax, and 30% downpayment requirements, pple wld comprain that cars are so expensive, and asked the govt to lower the prices. now the prices are much lower (anyone remembers the days when a hyudai accent cost $80K + ?) if the govt were to lower the car prices, make financing easier by allwing 100% 10 yr loans, and keep the running costs the same, we would have such massive jams allover the island, it would be impossible to get anywhere of course something has to give. you cant have cheap car prices and cheap running costs at the same time at least with the erp system, one now has a choice to buy a car for a relatively cheap price, and keep it for weekend and leisure use in the Uk the are a large number of pple who work in the city of London ( a lot of them sucessful bankers, accountants, lawyers etc) who take the train and tube to work, and drive their luxury cars on the weekend only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firefly968 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 It won't work because petrol company's revenue probably will drop by less than 1% from decline in sales in SG ERP, you dodge this they'll still catch you somewhere else Parkings will decline, but not really a big deal to the shopping centre owners. The main revenue source is shop rentals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 This is Sg which is special... probably end up in Whitley Road Centre for a holiday....dun pray pray hoh wah.. i help to promote taking public transport wrong meh?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 I don't think it will work. (1) Petrol company here just reduce the import of oil. They just indent for the amount necessary, not any surplus. (2) Our country started with no ERP anyway, they don't rely on ERP takings to sustain the ERP operation. (3) If everyone stops driving, the cars need to be parked somewhere. Parking takings will not be that badly affected. It doesn't cost much for them to maintain or operate a car-park anyway. 1) Will have effect becos less sales = less profit 2) They introduce ERP to balance up the reduction in COE and road tax. Yes, if less ERP taking, there will be an impact. 3) Those who already own a car will have season parking where u park whole day or only night. Parking issue though will be of least concern. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 if you try to organize a boycott, as in really organise one, thru flyers, house calls, mass sms, or thru some clubs or bodies you belong etc, basiscally something that works as opposed to tcss in a chatsite, i think u will be drinking tea in CID at least. or maybe having your toilet breaks in whitley (with added security these days, of course). this govt (becuase of LKY's personal past and beliefs as a unionist) is very fearful and watchful of the people organizing themselves. i wont call this organising a boycott. more of trying to see the response and general feedback. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 didn't know u so civic minded.... tot all along you r a kokster.... where is EK by the way? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 I find threads like this quite amusing. In the old days, when the govt discouraged car ownership by having high coe, high parf and high road tax, and 30% downpayment requirements, pple wld comprain that cars are so expensive, and asked the govt to lower the prices. now the prices are much lower (anyone remembers the days when a hyudai accent cost $80K + ?) if the govt were to lower the car prices, make financing easier by allwing 100% 10 yr loans, and keep the running costs the same, we would have such massive jams allover the island, it would be impossible to get anywhere of course something has to give. you cant have cheap car prices and cheap running costs at the same time at least with the erp system, one now has a choice to buy a car for a relatively cheap price, and keep it for weekend and leisure use in the Uk the are a large number of pple who work in the city of London ( a lot of them sucessful bankers, accountants, lawyers etc) who take the train and tube to work, and drive their luxury cars on the weekend only. if u think threads like these are amusing, i guess u have been taken for a ride by the gahmen. did u realise that whichever policy the gahmen employ will ultimately result in more $$$ into their pocket?? Why wasnt a policy used that can effectively control the traffic and yet benefit everyone? who proposed the COE policy? who eventually realised that COE cant work and deploy ERP? now ERP is not working as effectively, what next? peasants that stupidly pay so much for their luxury item ( car which only worth like 30% elsewhere ) eventually realised that they can no longer maintain or support it. does sub-prime issue in US sound familiar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 CB lah, u wanna hunt EK for me?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 What is there to gain by doing this? We have the ability to boycott but what can motivate us to boycott for one month? If someone boycott for one month, I would love to drive on the road more because got one car less causing congestion. Btw if you can really boycott driving for one month and survive well on public transport, then the problem is with your perception of owning a car, not with LTA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 2) They introduce ERP to balance up the reduction in COE and road tax. Yes, if less ERP taking, there will be an impact. 3) Those who already own a car will have season parking where u park whole day or only night. Parking issue though will be of least concern. They reduce the number of COEs but the recent price of COE is now close to 20k each. The COE price and number of them issued has already self-balanced each other. ERPs are only extra toppings. Unless it takes a lot of money for them to operate and maintain the ERP/car-parks, otherwise it will just mean slightly reduced takings for them, without any major consequences. The slightly reduced takings will not force them to succumb to consumer's request. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 more detail lar ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...