Yeshe Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 I know this has been posted and polled before but using a different method. I was wondering how many of us here will be willing to STOP driving for 1 month and only take public transport. The impact will be, 1) Petrol company taking will get hit badly 2) ERP takings will drop significantly 3) Parking takings will drop significantly We have no way to stop petrol company from raising price, we have no way to stop LTA erecting more ERP gantries. But we can voice our unhappiness by our actions. So who will do it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarahelly Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Noble idea, but I doubt it will ever take off here.. If by some miracle it happens, for all we know they then increse the bus fares Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 already overloaded pubic tpt system will collapse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 it will be a miracle if people agree to the boycott. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frankma Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Realistically, do you think Singaporeans are civil-minded enough to take a cause and action on it? I have done anti-Bush protests in US and know how passionate people living in a democracy feel about their cause. Here in singapore, you see singaporeans complaining loudly about anything and everything but when it comes "to the push and shove" or ask them to stand up for their cause, they all back down ... Well, if you shine a torchlight in a warehouse, you see all the cockroaches scrambling for the dark ... you know what I mean Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 (edited) So who will do it? If you are in this land maybe just kindly accept it and move on lor. That is no need do any unnecessary things bcos life already hard enough liao. Edited April 16, 2008 by Jl1500k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 u will only play into the government's hands of promoting less cars on the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 By the way, singaporeans are not so united also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 no offense bro, but 1) Petrol company can take hits for months, without feeling the pinch.... if we all go up north to pump the blood sucking garment will stipulate full tank to enter... 2) ERP, for LTA, if extreme cases, they will implement GPS charging... or other vicious blood sucking revenue in which theres not escape.... 3) Parking and others, even if u stop using their facility, they may react only weeks later, but eventually volume/traffic WILL return as normal, and u will see that the prices will go up again... Those ppl that need the car to work, work as in like cab drivers, delivery vans, sales persons will have no choice as this mode of transport is their bread and butter... the rich will not boycott as this charges are nothing to them... the middle income will whine and suffer, but theres not much they can do cept to change the voting ratio for the coming GE and pray for the best. the poor, i hope will never get to hop onto this pirate ship Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonicmood Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 On lah...lets gather as much ppls as possible and do it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Nothing will change if one is not willing to change the lifestyle. Boycott is just a short term thing. Look at the run on rice last two weeks at NTUC and other outlets. First the shelves are empty, but NTUC easily increased the replenishment from their warehouse. No matter how much the customers buy, there were enough stock piles to replenish on the shelves. Back to today, are the rice at NTUC still for sale? Did NTUC suffer big losses? Did the panic buy cause any alarm or danger to NTUC survival? Same thing as the boycott call to stop buying petrol for one day. It will not work in Singapore. The moral of my story is "if boycott only for a short period, there will be ZERO impact!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 why don't all of us stop taking public transport and drive the cost down 1st.. then we stop pte transport and drive ERP down too. then we have hunger strike to drive the price of food down.. next, all to stop buying houses and have cheaper housing.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 i am only capable of stop driving in the forum. i wanted to sell my car for a few years already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amuze Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 It's already so easy and cheap to own a car now ( compared to the 1990s.) Super cheap COE, lower taxes, easy credit with no DP and 10 year loan. The savings from COE itself, is enough to pay for all the increase in petrol, ERP charges and what not. Everyone just wants to complain, in the end deep down inside we will still happily drive.. Just my personal opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 i already done it wat... i pump pak lah's petrol 97% of the time. i avoid erp during peak hour, i only go into the city between 10am to 12pm, night time after 7pm and whole day on sunday... but still, petrol price up, more erp gantry... so dun blame me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crusader75 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Why not we do it this way. We all pump only a certain brand like SPC for a few months. If we have enough people to do the same, the drop in other brand's monthly takings will become apparent and that might spark some additional discounts or price adjustments with the other brands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Want to do, do 1 year. 1 month bo la sa one. Take yourself as example. You can survive without working an entire month. 1 year don't work most likely cannot make it liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 u will only play into the government's hands of promoting less cars on the road Isn't fewer cars on the road good? Since we are talking about things that will never happen, how about this: the transport companies charge half price for car owners. You need to show proof of ownership when you pay the fare. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...