Msia toll by card only

Pisces69

You can top up at various places as stated in a slip that comes with the card or their website.

Some are free top-up, like their customer service at Skudai toll booth office.

Some of the touchngo lanes can also top-up.

For other top-up, you have to pay one time charge of rm1.

Most Petronas station can top-up. I pay them rm100, and they will top-up rm99, but it's more convenient than to look for the free top-ups.

Though I've worked in JB for some 3 years, I've not used the T&G card at all.... [rolleyes]

Need some advise here :

- After each deduction from the card, is there any screen / display to indicate how much balance is left?

- What if insufficient $$$ in the T&G card, how ah? Can those T&G lanes along NSHWY accept cash payment? or must reverse out and go to the cash payment lane?

- How much is the fee to top up at those places which charge for this service?

Thanks

1.There will be a screen indicating how much is deducted and your card balance.

2.depends on which T&G lanes you go.For those with T&G only,you can't make any topups/cash payments as there is nobody in the booth there.Numerous times i saw drivers in front with insufficient balance have to reverse out or come out of their car and use cash to top up at the T&G counters.

Just be aware that to topup,you gotta go into the T&G "Tambah Nilai" lanes only.(This applies to NSH only)

3.If you topup at the T&G "Tambah Nilai" counters,there are no charges.Only at selected petrol kiosks are chargeable.

btw,these are all from my experience so far driving into MY using the T&G card.as for card expiry,i don't think it's 1yr coz so far i've been using it for 3yrs+ still ok.

Went in last night....... the immigration person never mention anything.... also no notices about this leh........ could be another hoax to get you to buy the T&G card from them. Probably get some commission if you do so.

I remember I was told by the toll collector sometime end of last year about this. It was supposed to happen months ago, but till now..... [rolleyes]

Though I've worked in JB for some 3 years, I've not used the T&G card at all.... [rolleyes]

Need some advise here :

- After each deduction from the card, is there any screen / display to indicate how much balance is left?

There is 1 big screen in front of ur ka & 1 on d contraption u tap on

- What if insufficient $$$ in the T&G card, how ah? Can those T&G lanes along NSHWY accept cash payment? or must reverse out and go to the cash payment lane?

$$ not enuf. 2 option:

1. Ppl in the office will open gantry & u stop by d roadside. Go into d office & pay diff; or

2. Ppl in the office will walk out. Ask all traffic behind u 2 reverse. Then u reverse out.

Top up @ toll plaza is free

Thanks

Edited by Davidtch

I just came back from KL 2 weeks ago, not all toll plaza provides topup for TnG. Just unlucky last toll run out of funds in my card have to top up with cash.

no lah. its REFORMASI. don't you know it is the in-thing these days in Bolehland? [sly]

sinkapore has ERP/cashcard for so long liao, they also must follow and not fall behind [laugh][laugh]

just came back..

but 1 chicken 1 duck so have to half guess...

as for your question on the notices...

the notice is a small poster at the counter,at least for the usual toll counter i goes to,

with something like RM50 for TnG card...

there is nothing to tell u May they no long use cash...

but I have check with the lady...the nearest top-up which is at Caltex...

for all petrol station that is participating, there is a fee of RM0.50...

only the top-up lane at the Highway do not collect any fees...

thinking she mention Kompass( what does it mean ) but when ask further if the second link can top up free, she says yes....

Hi all. Just to share that I went in JB today & checked with the toll booth guy who confirmed that by May, all toll charges will only b collected by "Touch n Go" card.

That means cashless payment only. So those who go in regularly better get the card soon.

Can we share here where is the place to buy this card & the most convenient place to top-up this card in SG or MY.

I u'stand it can b topped-up at Maybank branches in SG but does that mean we all have to open a Maybank account here just for this? Seems quite silly then. [gossip]

I just buy direct from the booth lady. Spent 50Rm which 10 is not refundable (they learnt from our cashcard system liao....$5 manufacture cost)..

AS for topping up, the lady told me any maybank can leh...

[crazy]

Edited by Chrispie

hmm...no see ah...

me throw away the form liao...

because no buy RM100...

but strangely the counter told me that buy "now" got free cover...

=================

Must check what kind of cover. RM1K for death is also "cover". [sly]

Fine print is very important. In SG already got so many companies out to cheat us tru the fine print. [sweatdrop]

maybe the guidelines are updated...

==================

Anyway I just buy 1st & use cos I have to buy as I go in quite often so irrespective of the T&C, I still have to buy. [:p]

aiyoh that means i need to prepare both cashcard and touchngo cards.

think the reasons why they stopped cash payment is the rampant corruption of those toll operators. from below to top all makan $ type.. some new management came in and wanted to beef things up.

===================

Another reason why they prefer prepaid cards is cos u r paying IN ADVANCE the moment u top-up your card. They earn your $$$ b4 u even spend it.

Some pple have more then 1 card & that $$$ sitting in your cards r not earning any interest but they can bank in or use the prepaid amts from the many holders & earn from it. Plus if u lose a card, the $$$ is "given" to them for free.

Same with our NETS & EasyLink cards. All FREE money for them to use at our expense, plus we have to pay for the blardy card summore. [thumbsdown]

Hi all. Just to share that I went in JB today & checked with the toll booth guy who confirmed that by May, all toll charges will only b collected by "Touch n Go" card.

That means cashless payment only. So those who go in regularly better get the card soon.

Can we share here where is the place to buy this card & the most convenient place to top-up this card in SG or MY.

I u'stand it can b topped-up at Maybank branches in SG but does that mean we all have to open a Maybank account here just for this? Seems quite silly then. [gossip]

how reliable is his source ?

======================

Good question but I already heard rumors that soon we need to use cashless to pay at the JB toll booths.

We can wait for the announcements in the newspapers to b sure, but then might have to rush to get the damm card & since everybody wil b rushing to get it, it might b sold out for some time. U know how slow they do things.

You can top up at various places as stated in a slip that comes with the card or their website.

Some are free top-up, like their customer service at Skudai toll booth office.

Some of the touchngo lanes can also top-up.

For other top-up, you have to pay one time charge of rm1.

Most Petronas station can top-up. I pay them rm100, and they will top-up rm99, but it's more convenient than to look for the free top-ups.

====================

Ya. That's what i guess. Most wil charge to top-up. I saw in their website that most Caltex stations can top-up but I'm sure have to pay at least RM1 per top-up.

Need some advise here :

Thanks

1.There will be a screen indicating how much is deducted and your card balance.

2.depends on which T&G lanes you go.For those with T&G only,you can't make any topups/cash payments as there is nobody in the booth there.Numerous times i saw drivers in front with insufficient balance have to reverse out or come out of their car and use cash to top up at the T&G counters.

Just be aware that to topup,you gotta go into the T&G "Tambah Nilai" lanes only.(This applies to NSH only)

3.If you topup at the T&G "Tambah Nilai" counters,there are no charges.Only at selected petrol kiosks are chargeable.

btw,these are all from my experience so far driving into MY using the T&G card.as for card expiry,i don't think it's 1yr coz so far i've been using it for 3yrs+ still ok.

=======================

Thanks for your useful info. [thumbsup]