Ender Hypersonic September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 Okay....... So now where do I buy plastic bags to bag all my wet kitchen waste in before throwing into the common rubbish chute?Lol, that is one of the biggest reason why we want our plastic bags. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 Hoarding up plastic bags now! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventador 6th Gear September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 I personally use alot of plastic bags - for trash, for wet clothes etc but against my self interest, this change has to happen for the good of our kids I see NTUC the way the use the plastic bag, 1 bag put 3 things - each time go home with 6 to 10 NTUC plastic bags - is really excessive and they used to have thicker plastic bags, some genius say save cost - so they order thinner bags, now cashier use 2 bags in 1 for heavier stuff. LPPL as much as we bitch about it - we will adapt IKEA has been doing this for years, and once you know this is the rule, you will get used to it Save the Earth for the kids (btw i still love sharksfin soup, i am no Greenie) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 (edited) Depends on what you want to buy. Of cuz, not all are cheap, have to compare individual items, but I find Amazon regular "expensive" price sometimes just match or even cheaper than Giant special offer price. I just ordered some on sale. Kao Colour Bleach 3L - Amazon $7.45, Ntuc/other shop around $7.90 ~ $8.50 Oral B toothpaste 3pk - Amazon $7.90, match Ntuc if on offer Ayam brand baked beans - Amazon $1.10, regular price about $1.40 Didn't buy, but it's gone now Persil powder 5kg - $10.50, regular price $15. ICE Mountain drinking water 600ml x 24 Bought from petrol station special offer $9.90 Amazon selling $7 Have to keep checking those stuff on sale. Their price do go up and down, and some items disappear. But I guess they will be back. Yes I agree that Amazon is cheaper for those things. But I won't buy from them because I usually buy those items in bulk (3 to 4 months worth) from our friendly neighbor Edited September 24, 2017 by Kusje Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 JB already started no plastic days on Sat for very long liao, and its across the board on sat. No one is complaining so far, seem like all get use to it liao. Want plastic bag is 20 sens a bag. Everyone bring cartons and recycle bags there. But instead of asking us to pay for plastic bags, why cant they give us a discount instead if we opt not to have plastic bags? KNN always know how to take only, cannot think of giving one. However, i have seen many elderly bring their own recycle bags when they go shopping, good example actually. The last time I saw someone use carton boxes to pack their purchase and put on a trolley push to their car! http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017/01/02/ban-on-plastic-bags-off-to-a-good-start-despite-complaints/ SUBANG JAYA: The ban on polystyrene food containers and free plastic bags in Selangor and the Federal Territories got off to a smooth start although some shoppers were annoyed by it. Entrepreneur May Chung, 40, questioned whether the policy was really environmentally friendly. She said while she used to re-use plastic shopping bags for garbage, she now had to buy plastic bags specifically for trash. “It’s the customers who end up having to pay more,” she said. Previously, Selangor held a “No Plastic Day” every Saturday but the campaign was extended to seven days a week starting yesterday. Shoppers in Selangor can still get single-use plastic bags from stores at a minimum charge of 20 sen each. Apart from the ruling on plastic bags, Selangor, along with Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan, has also banned polystyrene food containers. Perak and Johor have also announced that they would ban the use of polystyrene containers and plastic bags from June. Housewife Tan Lee Hing, 48, said it was troublesome to bring along too many reusable bags, especially when she was unsure how much groceries she would be buying. “Sometimes the store doesn’t have what you want or you buy extra stuff on a sale. “It’s hard to guess how many bags to bring,” she said. A check at a grocery store here revealed that cashiers were informing shoppers about the new rule, and there were also signs at the checkout counters about the 20 sen charge per bag. However, the store provided free cardboard boxes for customers with many items, and sold reusable non-woven bags (RM3.50) and cloth bags (RM18.90). A check at the food court in the same mall revealed that all the stalls were using either plastic boxes or cardboard boxes instead of polystyrene containers for packing food. A restaurant worker, identified as Noraiza, said she had already been using the cardboard boxes before the new rule as it was standard to use boxes that had the company’s branding. In Rawang, shoppers at a mall and patrons at several eateries were seen bringing along their own reusable bags and containers. Air-conditioning technician Wong Chew Wha, 53, said he always has some reusable bags in his car. “I, too, want to help save the environment and make the Earth a better place to live in for future generations. “This is not something new; we have been doing this on every Saturday for the past few years,” he added. Hawker Samiya Anggilou said the food boxes she used now were twice as expensive as polystyrene food containers. “But since this is the law, I have to follow,” she said. Samiya also said she was confused whether she was still allowed to use small plastic bags to pack drinks for customers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 I personally use alot of plastic bags - for trash, for wet clothes etc but against my self interest, this change has to happen for the good of our kids I see NTUC the way the use the plastic bag, 1 bag put 3 things - each time go home with 6 to 10 NTUC plastic bags - is really excessive and they used to have thicker plastic bags, some genius say save cost - so they order thinner bags, now cashier use 2 bags in 1 for heavier stuff. LPPL as much as we bitch about it - we will adapt IKEA has been doing this for years, and once you know this is the rule, you will get used to it Save the Earth for the kids (btw i still love sharksfin soup, i am no Greenie) Faults in the supermarkets' practices, and pass the costs to consumers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 Hawker centre - before they use regular plates, bowls and utensils. Then someone says it's unhygenic and better to use disposable plastics. Then someone says you must pay for it, bcuz the hawkers have to pay for it. Now hawkers charge you more, when you want to takeaway, bcuz of the plastics. Or they can reduce the food portion quietly and still take your money anyway. Then the environmentalist claims disposable plastics takes up more landfill and of cuz someone has to pay for it..YOU, the consumers. I also see for many of us, we don't "waste" the plastic bags. We use it as trash bags. If you don't have plastic bags, you would need to buy trash bags. So everything that goes around, revolves the $ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 i think they should focus on commerical use on plastic first. 1) disposable utensils at f&b, 2) plastic bags by commercial buildings including hotels. i am sure these numbers are easily available. 3) even grass cutters and cleaners for parks. why are they using plastic bags not recyclable bags? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 The use of plastics bags in Singapore is indeed excessive. UK has ban plastics totally from all supermarkets and even the elderly are using recycle bag. Y cant we? The next to go should be styrofoam and plastics for take away food. I dislike eating my food in styrofoam but no choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 The use of plastics bags in Singapore is indeed excessive. UK has ban plastics totally from all supermarkets and even the elderly are using recycle bag. Y cant we? The next to go should be styrofoam and plastics for take away food. I dislike eating my food in styrofoam but no choice. Why no choice? Aren't you saying that one should bring their own recyclable bags (and containers)? If they remove the styrofoam and force you to bring your own container, then that's called no choice. Right now you have the choice to bring your own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Some super markets in US charge for plastic bags. Costco does not even provide bags. You just cart your stuff to the car.. but it can only happen in US where almost everyone has a car; In fact the plastic bags in US are so much thinner and softer than our bags; I guess they are made not to last at all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Why no choice? Aren't you saying that one should bring their own recyclable bags (and containers)? If they remove the styrofoam and force you to bring your own container, then that's called no choice. Right now you have the choice to bring your own. I bring my own tumbler to Starbucks save 50 cents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 I bring my own tumbler to Starbucks save 50 cents I save 5 bucks by not drinking Starbucks. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Let promote to bring our own Rubber bag. Hahaha save the environment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 It's all down to cost to manufacture the packaging or containers or utencils. The plastic resins used to make plastic bags come from oil refinery. The residue from crude oil after much refining and filtration goes through something like a meat grinder like minced meat and cut into small pieces. Needless to say we have plenty of supply here and it's cheap. Unlike other countries they do not have any oil refinery plants and have to import the plastic resins. Hence making plastic bags for them could be as costly as making paper bags. There are plastic bag recycling plants here where used plastic bags are collected and washed, melted down and go thru a heated meat grinding like machine and cut into tiny plastic resins. It's actually more expensive to operate and there are not many plants. I think they are heavily subsidised by our govt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Hawker centre - before they use regular plates, bowls and utensils. Then someone says it's unhygenic and better to use disposable plastics. Then someone says you must pay for it, bcuz the hawkers have to pay for it. Now hawkers charge you more, when you want to takeaway, bcuz of the plastics. Or they can reduce the food portion quietly and still take your money anyway. Then the environmentalist claims disposable plastics takes up more landfill and of cuz someone has to pay for it..YOU, the consumers. I also see for many of us, we don't "waste" the plastic bags. We use it as trash bags. If you don't have plastic bags, you would need to buy trash bags. So everything that goes around, revolves the $ Before following blindly at other countries cultures, maybe should look at the situation in Singapore first. Most people are living in high rise HDB flats. We use the plastic bags to consolidate the trash and throw it in the rubbish chute. It becomes more important when the central chute is outside the corridors for new flats. People can't just throw the rubbish down the chute in the house. Using plastic bags to throw glass and food waste becomes more hygienic and less messy for the sanitary workers. So we should go back to the days that we just throw the rubbish down the chute instead? There are actually more solutions to reduce usage of plastic bags instead of charging more. 1. Encourage more online shopping. 2. Use paper bags or thicker bags that hold more with stronger and more durable quality. 3. Educate cashiers to use as less plastic bags as possible. 4. Reward customers with cash rebates who use lesser bags, no bags, and use own bags. 5. Reward people who return clean and reusable condition consolidated plastic bags to the supermarkets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Why no choice? Aren't you saying that one should bring their own recyclable bags (and containers)? If they remove the styrofoam and force you to bring your own container, then that's called no choice. Right now you have the choice to bring your own. Some food seller use styrofoam even for non-takaway dining. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Before following blindly at other countries cultures, maybe should look at the situation in Singapore first. Most people are living in high rise HDB flats. We use the plastic bags to consolidate the trash and throw it in the rubbish chute. It becomes more important when the central chute is outside the corridors for new flats. People can't just throw the rubbish down the chute in the house. Using plastic bags to throw glass and food waste becomes more hygienic and less messy for the sanitary workers. So we should go back to the days that we just throw the rubbish down the chute instead? There are actually more solutions to reduce usage of plastic bags instead of charging more. 1. Encourage more online shopping. 2. Use paper bags or thicker bags that hold more with stronger and more durable quality. 3. Educate cashiers to use as less plastic bags as possible. 4. Reward customers with cash rebates who use lesser bags, no bags, and use own bags. 5. Reward people who return clean and reusable condition consolidated plastic bags to the supermarkets. Actually, I disagree with reward scheme. Reuse, reduce and recycle are values which should be in grain inside us, the next generation and all subsequent generations. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...