Backside itchy, want to ask question

Bearbear1494

Hehe, me backside itchy considering a change-over to some sort of SPL-biased setup. Just want to ask what are the entry-level brands out there that are capable of pushing out high dBs without a huge sacrifice in SQ? I know it's asking for alot, but looking for speakers that can play loud, and play with reasonable clarity while doing so. Please don't poison me with high-end brands, cos I can only drool but not buy. Thanks in advance.

Yup, in consideration along with EFX. Thinking of trying out Cadence as well, but need some feedback on their mono-blocks. EFX maybe going for their mid-woofers, then try to pair up with some other tweeters & crossover. Auditioned the base-level models before, but found the high range too harsh for my liking. [:/]

Thanks for the suggestion. Any others? [thumbsup]

got the efx 5.25 com speaker. but only install the mid at the rear (tweeter at storeroom). using hu to drive all 4 speaker.front is alphasonik. mine is those pasa malam type speaker [laugh] . but the sound is ok. maybe can go SLT to hunt for speakers?? but beware of fake product.

Hmmm... Alphasonik not too bad actually. Had a pair installed in the front shortly after I got my new car. Then stupid me go & swap those for a pair of Sony Xplod 6.5 comps instead. KNN, sound no much better than my stock co-axials. Waste my time take off door panels. [laugh]

Anyway, if you look at my siggy, about 90% of my parts come from SLT. Not worried about grade-C cheong products at genuine prices, more concerned about how long they can last under constant blasting. [:p] But at least my Helix comps confirmed genuine, cos not bought from SLT. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

yup SLT lvl 2 huh. but alphasonik's box written that 200watt rms dunnoe whether it's ture anot. can comment on those speaker much as i haven install a amp yet and sp. i'm using the same hu as you. headache sometime can't eject, do you have the same problem?

Edited by Calvin53

Wahaha... yeah, level 2. Where else right? Anyway, I'd probably discount around 30% of the stated power handling of the Alphas. Feed them around 100-120WRMS should be fine provided you don't run them past clipping. As for the HU, I got mine for under $200 almost 10 mths ago cos it was a display unit. No probs at all so far. Wait & see how it goes, if not got excuse to change HU again without getting an earful from wifey. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

DB drive?? not a guru here but heard many good comments.. wanna get the db drive amp next time..

DBdrive... cough cough.... cough.

since u like to consider changes, ever consider spending some time to join the ICE meetup and hear the setup.

ok.. my setup is the most cheapo one. the rest r cosmic standard.

if u want standard... minimum is get a good set of HU 1st... the other day got feller sell P80, price is guud.

loud and clarity speakers? consider pre owned ones lor... CDT sports.

Eh, what am I missing here? DB Drive ho boh ho? Got a few comp-winning cars with DB Drive setup leh. But dunno how good is their base lineup lah. [confused]

Brooooo... ICE meetup I went for a few liao loh. Ask Uncle Bob. But each time I go, only see & hear those expensive setup one lor. Simi Butler, Tru Tech, Sinfoni etc. KNN, hear the pricetag almost want to run & bang wall. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Anyway, I don't mind pre-own. As for HU, will come later since now going for SPL-biased. If really going for true SQ, will change. Now need to change components, amps, sub, and cap. [:/]

Hi Bro,

<< Brooooo... ICE meetup I went for a few liao loh. Ask Uncle Bob. But each time I go, only see & hear those expensive setup one lor. Simi Butler, Tru Tech, Sinfoni etc. KNN, hear the pricetag almost want to run & bang wall.>>

Apollo came many times to our ICE meetup liao.. Wah... you say like this... scare everybody off liao.. not true lah... our regular ICE kakis do not have Sinfoni at all lah.. so far, only 1 or 2 max have Butler and Tru Tech.. but most others have much cheaper components.

Are you confused with the other ICE meetups?.. The one I went recently can really send you running away and bang wall wan.. I also ran away but cannot because there are 70 plus cars there blocking my way to get out.. so no choice stayed back till they start to move off after 12.30am..

Hahaha. Uncle Bob, not saying that you all are using super duper high end equipment lah. But most of the stuff that most of the bros are using, still out of my reach. I can only relate to brands like Lanzar, DB Drive, Cadence, Boss Audio etc. Then only the MB Quart low-end components or the Rainbow SLX still can aim for. Like your Focals & Steg, cannot lah. Not unless I tio 4D. [laugh]

So far the only one I know who uses lower-end equipment is using almost entirely DB Drive (issit? Can't really remember also.). [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

Hi Bro,

<<So far the only one I know who uses lower-end equipment is using almost entirely DB Drive (issit? Can't really remember also.>>

I think you are referring to bro Spinworkx aka Roy driving a black Getz?.. He's still using his same old dBDrive 12" sub in a ported box driven by dbDrive amp while his front components are now driven by Hustler AR-75 tube amps (is $600+ for 1x2ch tube amp @75w RMS considered cheap?). He has not changed his front components though.

Yah! Spinworkx! Now you jogged my memory. Yah, he changed to the Hustler amps the last time I saw him. At $600+ for tube amp is not expensive actually, but sadly, not in my price range. My budget for mono is like $300, 4-channel also around there that kind. Plus, the SP potential of my ride is almost hopeless unless I really don't mind adding the 50+kg worth of extra weight. Even then also not up to scratch, buy nice nice components also wasted. [:/]