Kopi Neutral Newbie April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 Btw M1 @ $58 & Amsoil @ $60 is how many litres? & weight ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonicmood Neutral Newbie April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 M1 is $14.5 per/qt, 4qts = $58 Amsoil is $15 per/qts, 4qts = $60 Both oils are extended use... I got them from M*trading... The c*lube i saw in ntuc xtra is the triple R longlife & is gong at $77++.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopi Neutral Newbie April 12, 2008 Share April 12, 2008 If im not wrong C*rlube @ NTUC Xtra is 0w30 Longlife Fully Synth 5L currently no promo and what i saw @ GIANT is C*rlube 5w30 Longlife Fully Synth 5L promo @ $42.90 so is actually 1L cost $8.58 Bro i need more than 4L of engine oil for my car if im buying M1 or Amsoil i need to buy additional 1 quart and total will cost me around $75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Squareone Neutral Newbie April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 Just changed to Carl*be 5w30 Fully Syn Longlife recently. The weight 30 oil feels smooth, quiet and rev better than my previous SHU. Wander why SHU has no w30 oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 understand tat amsoil is a long life oil. so any bros here delay e chge when it is more than 10k on e clock here I'm currently using Amosil SS 0W30, I will not use it for 10K even if it lasts. 5K change oil and oil filter should be fine. ATF change at every 10K now. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Squareone Neutral Newbie April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 Is there any benefit to change oil at 5k when most syn oil is said to be good for at least 10k for day-to-day driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 (edited) freshness take an underwear for example u can wear it half day, one day, two day(flip inside out), four day (flip front + back + inside +outside), or wear it till it stinks real bad Edited April 14, 2008 by Furrynadz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 u having 3-some amongst yourselves? Or maybe 4some... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Squareone Neutral Newbie April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 Guess its individual preference than benefit. Engine oil is not exactly cheap to change every 5k. Anyway, I may try another brand for my next oil change to see if I can feel the difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 i think considered gay orgy liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 u forgot to mention; same underwear after wearing for 4 days, will more likely develope into a itch, then rashes, then become fungus infection, then ned to see doc and pay more $$ for the doc consultation and medicine.. same thing as engine oil, save $$ now by not changing it when its time to do so... then later pay more for repair.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 You and your Karlube & NTUC Xtra...fark off lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 (edited) I think you are using the analogy wrongly. engine oil has a recommended change interval, say 10km. Underwear is recommended to change every time you bath, not every few days. Therefore, if one change oil at 5k instead of 10k, it is like changing underwear before one goes to bathe. of course, it is your money and you can change it as often as you like, but you are not helping the environment at all. Edited April 14, 2008 by Zakuii Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 good analogy. actually got someone from here told me, synthetic can easily go 20k. for him, turbo car, he changes at 10k. my dad has been running 15k or more OCI due to sheer bochup/laziness. not much ill effects. just kena nag by me everytime he exceeds 10k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonicmood Neutral Newbie April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 (edited) i'm doing it every 20k...so far ok leh... have been doing it for the past 15yrs liao... 20k change synthetic oil & oil filter at the same time... Edited April 14, 2008 by Sonicmood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siyexcalibur Neutral Newbie April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 I second that, one of my colleaque also change his synthetic oil once every 20K for more than 15 years. However, he changed his oil filter once in 10K. So far zero engine problems are encountered, but his cars are Honda, Toyota and Nissans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sonicmood Neutral Newbie April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 for the past 15yrs i had both conti and jap ride & i use extended performance synthetic oil..didn't have any problem at all...not even white smoke coming out of the exhaust.. anyway, had never tried removing filter while the oil is still in the engine stunt... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopi Neutral Newbie April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 Just changed to Carl*be 5w30 Fully Syn Longlife recently. The weight 30 oil feels smooth, quiet and rev better than my previous SHU. Wander why SHU has no w30 oil. I think maybe Shell still think that 5w40 is suitable for MOST Cars be it New or Old Btw NTUC Xtra AMK & Hougang Point currently having promotion on Shell Helix Ultra 5w40 @ $64.90 Only. New Spec API SM ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...