Friendstar

To Genting: Picnic or Mazda3sp 1.6?  

82 members have voted

1. 1.

• Picnic
    • Mazda 3 1.6
    • Both CMI. Take Coach better

Long distance, Comfy - Pinic.

Travel at high speed, stability - Mazda3.

Genting Highland, you might need to engage 1st gear at certain sections, tried personally. In generally, Mazda3 no power when come to climbing slopes

Theft or not, secured your own vehicle, whether Mazda3 or Pinic, all the same.

u call me?? [:p]

HAHAHAAHAHAH that's lame. seriously

can lah i believe most cars can do it. just mayb not e infamous QQ....... [blush]

QQ will need a car behind to push it up i guess.

I just driven up with my lancer last week. So either cars for u should be ok rah. "D1" was sufficient for the sloping roads, both ways.

Which hotel u book ? If its genting, u just drive yr car into the hotel drive-way, the hotel jockey can park yr car in the open car park just in front of the hotel. Fee is RM12. Totally safe and within view even from your hotel room. Security patrol round the clock. [thumbsup]

I suppose u got kids. They will enjoy the indoor and outdoor games there. Got some good rides for adults too. [nod][nod][nod]

Its only cold during the mornings & at night, and also when it rains. If the sun is bright and shinning, its quite cooling, not cold at all. [sunny]

D1 for how long?

i cannot imagine D1 for 1 hour.

engine will hot until can fry egg?

me? bm...X [:p]

he is a bike siao la..got 1 phantom(spelling?) and recently got himself another ST11. car to him is just a transport.

haha but then his cc bigger then mine leh..he 1100cc i 999cc [laugh]

Both cars LPPL as far as it goes, only diff is Picnic carries more things.

Just shift gears when u go up genting lor. Little kelisas also can go up n down. U want power to go up, then rent a F430 lor. I ve seen one myself, its no horse$hit [nod]

Edited by Ahbengdriver

Hmmmm....its only after u pass the 2nd guard house(after a roundabout), that u need to engage D1. The road from Sin to that point, normal D drive is acceptable. At least to me. And i'm ferrying 2 kids that time. The journey is abt 15-20 mins depending how fast u drive. [cool]

Got one turning is 270 deg turn to the left side.......and some on a 30-45 deg up-slope on the turn. [dizzy]

But hor, there are penty of cars going fast on these slopes. Quite impress with thier driving skills. These cars will typically cut into yr lane after they pass u, to get a better turning radius on the next turn. So do watch out for them. [sweatdrop]

As mention, do watch out for your kids, they might not take the turning drive well. Prepare lots of plastic bags just in case. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Ah girl threw up for the 3rd time during this last stretch and wify panic and scream at me for plastic bag, while i struggle with the turnings. U dont want to be in the same situation. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Better still drop them off at the cable car station and let them go up genting via cable car. They can wait for u at the top, its safe, dont worry. [nod]

My return trip i did that, i load up everything and send wify and kids off at the cable station. Meet-up with them down below station. [nod][nod][nod]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

4 people!

thanks for the vote

i scared picnic cannot climb leh

actually m3 also cannot climb

tats the problem

can climb lah, even kelisa also can climb [lipsrsealed]

for u, mazda 3. definitely much more shiok to drive on the curvy roads, BUT with full load, handling will definitely suffer compared to just driver alone [:p]

for the rest of ur family, picnic. for straight line sprinting shd not be an issue. just ensure everything is well-maintained. for genting drive safely it will be fine. still better than coach

so the question u shd ask is: who is more important? [sly]

kids tend to prefer MPV. as a big kid, i keep bugging my dad to buy odyssey or estima, but he refuses, and got camry instead [laugh]

4 people!

thanks for the vote

i scared picnic cannot climb leh

actually m3 also cannot climb

tats the problem

my 1086 cc can climb genting easily. just rev more. still faster than most cars except the chiongsters and the crazy taxi.

last time only mod was CAI. still no issue.

picnic may be heavy, but power to weight ratio definitely better than my small engine but heavy body korean ride [sweatdrop]

ok must drive at 2nd / 3rd gear?

u can leave it in D most of the way. for the really steep parts, D2 maybe. or L [;)]

toyota VVTI engine very boring, but they do the job just fine. no need vtec or ivtec [laugh][laugh]. those will be a bonus.

anyway, do have fun. and try to keep out of the way of crazy buses/taxis. last time i went, got buses overtook me on a downhill, and i wasn't going tt slowly [:p]

ok must drive at 2nd / 3rd gear?

====================

sometimes 1st gear.. den my advise is dont stop half way. after that u might have problem continueing. and also try to go up with full tank. cuz upstairs no yiu pump. u wont know how much petrol ur ka will consume.

anyways... my 999cc starlet also no prob with 4 peeps in the car. so surely picnic or madza 3 shouldnt have any probs. [thumbsup]

no need full tank. "upstairs" got mobil petrol kiosk. same price as lowlands [;)]

Hmmmm....its only after u pass the 2nd guard house(after a roundabout), that u need to engage D1. The road from Sin to that point, normal D drive is acceptable. At least to me. And i'm ferrying 2 kids that time. The journey is abt 15-20 mins depending how fast u drive. [cool]

Got one turning is 270 deg turn to the left side.......and some on a 30-45 deg up-slope on the turn. [dizzy]

But hor, there are penty of cars going fast on these slopes. Quite impress with thier driving skills. These cars will typically cut into yr lane after they pass u, to get a better turning radius on the next turn. So do watch out for them. [sweatdrop]

As mention, do watch out for your kids, they might not take the turning drive well. Prepare lots of plastic bags just in case. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Ah girl threw up for the 3rd time during this last stretch and wify panic and scream at me for plastic bag, while i struggle with the turnings. U dont want to be in the same situation. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Better still drop them off at the cable car station and let them go up genting via cable car. They can wait for u at the top, its safe, dont worry. [nod]

My return trip i did that, i load up everything and send wify and kids off at the cable station. Meet-up with them down below station. [nod][nod][nod]

wah tats good idea

anyway, the vomiting plus driving while turning makes u feel very man hor? [laugh]

Can get up there alright already. No petrol station never mind..... coming down can off engine (put to N) and slowly glide along. [laugh]

my 1086 cc can climb genting easily. just rev more. still faster than most cars except the chiongsters and the crazy taxi.

last time only mod was CAI. still no issue.

picnic may be heavy, but power to weight ratio definitely better than my small engine but heavy body korean ride

no la. i tink a getz manual 1.1 is fine.

dont belittle ur own ride

though i would prefer ur own kangoo

haha