Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 I just driven up with my lancer last week. So either cars for u should be ok rah. "D1" was sufficient for the sloping roads, both ways. Which hotel u book ? If its genting, u just drive yr car into the hotel drive-way, the hotel jockey can park yr car in the open car park just in front of the hotel. Fee is RM12. Totally safe and within view even from your hotel room. Security patrol round the clock. I suppose u got kids. They will enjoy the indoor and outdoor games there. Got some good rides for adults too. Its only cold during the mornings & at night, and also when it rains. If the sun is bright and shinning, its quite cooling, not cold at all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 i donno leh tats why i said i'm noob i heard that my colleague's nissan sunny struggled like hell i guess that's an auto? one forummer here took getz up no problem Picanto can also make it there and back. On top of that, those 800cc preodua kancil of bolehland can also make it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 agree until cannot agree anymore my mustank go so much torque, go up hill got lots of spare strength but i still slower than bus i got no balls, the road wind here wind there, wind until i i scared wait vehicle overturn so i go up slowly, keep left Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Ya...agree. Its not the car that is a problem. Its the winding roads and also kids if any. My ah girl vomited 3 times during the journey from sin to genting. So have to make quite a number of pit-stop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Think both car can make it to the top, but just check the tyre and brake b4 you go. ================= oh ya.. brake super impt esp when coming down. use more engine brake. if not scarli your brake pad overheat then will malfunction de. den if u scar bo lat. den u off aircon open window. the air quite fresh anyways. dunno tis info will help anots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Ya...agree. Its not the car that is a problem. Its the winding roads and also kids if any. My ah girl vomited 3 times during the journey from sin to genting. So have to make quite a number of pit-stop. ================== took 2 pits stops for petrol, toilet and smoking break. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Long distance, Comfy - Pinic. Travel at high speed, stability - Mazda3. Genting Highland, you might need to engage 1st gear at certain sections, tried personally. In generally, Mazda3 no power when come to climbing slopes Theft or not, secured your own vehicle, whether Mazda3 or Pinic, all the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Bro thanks for the vote of confidence. I would prefer ya civic 1.8 though Picnic is 2litre but heavy. mazda 3 is 1.6 but also quite heavy. both = powerless Mine is a 2L Civic. I've gone up Gentings many times with my previous 1.6L Civic with 5 heads including the driver so I can tell you both cars certainly can make it, just a matter of patience. A little bit of skill counts too . Regards, When I went up Genting with my Mazda3, saw many pickups overtook me, really embarrassed. My brother Airwaves also cant overtake them. But they were so stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Yup, if you have an oil temp guage... the readings are really scary.... I usually encounter 120 - 130 degrees during the climb up. 4 people!thanks for the vote i scared picnic cannot climb leh actually m3 also cannot climb tats the problem R U sure M3 cannot climb, I ever climb using suzuki swift 1.0 with 4 guys inside. never overheat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Bro any will bring you to the top Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jen1106 Neutral Newbie April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 4 people!thanks for the vote i scared picnic cannot climb leh actually m3 also cannot climb tats the problem can la. i ever see ppl driving chevy 1.4 with 4 person inside oso can climb leh. but a bit slow... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Long distance, Comfy - Pinic. Travel at high speed, stability - Mazda3. Genting Highland, you might need to engage 1st gear at certain sections, tried personally. In generally, Mazda3 no power when come to climbing slopes Theft or not, secured your own vehicle, whether Mazda3 or Pinic, all the same. u call me?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 can lah i believe most cars can do it. just mayb not e infamous QQ....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 M3 of cos but TS say Mazda 3 Joking.. I think Pinic is more comfortable for 4 adults to travel in long distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Upguy1 Clutched April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 my picnic can make it up to genting wat... comfortable and got power to go upslope...just downshift lar.. on nsh also can zoom zoom...car is heavy, so its stable at high speed.. i cruise 140-150 km/h ... max speed i reached about 180km/h (i think speed limited) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Bro, make use of the tiptronic manual gear lor. 4 people!thanks for the vote i scared picnic cannot climb leh actually m3 also cannot climb tats the problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 10, 2008 Author Share April 10, 2008 Hahaha u mean u own a mazda too? cos u used "zoom zoom" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Multi 3rd Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 (edited) Both cars should not have any issue going up. I drove my Trajet with 6pax also can go up without any problems so yours even better compare to mine. Just play with the gear at certain steep slope and keep to the left... Edited April 10, 2008 by Multi ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...