Nocturnal113 Neutral Newbie August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 (edited) Hi, hmm...if price is a constraint and you aren't too particular about performance then get the auto...but power is definitely lacking and you can't rev till redline.... The 6 speed manual is really fun to drive but mods are limited and fuel consumption is killing me. Currently running on 7-7.5km/L. And also if you're really into raw power...then don't get the RX8....becos mods can't really release much more power for now....except for the greddy turbo kit and the Blitz supercharger (retailing at $9000!!), Other than that, it is quite a fun car to drive...was contemplating buying the Evo 8 MR at the time I bought the RX8, but I drove both...and I fell in love with the interior of the RX8. But saying that, I would probably get the evo as my next car once my NCB hits 50%....so the choice is yours. well feel free to pm me if you have more questions. As for 0-100 timing, well my friend bought from MM. And he did a timing with Gtech recently. With clutch drop and with a 6000rpm launch, he hit 6 seconds. Hm...so not too bad. Edited August 24, 2005 by Nocturnal113 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupe07 Neutral Newbie August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 bro, r u in rx8club? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 performance car can test drive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nocturnal113 Neutral Newbie August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 Yea :)...but rarely post la......was the first guy to fit the unichip :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nocturnal113 Neutral Newbie August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 (edited) Yea...I knew someone from MM. And my friend owned the Evo 8 MR.hm, sorry shouldn't have used the word "test drove"...more like just "drove". Edited August 24, 2005 by Nocturnal113 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 ok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupe07 Neutral Newbie August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 the ultimate question is, do u want the manual or the auto version? both have different specs and certainly price is definitely different. The reason y PI dun bring in the 6 spd manual is they cannot compete the price with Mazda. auto one do not come with sun roof, only has 1 oil cooler, no DSC, 16in rims, smaller brake rotors.. BUT u will be surprised that despite all these, 50% of rx8 owners are autos. THe 5sp manual one, apparently are not too popular here. its manual but like the auto, lacks most of the above stuff. 6sp ones, there are a few JDMs version here but they are the earlier batch when Mazda has not decided to bring in or not. they have higher horses, but then again, only 1 oil cooler. Mazda ones comes with the full spec, giving u everything. go to www.rx8club.com under the far east section. The guys there will be able to give u a clearer picture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neoxenon Neutral Newbie August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 Hi Coupe07, Thanks for the advice, and pointing me towards the RX8Club... the threads there were very relevant and enlightening! Your reply concerning the difference between the PI auto and the MM manual was also very concise and clear... thanks so much! Although the idea of owning a MT RX8 is very tempting, there're two factors against it. One is my finance... already stretching to accomodate the $110k PI auto... so $130k for the MM manual seems out of the question for now... Secondly, my gf also loves the RX8, but she very much prefers the auto one... Does anyone have experience driving both the 4-speed auto and 6-speed manual? I just want to know if there's a significant gap in the performance... thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neoxenon Neutral Newbie August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 As for 0-100 timing, well my friend bought from MM. And he did a timing with Gtech recently. With clutch drop and with a 6000rpm launch, he hit 6 seconds. Hm...so not too bad. Hi Nocturnal113, Thanks for the feedback! Wow... 6 secs for the century sprint? Isn't that a second faster than the quoted speed? What the hell did ur friend do to his ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurarensu Neutral Newbie August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 sorri noob question here rx8 is hw many Litre? 1.3? no rite? haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 It's 1.3L. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurarensu Neutral Newbie August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 serious ah? rx8 leh? 1.3L? even trueno also 1.6L liao.. haha i tot 2litre like subaru or wat sia.. didn't expect so low 1.3L? den any idea of the FC? how many km/litre? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guniang Clutched August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 eh bro dunno u ignorant or wad...paiseh... 1.3L rotary so its abt 2L plus plus....FC abt 6-8km/L... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurarensu Neutral Newbie August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 told u i noob liao.. 6-8km/L ah..so chor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guniang Clutched August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 yup...chor...but the rd tax cheap...due to the rotary characteristics...tts y chor...rotary cars is either u love it or hate it...i love it but cant afford...sad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcz Neutral Newbie August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 runs like a 2.6l Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 But without the torque of 2.6L ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Regboyboy Neutral Newbie August 27, 2005 Share August 27, 2005 sorri noob question here rx8 is hw many Litre? 1.3? no rite? haha correct ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...