Apollo 1st Gear April 8, 2008 Share April 8, 2008 he asking setting up SOHO in HDB leased premises leh http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10206p.nsf/WP...es?OpenDocument http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KrDXMCO3PY ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 8, 2008 Share April 8, 2008 Thot he mentioned condo possible also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 8, 2008 Author Share April 8, 2008 (edited) Nevermind...no need to go round and round playing the guessing game. I give u the contacts. If your entry point is Senoko or Jurong Fisheries Port, u can contact Mr. Lim Bock Seng (Hd / Fisheries Port Mgmt Branch) on 62655052 or email him at [email protected] for enquiry. Best luck My overseas counter-part may want to send the lobsters/prawns by air-freight, is there anyone I could contact or anything I need to take note of? Can semi-detach house or condominium be used as a temp storage place to store the tanks of lobsters/prawns? Will HDB flat be confiscated if it is used as a temp storage place? Thanks folks for your valuable inputs! Appreciate it. Edited April 8, 2008 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 8, 2008 Author Share April 8, 2008 answer is nope. u need a proper place to conduct biz. AVA is more concern abt chemical toxin in food as well disease fr live fishes. You will need a location their officers can conduct random check. Most fisheries look for chirp and good location. if you want, goto seletar farmway 3 areas. plenty of those sunset fish farmers there, all waiting to die. they hv all the tanks, equipment, but no biz. What about the ones at Lim Chu Kang/ Neo Tiew area? Any comments about the space rental etc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 8, 2008 Share April 8, 2008 dunno abt u lah. live seafood worth only becos they not mati. u also need emergency power in case no electricity, no air in water = mati. mati = worthless of cos the best is no inventory setup = wat comes in, goes out immediately, u just file documents, collect $$. so if impossible, must still hv some tanks. but hor.. some of the live seafood u tok abt need temperature control to keep them alive.. actually is refrigeration. so if small quantities, wat u need is tanks and tanks of water, standby water, cold water, normal water. the setup sud b similar to wat unique seafood is doing. FMCG (fast moving consumer goods), enuff to keep them alive, small amount of fishes/ prawns 1 -2 days and they end up in some1's stomach. HDB will not confiscate ur leased property. not within their jurisdiction. but they may revoke ur biz license. the one tat may summon u is AVA or NEA. not the CIA nor the KKK... (hip hop time) buying tanks, equipments and setting up is expensive for noobies. u need also logistics to move the fishes out fast. or customers can come walk in buy and off they go. at the moment u got the lower foodchain vendors but not able to connect with the buyers becos it means competition, etc. where they buy fr, who they buy fr, wat price, etc. this is smthg u hv to sort out first. u can fill the entire distribution line top to bottom integration with own resources when ur biz is shipshape. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 8, 2008 Author Share April 8, 2008 (edited) I have some connections with our big neighbor down-south. For a start, I am thinking of importing lobsters/prawns from Indonesia. But to do so, I need to apply for import/export licence in Singapore. Since I am making the effort to apply for such a licence, I might as well take the opportunity to export some stuffs to Indonesia. I am thinking of Karung guni-ing P3/4 computers, handphones, game machines and electrical appliances to export out. How is the profit going to be like? Am I being too naive? I can take harsh comments from you guys. Edited April 8, 2008 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 8, 2008 Author Share April 8, 2008 of cos the best is no inventory setup = wat comes in, goes out immediately,e u just file documents, collect $$. so if impossible, must still hv some tanks. This is my best model. Get the order from the customers first and then request the stuffs to be sent to Sg. When goods arrive, immediately send for clearance with AVA first. Then transport to private housing (e.g. semi-detach) for a few days of temp storage. Sell off all the stuffs within a few days. Is there any legal issues if this approach is used? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 8, 2008 Share April 8, 2008 some kitchens in hotel restaurant airfrieght in fresh direct to them.. so it is not an issue. a good model to study is actually rabbit restaurant at joo chiat. i suggest u visit them and explore abit how they run their biz of being an importer and a retailer. it will give u some good start. ava clearance sud b at the custom side. think u may not need further clearance. but for all foodstuff. traceability is impt. which date wat came in, where it went, at wat time. proper record. in case of food poisoning. etc u may need to hedge against any eventuality through insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 be careful with pre-owned stuff. i am aware that some items particularly vehicles/ trucks/ construction equipments r banned. they only accept new ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 You export electronics is good but is there a market in Indonesia boh? Leemember that place is majority poor and minority leech! So leech that they can c u m here and buy property so why would they wanna buy from you? Sorry for being too harsh lah. If you wanna start... concentrate on something and do it well before branching out. Your seafood import business haben even taken off yet leh. And for freight... just get freight forwarder. PM me if you need contact. I have one who does the shipping of my cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 That sort of approach no legal issues what. As long as your biz is set up and you have import license... whats there to worry? Just do it and bring in the $$$... Oh leemember your business is always losing $$$ every year one hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 If yr business (at semi-D) doesn't interfere with the neighbours' enjoyment of their land, there shldn't be any problem. Contact Chua Lay Har (ava) to find out more abt. import, export and inspection procedures. I believe the import permit is pre-approved (by system) cos u apply online but inspection is at entry point. Best luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Their webbie is very informative...u can do some reading up www.ava.gov.sg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 I buy fresh medium size prawns from the wet market weekly. I buy 1 kg each time. It cost abt S$8-10 per kg but I'm a regular customer so he charge me mostly S$8 per kg. Let me know if u are in business, then u can supply to me direct. I small buyer only but at least u have one confirm buyer. I buy them to feed my fishes, sometimes my wife pinch a few to cook for her stomach. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 wah seems like lotsa guru in poultry and seafood. anyway with most food biz, cost of raw materials is crucial hence if you have a much better price pt with restuarants or some big accts locally, it's pretty ok. the only nex qn is credibility of company, cash wise and food safety. The risk is hvg food stuck for inspection and hvg to pull necessary certifications or documentation out. Nex is the risk incurred should any customers complain or kena stuff. So best is focus on one SOLID customer, invest all you can in ensuring the PIPE is built on credibility and safety. Most likely a low or no ROI initially. But once pipe is up. He will be your bestest customer reference. Nex can approach seafood processing companies for packaging. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 10, 2008 Share April 10, 2008 Costs of running business from indonesia will be high. Cos like our northern neighbourhood(actually its worst than them), u need to pay & pay your way through. Its not like Spore, everything black & white can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 30, 2008 Share April 30, 2008 bro ... now showing on channel U. so all import must inform AVA. they take sample 1/2 kg to 1 kg to test. if fail, whole batch must b destroyed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged April 30, 2008 Author Share April 30, 2008 Thanks. Missed a large portion of the show. Is there a repeat telecast late into the night? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...