Fortress Clutched April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 Hi all, Anyone had these fixed before "Speedometer/tachometer/fuel/temp gauges Not working" and cost to fix it. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 from my previous experiences (twice), the whole meter cluster have to be changed. They usually don't repair it individually. First experience was with a van and the part not working is actually the odometer. doesn't bother me that much, otherwise it's 300-400 for a re-con. My second experience was with my current ride and the tachometer is not stable, thus affecting the engine rev. lucky it was covered under warranty I presume you are not referring to those alarm clock style guage? Hope that help a bit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7seater Clutched April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 check the fuse, maybe blown. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 5, 2008 Share April 5, 2008 I'm sure fortress is not one that didn't check on the fuse before asking such a question Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 5, 2008 Author Share April 5, 2008 Thanks, did that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 5, 2008 Author Share April 5, 2008 Thanks....glad that you know me well. Did that, somehow it is intermitten, hence it cannot be fuse. Never experience more than a Skoda, Drove many cars before, but this one has all the experiences in it.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 5, 2008 Author Share April 5, 2008 Did they tell you what was down....if it is so, then I will rather strip it myself and do something. Somehow I feel, it got to do with electrical contacts. Especially when I turn into a certain degree of sharp left corner, and it is gone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 6, 2008 Share April 6, 2008 For both vehicle, apparently the stuff inside is much more micro and required very delicate handling, thus they rather change the whole thingy than to repair. Frankly, for the Astra, I believe those people at the agent wouldn't even know what is wrong and how to fix it, so the best solution for them is to change.. for the van, it's less of electronic and mechanical (I presume) but then, stripping the cluster really need some work and time. I don't really recommend you stripping it down but if you really want to, maybe you can check out eBay UK for a replacement 1st. Taking it out is easy, putting it back is the challenging part. apologies, can't really help you much beside the above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 6, 2008 Share April 6, 2008 isn't it fun driving such cars at least it have its ups and downs compared to those bread and butter.. let's hope your ups is more than the downs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 6, 2008 Author Share April 6, 2008 Thanks. Will do that, somehow never again a German made or related car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 6, 2008 Author Share April 6, 2008 Thanks.... hoping someone is scraping their car soon.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 6, 2008 Share April 6, 2008 hey fortress, u happen to own a ferrari too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 7, 2008 Author Share April 7, 2008 No more....exported it to Australia last year. Pardon me for asking, how did you know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear April 7, 2008 Share April 7, 2008 your avatar lah bro...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 7, 2008 Share April 7, 2008 Bro, Your qns is like asking whether I know if you are a male or female leh.. but then, i think i need to see u to double confirm liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 7, 2008 Author Share April 7, 2008 Oh..I see...but you have a Morris on your avatar....do you have it too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched April 7, 2008 Author Share April 7, 2008 oh..silly me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 eh bro ... that's not a Morris in my avatar .... its a ........ SKODA ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...