Re: Ju Shi Lin's free vegetarian food 24 Hours round the clock.

Mzrmazda3

My maternal grandfather is a devoted buddhist.

In the 1980s, when I was a small kid, we used to go there for Sunday prayer, followed by a complimentary vegetarian meal. During that time, the food wasn't spread in the buffet style. Everyone's used chopsticks would get into the common pot of bee-hoon. Hygiene wasn't a major concern back then.

But, it is a really kind place for the needy. [thumbsup]

Donations should be channeled directly to places like this.

Something I respect about 居士林:

Whenever they have excess stocks of food supply, they would donate to other needy religion/racial groups.

oi, u 6 month bonus u dare to go ah? i go ambush u then u know [mad]

NB...i gave so much hint liao. U still say 6 mths. Its more than that lar.

I can sump-par on that. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Ohhh tat one in kim yan rd ah... near mohd sultan right?? I quite like to go to that area to lim kopi also...

ya yesterday channel 8 news interviewed this YOUNG able PRC guy citing low salary as a reason..LOL...and the video also shown this uncle (dont look poor) filling his plate high up...woah must be very hungry for the free food.

my mum said such free service always abused by foreign workers but what to do? temple cannot reject ppl. its the karma that u will reap if u decided to fight for free food with the poors. it is ok to eat if u but if u can afford, sld donate a few dollars mah.

bro you're right, there is anything the temple can do about it...they just hope people don't abuse it....leave the foods for those really needed.

Ohhh tat one in kim yan rd ah... near mohd sultan right?? I quite like to go to that area to lim kopi also...

Hurrrr ?

Kim yan & mohd sultan is not near at all lei. U got the wrong one liao rah.

i used to frequent this temple and still have library membership. was there for some course then. it is a great temple, i dun mind helping out there next time when i retire.

i always at that area, jio me kopi next time lah

What rah.....mohd sultan is the beach road one right ?

Or is that the mohd sultan mosque ? [dizzy]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

My maternal grandfather is a devoted buddhist.

In the 1980s, when I was a small kid, we used to go there for Sunday prayer, followed by a complimentary vegetarian meal. During that time, the food wasn't spread in the buffet style. Everyone's used chopsticks would get into the common pot of bee-hoon. Hygiene wasn't a major concern back then.

But, it is a really kind place for the needy. [thumbsup]

Donations should be channeled directly to places like this.

yes it is one of the only heaven remaining here. the cooks are all old and volunteers. i still kw the libarian. I went there during my teens. even during ns, i still cycled down there. After kao yin, i go initially also.

i alwys at Kim yan/ mhd sultan, robertson quay, martin road, river valley road, leonie hill area, so everywhere is pretty near for me... [laugh]