Engine oil

Adawang

600km not very long distance for oil to turn black. can check yr definition of black is exactly how dark? got photo to show?

usually for my car, the oil start turning slight golden brown after 1000km (initial let's say its light golden colour). some lousier oil i used after 3000km turn brown, 5000km, dark brown. the better ones that i used until now at 5000+km, is only light brown goin dark brown.

anyway i think for yr engine oil to turn black after 600km is astonishing. even if turn dark brown also astonishing liao. by the way, this 600km that u covered? do u wack the engine all the way like driving up malaysia or go tracking?

maybe u should change another brand of engine oil, any brand.. but those brand that's more commonly known like Mobil, Shell, Castrol, Redline, Amsoil, Motul, cxxxxxe etc... if these other common brands dun turn black after 600km, then something SERIOUSLY is brown with the current oil u are using.

Engine overhaul repair very expensive one... dun anyhow use unheard brands.

Edited by Chucky2007

2L $45

not exactly cheap

used it before long time ago, but different grade

that one contains moly and it was good

What Im using now, the Galaxy feels normal to me

[jawdrop] it cost more than Redline and cost same as Motul! and i've never hear this brand before leh..

yeah... you were right, exactly... Based on spec, it should have no problems.

I'm more to the idea that the old timer mechanics wants me to change my mobil oil to his, so that he can earn from me... [rifle]

But why is it that our cars consuming/eating up more engine oils when using the m1 oils (carrefour/giant)?? [:/] Any possible explanations.....?? [:/][:/][dizzy]

It cant possibly b fake oil, i guess.well i guess e onli way to find out is during e nxt oil chge n c whether same thing occur again. [:/] group buying amsoil oil,anyone [:p] ? mi need 5 botttles.

Yup, my experience on using Mobil 1 (from 0W-40, 5-50, 15W-50 extended performance) is that engine oil consumption tends to be more. (just recently topped up 3/4 quart)

Even carlxbe 5W-40 is not so badly consumed (but engine runs rough at ~7K kms)..... but they don't have a fully synthetic grade for 50 weighted and at a cheap price.

For me, I don't care so much.... if engine oilis low, then top up lah..... most importantly is that the engine must run smooth.

hahaha... One major advantage for using m1 oils (carrefour/giant) is, you are constantly require to top up, so theoretically, you are always using clean oils. Don't have to go for servicing!!! hahahaha... [laugh]

Thats what i did to my previous corolla (going for export)........ never service for a good 5 months +, only top up oil... [laugh][laugh]

Errr.. the M1 oil 15W-50 extended performance is not from Giant/C4 hor..... and it costs like $20 / quart bottle back then. Also kena consumed......

600km not very long distance for oil to turn black. can check yr definition of black is exactly how dark? got photo to show?

usually for my car, the oil start turning slight golden brown after 1000km (initial let's say its light golden colour). some lousier oil i used after 3000km turn brown, 5000km, dark brown. the better ones that i used until now at 5000+km, is only light brown goin dark brown.

anyway i think for yr engine oil to turn black after 600km is astonishing. even if turn dark brown also astonishing liao. by the way, this 600km that u covered? do u wack the engine all the way like driving up malaysia or go tracking?

maybe u should change another brand of engine oil, any brand.. but those brand that's more commonly known like Mobil, Shell, Castrol, Redline, Amsoil, Motul, cxxxxxe etc... if these other common brands dun turn black after 600km, then something SERIOUSLY is brown with the current oil u are using.

Engine overhaul repair very expensive one... dun anyhow use unheard brands.

nvr whack, didnt take pix,

just went to wipe dipstick on tissue, the colour is golden brown, mebbe shudnt say

black, even tho golden brown, its quite fast change colour

Unless you are driving a turbo car, if not I think 15W50 is too thick. Go for 5W30 if your car is non-turbo.

Which Mitsubishi model you are driving? Was suprise your manual state W50 oil if it is non-turbo?

mebbe got chance to use 30wt oil

now studying the diagram

manual is in Japanese Kanji

post-8-1207322531_thumb.jpg

Edited by Adawang

can turbo cars use 30 weight oils?

here is the chance to try 30 weight oil

now puzzled as picture showed 10w-30

sori for the blur pix