Streetdirectory.com.sg shuts down

Slowmo

No map, but you still can click on "Satellite" to images power by Google to see the "satellite photos" instead.

don't think we will see them having their service up anytime soon. guess it will be awhile before they sort out the map issues with SLA

go to http://maps.google.com to see the original one better (btw, wonder if they are authorized to use the maps from google?)

in streetdirectory, some places are "censored" by them...eg those sensitive installation

http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel...avel_site=84904

however, on google maps, the same location is uncensored, take a look at the military planes at paya lebar airbase here:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geoc...005021&t=h&z=18

thats because satellite images are not owned by sg, but by the US mapping orgs and I believe is about 3 yrs old. i believe its more like a case of ang mor tua kee and SG lppl. [laugh]

but seriously, singapore land mass is not THAT BIG that you can hide things. [lipsrsealed]

Dear Users

Our Singapore Maps have escaped out the window!

They were last seen wearing many layers of data acquired through many hours of painstaking land surveys.

They are up-to-date and considered highly

user-friendly.

The public is advised to avoid travelling to unfamiliar places in the meantime.

Rest assured, we

that is the trend over here. Only the cash rich ppl can sue around man.

what can you do about it. Just get sued lah. Crazy world

u must go in..but from the maps u can see where liao...

i can find my previous sqn in aussie too...fond memories of my stint there and places i covered... [rolleyes][rolleyes]

I say well done, SLA.

That streetdirectory.com tried to tekan small businesses for using their map.

Now in a wonderful twist of fate they themselves kena jialat jialat until they have to shutdown their own website.

Who says there is no justice on this earth?

So that's why those ah mah said dun do "bad" is not for nothing one.... [sweatdrop]

One must do good deeds.... [nod]

if u do bad deeds...it is just a matter of time.. [dead][dead]

[nod][nod]

just like durai.. tried to be tyrant, ended up kena eaten back.. [laugh]

but he still got a new job sia in the end..... [sly]

to think i donated faithfully every year to help the nkf then. [:|]

fark..it took me 5 mins just to load the map.gov.sg...

i go down to my car take streetdirectory book even faster.. [:|]

that's it , must go get a lattest copy of spore street directory or a GPS [sly]

u should try gps. it is something that makes ur driving level even better [;)]

u can try to counter-sue. but then it is mentioned "The SLA, which originally issued Virtual Map a licence for its maps of Singapore, sued the company in January 2007 for continuing to use the SLA maps even after the licence had expired."

So at point they sued your company, was the licence expired? That's the crucial pt i guess.