Streetdirectory.com.sg shuts down

Slowmo

Another case of itchy back-side, sound similar to Durai NKF case, back fired??

Mixed feelings... Street Directory has been useful for checking directions, but they've a notorious reputation for being overly hard on small-time businesses and individuals for using their maps on things like invite cards or websites. So they end up looking like some corporate bully... much like the Odex anime case...

I don't have any issues with them being shut down... I'll just use the printed street directory as usual... :)

no leh..my IPPT money i get within 1 week of taking..

maybe your reservist IPPT clerk bo zhor kang..never key in result(okay, i usually key in 30+ people result already half dead already, reserbist 100+ will die siah)..

fark..it took me 5 mins just to load the map.gov.sg...

i go down to my car take streetdirectory book even faster.. [:|]

that's it , must go get a lattest copy of spore street directory or a GPS [sly]

That site hopeless one la. It loads forever, like you I eventually went down to my car take the hardcopy. [:|]

This is how the MIW works in sinkie land...remember that guy got fine for not informing MDA that he don't have radio anymoreconfused.gif

fark..it took me 5 mins just to load the map.gov.sg...

i go down to my car take streetdirectory book even faster.. [:|]

Yup...tat site is hopeless,is this how they work? So sloooww [shakehead]

no leh..my IPPT money i get within 1 week of taking..

maybe your reservist IPPT clerk bo zhor kang..never key in result(okay, i usually key in 30+ people result already half dead already, reserbist 100+ will die siah)..

must stress that clerk liao... [:|]

why dont they jus summon them to pay SLA a royalty or licensing fee?

what a wat to kill innovation and service from homegrown Internet company.

those guys needs to be [rifle] cant even access their maps! takes forever to load. they cant provide proper 'SLA' (Service Level Agreement) [shakehead] punt intended

I was one of them who got sued. Can I now counter sue coz they got $$ for something that do not belong to them in the first place?

Virtual Map shuts down street directory site after losing suit

By Chua Hian Hou

POPULAR online map StreetDirectory.com has shut down, after the company behind it, Virtual Map, lost its appeal against the Singapore Land Authority (SLA) over copyright infringement last week.

The SLA, which originally issued Virtual Map a licence for its maps of Singapore, sued the company in January 2007 for continuing to use the SLA maps even after the licence had expired.

Virtual Map lost it case in the District Court, and was ordered to stop using the infringing materials. It appealed to the High Court, but lost again.

The site was taken down two days ago, said Virtual Map's managing director Firdhaus Akbar, but the company is currently working with a set of replacement, non-infringing maps, and hopes to bring the site back online in 'about two days'.

The are based on its own surveys, he said.

The company also intends to appeal to the highest court, the Court of Appeal, to reverse the decision, he said.

An audibly bitter Mr Ackbar, who was interviewed over the phone, said the privately-held company is calling a shareholders meeting either on Friday or Saturday to assess its position.

The meeting will decide whether to continue to provide what he claimed were 'the best maps in Singapore', or quit the business here and 'focus our efforts elsewhere'.

Virtual Map also offers online maps in countries like Indonesia and Malaysia.

Mr Ackbar said his company has spent 'millions' putting in value-added data like points-of-interest, on top of the maps SLA had provided.

Alternative online maps are available at sites like the SLA's StreetMap and Show Nearby.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/...13.html?vgnmr=1

Personally I think Virutal maps deserves it, they were suing quite a number of small companies and people for using their maps and charging licenses from USD2700 per map [hur]