Slowmo Clutched April 3, 2008 Share April 3, 2008 Virtual Map shuts down street directory site after losing suit By Chua Hian Hou POPULAR online map StreetDirectory.com has shut down, after the company behind it, Virtual Map, lost its appeal against the Singapore Land Authority (SLA) over copyright infringement last week. The SLA, which originally issued Virtual Map a licence for its maps of Singapore, sued the company in January 2007 for continuing to use the SLA maps even after the licence had expired. Virtual Map lost it case in the District Court, and was ordered to stop using the infringing materials. It appealed to the High Court, but lost again. The site was taken down two days ago, said Virtual Map's managing director Firdhaus Akbar, but the company is currently working with a set of replacement, non-infringing maps, and hopes to bring the site back online in 'about two days'. The are based on its own surveys, he said. The company also intends to appeal to the highest court, the Court of Appeal, to reverse the decision, he said. An audibly bitter Mr Ackbar, who was interviewed over the phone, said the privately-held company is calling a shareholders meeting either on Friday or Saturday to assess its position. The meeting will decide whether to continue to provide what he claimed were 'the best maps in Singapore', or quit the business here and 'focus our efforts elsewhere'. Virtual Map also offers online maps in countries like Indonesia and Malaysia. Mr Ackbar said his company has spent 'millions' putting in value-added data like points-of-interest, on top of the maps SLA had provided. Alternative online maps are available at sites like the SLA's StreetMap and Show Nearby. http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/...13.html?vgnmr=1 Personally I think Virutal maps deserves it, they were suing quite a number of small companies and people for using their maps and charging licenses from USD2700 per map ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear April 3, 2008 Share April 3, 2008 They have my support. Its really the best map website for Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crossangel Neutral Newbie April 3, 2008 Share April 3, 2008 yea, they'll have my support too... why sue them?? they are also not doing a huge crime...!! They are helping us...!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2008 Share April 3, 2008 I 2nd that ... I love their interface and ease of use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged April 3, 2008 Share April 3, 2008 haiz... was using SLA map for the pass 2 days... really catch no ball.... not as usual friendly compare to streetdirectory.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 finally! i think the website is lousy i'm happier using my google map Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 why? u neber read my signature meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 dont know why, i also find their map not nice.. i always use can.com.sg .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 Another one kena fixed... RIP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 I say well done, SLA. That streetdirectory.com tried to tekan small businesses for using their map. Now in a wonderful twist of fate they themselves kena jialat jialat until they have to shutdown their own website. Who says there is no justice on this earth? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 i think those jokers tried to take on some stat boards or ministry for usign their map so sla blow turbo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 i am not too sure whether this is useful for you guys but this link seems to work faster than streetdirectory.com http://www.map.gov.sg/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathstalker 2nd Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 Darn it... What a fooking waste esp., SD is so easy to use & now no more... Hope SLA will have a change of heart Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 I second your opinion! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrider82 Neutral Newbie April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 What!? Nooooooooo!! I have always been using www.streetdirectory.com to search for maps of places when I have no idea how to get there! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showtime Neutral Newbie April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 really? i find it very slow. google maps is faster but it does not show building locations (hdb blocks, car parks etc) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 i am not too sure whether this is useful for you guys but this link seems to work faster than streetdirectory.com http://www.map.gov.sg/ nice map.... like that i can drag the map which is not possible in SD. but won't say it's faster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear April 4, 2008 Share April 4, 2008 dont know why, i also find their map not nice.. i always use can.com.sg .... ya. can.com.sg not bad ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...