Hein Neutral Newbie April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 Hi Guys, Want to get your feedback on the above two cars(overall, including engine performance); the remap Bravo 185hp v/s the Golf GTI 200hp. I drove both at different times, and the GTI seems more torquy while the Bravo seems more responsive(maybe because I was controlling the gear on the manual). The Bravo also looks classier, but the GTi looks more luxurious.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anakin Clutched April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 eh ... dun mind me asking ... last time ah, got ONE guy ask a similar question oso, about 2 diff sports car to choose ... can remember or not? this one sound sooooo familiar ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hein Neutral Newbie April 2, 2008 Author Share April 2, 2008 Haha.. U r perfectly right.... I think he let go the idea of the CTR already... hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightyme Neutral Newbie April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 I will get the golf any time,damn easy to chip up,DSG gearbox is a gem, resale value any time is better than the bravo ( cause majority of singaporean prefers auto to manual ),only downside,u have to pay at least $20k extra for the golf gti Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeochris Clutched April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 where can i test drive golf GTI? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hein Neutral Newbie April 2, 2008 Author Share April 2, 2008 You can try it out at VW Leng Kee.... Fiat is behind VW too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limitedspeed Neutral Newbie April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 Golf GTI anytime! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Namron Neutral Newbie April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 GTI if u have additional $20k... GTI if u are looking for more power and mods... Styling wise, bravo has more curves as compared to a GTI Bravo's interior console look nicer than GTI (carbon fiber-like dashboard finishing) Bravo just launched 2nd half of 2007... current GTI model already on the roads for a couple of years... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neoxenon Neutral Newbie April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 Err... U mean the guy with the same name as an American ex-President?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anakin Clutched April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 eh ... he caused quite a STORM ... anyway that's in the past liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teoky Clutched April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 (edited) How come the GTI is 20k more ? I would think 20k more over the Bravo get you the GT ? Anyway, to the original guy who post the poll, a more fairer comparison would be the Bravo vs Golf GT as both are 1.4 litre. From Sgcarmart, the prices as follows : Fiat Bravo - $92,900 Golf GT - $102,300 Golf GTI - $129,200 Golf GT is actually pretty value for money, there's a video on Youtube where they dyno the GT and apparently it is making more than the stated 170hp. Also, there are mods available that will push the power to 240hp ! For Bravo, pretty limited, other than ecu remap, not much mods available. If 0-100km/h timing is important, the Bravo need 3rd gear to hit 100km/h, so though the power to weight ration is impressive (with the remap), the timing isn't that great. Edited April 2, 2008 by Teoky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dennisk Clutched April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 Hi Guys, Want to get your feedback on the above two cars(overall, including engine performance); the remap Bravo 185hp v/s the Golf GTI 200hp. I drove both at different times, and the GTI seems more torquy while the Bravo seems more responsive(maybe because I was controlling the gear on the manual). The Bravo also looks classier, but the GTi looks more luxurious.... should compare a GOLF GT and not GTI. 1.4 vs 1.4 rather than 1.4 vs 2.0 .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sapience Clutched April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 compare stock vs. stock... not chipped vs. stock... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightyme Neutral Newbie April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 thats my thoughts too. And looking at the 2nd hand market,gti owners or car dealers r not letting go of their gti cheap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightyme Neutral Newbie April 2, 2008 Share April 2, 2008 can get the golf gti at the low end of $120k fr AD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teoky Clutched April 3, 2008 Share April 3, 2008 Yes I thought so too, but you can also get the Bravo at a much lower price. The difference is definitely more than 20k between a Bravo and a GTI, around 30k+. Anyway, the comparison is not apples to apples, should be a Bravo to the GT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear April 3, 2008 Share April 3, 2008 actually, for the price of GTi, i'd get the manual 159 (since you dont mind manual) anytime. higher OMV, better looking, and cabin is more special... its also from another class up. if you are really after 0-100 timing, then Focus ST is a faster car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teoky Clutched April 3, 2008 Share April 3, 2008 Yah, 159 lao nuah !! Another alternative is to get the new Alfa Mi.To with 1.8litre turbo engine, giving 230hp ! That should be a very special car ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...