"Exporting" own car to overseas

Slowmo

Buy a brand new car there is cheaper in SG.

Why make yourself so troublesome with many paper work to be done just to ship a car over. [sweatdrop]

If got money no need to worry cannot bought a car. [laugh]

I wonder if any PI or knowledgable person(s) know how to export a car from SG to AU for personal use?

Lets say I am moving the entire family from SG over, and I rather not sell the car in SG... could I export it to AU ? any process on SG end I need to do or people I probably need to speak to?

Please advise.

Thanks.

Car is cheap in AU, my brother just paid S$32K cash on the road price for a brand new Honda Civic 1.8A in Sydney. The only time I remember someone import car to AU was 1 of my ex-colleague who have since left SG exported a Classic BMW 2002Ti from SG to AU. He has a fleet of BMW 2002Ti in AU. But if you are exporting say a >10yrs old car with no residual PARF, or unique/classic model, then that maybe worth the effort.

Edited by Sportster

oh didn't realise it..

quote from a bro bummer

"The moving agents they used are called Bownti International Pte Ltd and they handled everything from personel effects to the car. A search on Yellow Pages online yields:

Address:

421 Tagore Industrial Ave Singapore 787805

Telephone: 6451 0378

Fax: 6451 0244 "

fwah! can i be your god son? [flowerface] but how much did it cost? perhaps can pm me?

Edited by Slowmo

I checked the AU Gov customs web page. If you are going to be there for a short period, and you take back your car, then there is no tax involved. If you a going to live there as PR, then you have to pay tax. The tax is not very much.

Pay AU tax on OMV minus X years depreciation.

Shipping charges is not expensive. My relative shipped his jeep from Sabah to Johor. I did not ask him the cost though.

You will loose less money this way, as you can claim back unused COE and PARF rebate and road tax from LTA and insurance.

Oh, on a side note, get a Garmin GPS and load an AU map. AU roads have little directional signs.

Good Luck

anyone tried the 'unorthordox' way...

'lost' the car in boleh land, then from there, ship it overseas.. then claim insurance [lipsrsealed]

No worries.. btw, you got to ask your son to perhaps find out the costs of buying a Avante over there (if they have).

If you are not on heavy loan, the money fetched for selling it here may buy a brand new one over there

One example (numbers a bit outdated, but idea is there lah)..

Legacy (Liberty) STi cost A58k, or S$69.6k (using 1.2 conversion rate).

In SG a normal Legacy GT already S$110k.

If one sells after 2yrs, agar agar depreciation, it may worth about S$70k

So, sell it off, use the $$$, go there can even upgrade to a STi with S$400 change leh [laugh]

avante only got 2 liters here.

about 20k to get a new one....

i got my eyes on the Golf R32 which is at about 69k... but must control.... knn cannot stop dreaming about it.

and i know someone else will come suan me about my plan for evo X... [laugh]

Edited by Slowmo

bro, settle the essentials first lah.. cars are after all, luxuries..

understand that housing is quite expensive.. once you're more or less settled, then start to indulge [flowerface]