Is ABS critical?

Elixir

[;)][;)] Just a new bird question: If ABS is so critical in terms of safety for drivers, why hasn't LTA make it a compulsory thing for all the cars? Same goes for airbags. In the end, it's really your skills that count right? [pirate]

It's a tool to make everyday drivers look good! [sly][laugh][laugh] Good to have but not critical, IMO. BTW, if LTA passes the ABS and airbag law, I'm sure many car manufacturers will cry father/mother. And then where do you stop? How about LSD, Traction control, 4 wheel drive, etc. It will shoot car prices through the roof! [thumbsdown]

>>In the end, it's really your skills that count right?

Unfortunately, most drivers don't really have the skill. Most of us are tought to drive but not the finer points of car control. So gizmos like ABS, ASR, BFD, etc are designed to give the regular Joe driver a better chance when an emergency situation presents itself.

in US, airbag required under law for more than a decade liao.

at the end of the day, dun think we need a law in SG to ensure a car buyer survives a crash. thot it was common sense that if one values safety, airbag/abs/other safety features shld feature highly in the purchase decision. whether it's worth taking a risk to save $$ and go without these safety features is best left to individual buyers discretion. [;)] minimum 2 airbags/abs/ebd r fairly basic safety provision nowadays and r as ubiquitous as seatbelts. can't imagine anything less.

i volvo driver ah, so can't blame me for advocating safety..... [laugh][laugh]

[:)] Komoco said only Korean imported cars will have ABS and service centres cannot fix. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] . Is it advisable to get ABS in the market and install in my car??? I was told by my SE that it costs a few hundred dollars? True or not?

Can anyone here recommend some local companies that provide installation of ABS?

[:)][:)]

"saw one posting before that ABS is a must"

Hi! there, Elixir,

ABS is definitely a critical requirement in a car. That's if you don't know how to operate the ABS system, you'll most probably be critical injured, as the car won't stop in time.

Rgds

Paul Yong

------------------------------

very true, my friend jam e brake and his car moved forward because of abs. missed the front ass by mm.

i think abs is good when cornering, avoiding objects and on wet weather. but come to e braking, it may be a minus point.

u'll learn how to lose control of the car, and control it back....

basically is control an uncontrollable car.

or uncontrol a controllable car.

[dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

remote control car [laugh][laugh][laugh]

very true, my friend jam e brake and his car moved forward because of abs. missed the front ass by mm.

Without ABS, the wheel could be locked and car move even further (in any various possible direction).....sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

not sure what hyundai's abs cost but the excuse given by komoco sounds damn lame. [thumbsdown] as wif any OEM part, they shld be able to indent it and fit it in their workshop.

if it has to be factory fitted (highly unlikely - if wheels kena accident, do they send the whole car back to korea juz to have the abs fitted?) they could always place a special order.

Yes...

It is excellent to have ABS. It has saved me from a couple of hit the front car's backside...

sucker!

Actually ABS doesn't reduce the stopping distance. It just prevents locking.

his abs not working. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

What r we to do when ABS kicks in? I think I ever encountered that and the car shakes, I was so scared I put gear in N. Is this correct? The car surge forward and almost kiss a Merc [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Do not let go of brake or put in N. Jam brake as normal, keep foot planted and allow the ABS to do it's job. This allows u to steer and power away from trouble. [;)]