Emils 2nd Gear March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 (edited) I read from the websites that parking offences seem to be under the purview of HDB and URA. So how does the traffic police fit into the picture? Apologies if this question is too stupid... Edited March 29, 2008 by Emils ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scaglietti Neutral Newbie March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 (edited) Nope... it's also under the TP's jurisdiction. Even normal police petrol car can issue summons for illegal parking. One of the neighbor has ever called the neighbourhood police post to complain about people parking outside his house. A patrol car appeared about 1/2hr later and start issuing summons. Edited March 29, 2008 by Scaglietti 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaoxing 1st Gear March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 TP can summon you for parking offences involving violating traffic rules, eg parking at double yellow lines. Correct me if I'm wrong here. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emils 2nd Gear March 29, 2008 Author Share March 29, 2008 I'm wondering if TP passes the summons to HDB/URA to collect the fines thereafter or they do collect it themselves? If they do their own collection, wouldn't there be a chance that a person can be fined by both TP and HDB/URA for the same offence? Mm... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 think if u park along rd on double yellow lines TP also in charge . . . no need pass to ura / hdb . . . think ura and hdb more for the fines in car-parks . . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 TP is able to issue fines for parking offences both in HDB carparks and on the public roads, that's why you have to address the payment to the correct party indicated. URA/HDB's purview is only limited to their respective car parks. Fined twice for same offence?? Interesting... Btw haven't seen any TP on huge bikes yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zcold 2nd Gear March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 (edited) i kena summon by police in hilux for traffic offence before... 1 and only time (that i kena offence)... Edited March 29, 2008 by Zcold Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thelord Neutral Newbie March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 There was once i left my bike on a deserted pavement for awhile, came back with a big big slip $70 summon issued by Traffic police. So i tink as long as gotto do with road or traffic or vehicles they have to right to summon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emils 2nd Gear March 29, 2008 Author Share March 29, 2008 Ah... I saw them busy noting down the nos. of the bikes that were parked by the pavement too. sigh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrider82 Neutral Newbie March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 Like everyone said, TP can issue fines for all vehicular offences.. Don't need to wait for Auntie Fathima to come.. By then, too late liao! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 31, 2008 Share March 31, 2008 I came to a traffic light stop wif a JB bike in front of me. There was a TP bike at the side of the road, he was issuing fines to the bikes parked on the pavement. Then tis kapoh JB bike rider n pillion turn to look at the TP. The TP immediately point at their direction n told them to strap up their helmet!!! Traffic light turn green, I cant proceed cos the bike blocking my way. After they strap up, TP told them to move off. So next time better not kapoh. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AdrianFoo_132770 Neutral Newbie July 6, 2015 Share July 6, 2015 Hi, I would like to ask if i can ignore this letter after i appeal? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 6, 2015 Share July 6, 2015 Hi, I would like to ask if i can ignore this letter after i appeal? Make sure TP acknowledge your appeal status. If not after the date lapse...the fine amount will go up...and if you still ignore it...next will be warranty of arrest. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged July 6, 2015 Share July 6, 2015 Hi, I would like to ask if i can ignore this letter after i appeal? The best is you can check via onemotoring website. The status of the fine will be there... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear July 6, 2015 Share July 6, 2015 TP is king. They can summon anything that need license to operate on the road. After all, they are police policing road. They have the same power as those patroling neighbour. They go into carpark and see car illegally park and obstruct traffic. If next to white line or double yellow or zig zag, they can just issue. Refer to HDB or URA I'm not sure. But I'm sure they can. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyTan_74287 4th Gear July 6, 2015 Share July 6, 2015 Hi, I would like to ask if i can ignore this letter after i appeal? Normally what I did is I will appeal and at the same time pay the fine. If the appeal is successful, they will refund you the money. If not successful, at least you already paid and need not suffer late payment fee or other worst senario as other mcf members stated. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
where Neutral Newbie August 4, 2015 Share August 4, 2015 Have you heard of anyone getting refund from TP before? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic September 16, 2015 Share September 16, 2015 TP wannabe? Take a closer look at this rider with 'Police' bike http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/tp-wannabe-take-a-closer-look-at-this-rider-with-police-bike ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...