Friendstar Supercharged March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 Hey bros, Recently began using listerine. Love it especially after eating garlic chilli. the listerine will simply "burnt" them off immediately. works even for durian. But does the use of listerine cause throat cancer? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 So far never hear of any study concerning this but it does really burn the mouth and tongue. I use it diluted most of the time, 50/50. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 Any specific reason why you think it will cause throat cancer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 i remember receiving chain emails about this some time back.. no proof tho.. likely urban legend. anyway, i also use it diluted.. after using it, i gargle with tap water again to 'wash' it off Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 I starting using Listerine also abt a month ago. I used the "super menthol' flavour, the liquid is very dark blue in colour one... that one really burn the mouth man.... then i change to citric flavour.. and i dilute it with water. Water abt 60% or 70%. The effect is ok, my mouth feel very clean and fresh after using... throat cancer? dun scare me leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimhow Neutral Newbie March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 don think so lah the brand have been around for quite a while if really cause throat cancer then muz have been pull off shelves long ago.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 having alcohol at such high concentration that burns ur mouth, and have it in the mouth for 30 seconds each time, 2 or 3 times a day... it's hard to believe that it doesn't somehow cause some oral tissue mutation in the long run? read below news article http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html...757C0A967958260 A television report by ABC News has linked Listerine mouthwash with increased cancer risks, but a spokeswoman for the National Cancer Institute said yesterday that any risk was slight. The Warner-Lambert Company, based in Morris Plains, N.J., makes Listerine, a 112- year-old product that had $280 million in 1990 sales. Warner- Lambert's share price declined $3.375 yesterday, closing at $75 in heavy trading on the New York Stock Exchange before the cancer institute made its comment. Peter Wolf, a Warner-Lambert spokesman, said the company had not seen the report data. The institute, which is part of the National Institutes of Health, said, "Men and women using mouthwash regularly had a slightly increased risk" of mouth and throat cancer. It continued, "The increased risk was seen only in people using mouthwashes with 25 percent or higher alcohol content." Listerine is 26.9 percent alcohol. The National Cancer Institute said the study indicated that women using high-alcohol mouthwash had a 90 percent higher risk of cancer than those who did not, and men a 60 percent higher risk. But the institute said the findings "do not firmly establish the risk." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie March 29, 2008 Share March 29, 2008 I read this interesting article about using Listerine treatment for toenail fungus. http://www.healthguidance.org/entry/4950/1...ail-Fungus.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 30, 2008 Author Share March 30, 2008 WAH LAU!!! dont scare me i just bought 2 big bottles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 dun drink lor.My toilet is full of Oral B. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 Just remember this is another chemical....long term it might have effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 it contain alcohol. and we all know that alcohol is poison by nature. So it will some way cause some illness for us in long term usage. we no need to talk until mouthwash. we just talk abt our normal toothpaste we all use. toothpaste has floride. Floride itself is already a poison. too much consumption, we can be killed by it. although world authorities says that the floride in our water and toothpastes are very minimal and will not cause harm to humans, BUT can we really trust their words? minimal content doesnt mean no harm to everyone in the world. Individuals have different tolerance levels to chemicals. I may not be affected by it, but my friend maybe affected by the chemical because his body is weaker or reacted negatively to this chemical. talking abt listerine. it has one good side of it. If you got harmful mouth ulcers, use listerine. yr uclers will be killed by it and you will be cured of uclers.... my personal experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 30, 2008 Share March 30, 2008 A lot of chemicals always have some sort of negative reporting somewhere. So everything is a risk. In US, very popular to see anti-bacterial product for cleaning hands, whatever. Invariably some negative report will come out. I think just be aware and don't overdose; should be fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear March 31, 2008 Share March 31, 2008 Damn... I only told my mom yesterday that I prefer Listerine to Oral-B because it burns the foul smell outta my mouth. Now maybe I have to reconsider my stand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 31, 2008 Author Share March 31, 2008 yes i like listerine for exactly the same reason too it gets rid of all sorts of weird smell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 31, 2008 Author Share March 31, 2008 so live and let live? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 31, 2008 Author Share March 31, 2008 u mean oral B is fine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 31, 2008 Share March 31, 2008 Some say a little bacteria (the good ones) is good for you. They stopped the bad bacteria from living there. If you are using chemicals that makes you "too clean" which kills off both good and bad bacteria, the next time the bad bacteria may moved in first. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...