Listerine: Does it cause throat cancer?

Friendstar

Hey bros,

Recently began using listerine. Love it especially after eating garlic chilli. the listerine will simply "burnt" them off immediately.

works even for durian.

But does the use of listerine cause throat cancer?

i remember receiving chain emails about this some time back.. no proof tho.. likely urban legend.

anyway, i also use it diluted.. after using it, i gargle with tap water again to 'wash' it off

I starting using Listerine also abt a month ago. I used the "super menthol' flavour, the liquid is very dark blue in colour one... that one really burn the mouth man.... then i change to citric flavour.. and i dilute it with water.

Water abt 60% or 70%. The effect is ok, my mouth feel very clean and fresh after using...

throat cancer? dun scare me leh lipsrsealed.gif

don think so lah

the brand have been around for quite a while

if really cause throat cancer then muz have been pull off shelves long ago..

having alcohol at such high concentration that burns ur mouth, and have it in the mouth for 30 seconds each time, 2 or 3 times a day... it's hard to believe that it doesn't somehow cause some oral tissue mutation in the long run?

read below news article

http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html...757C0A967958260

A television report by ABC News has linked Listerine mouthwash with increased cancer risks, but a spokeswoman for the National Cancer Institute said yesterday that any risk was slight.

The Warner-Lambert Company, based in Morris Plains, N.J., makes Listerine, a 112- year-old product that had $280 million in 1990 sales. Warner- Lambert's share price declined $3.375 yesterday, closing at $75 in heavy trading on the New York Stock Exchange before the cancer institute made its comment.

Peter Wolf, a Warner-Lambert spokesman, said the company had not seen the report data.

The institute, which is part of the National Institutes of Health, said, "Men and women using mouthwash regularly had a slightly increased risk" of mouth and throat cancer. It continued, "The increased risk was seen only in people using mouthwashes with 25 percent or higher alcohol content." Listerine is 26.9 percent alcohol.

The National Cancer Institute said the study indicated that women using high-alcohol mouthwash had a 90 percent higher risk of cancer than those who did not, and men a 60 percent higher risk. But the institute said the findings "do not firmly establish the risk."

it contain alcohol. and we all know that alcohol is poison by nature. So it will some way cause some illness for us in long term usage.

we no need to talk until mouthwash. we just talk abt our normal toothpaste we all use.

toothpaste has floride. Floride itself is already a poison. too much consumption, we can be killed by it.

although world authorities says that the floride in our water and toothpastes are very minimal and will not cause harm to humans, BUT can we really trust their words?

minimal content doesnt mean no harm to everyone in the world. Individuals have different tolerance levels to chemicals.

I may not be affected by it, but my friend maybe affected by the chemical because his body is weaker or reacted negatively to this chemical.

talking abt listerine. it has one good side of it. If you got harmful mouth ulcers, use listerine. yr uclers will be killed by it and you will be cured of uclers.... my personal experience.

A lot of chemicals always have some sort of negative reporting somewhere.

So everything is a risk.

In US, very popular to see anti-bacterial product for cleaning hands, whatever. Invariably some negative report will come out.

I think just be aware and don't overdose; should be fine.wink.gif

Damn... I only told my mom yesterday that I prefer Listerine to Oral-B because it burns the foul smell outta my mouth.

Now maybe I have to reconsider my stand.

Some say a little bacteria (the good ones) is good for you.

They stopped the bad bacteria from living there.

If you are using chemicals that makes you "too clean" which kills off both good and bad bacteria, the next time the bad bacteria may moved in first.laugh.gif