Competition keen in Singapore, says ExxonMobil

Ahyoo2002

hey do look at the thread on least fave petrol brand. it was meant to provide better transparency on the least supported brand either due to petrol or service quality.

We cant force ppl to quit a brand but we can let them know perhaps with so many ppl already unhappy with that brand, lesser support should go to it. we sweat for our money might as well get good value out of it.

On the esso spokesperson, i guess she like most of us is just taking a paycheck to survive. if her bosses decide to carry on with this price and wants her to say something good about it, she cant do much.

oh yah i forgot, for petrol, there is a fire safety regulation that the tank must be built underground one but for diesel there is no such requirement

so oem chaps saved a lot from not needing to build underground tanks [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

i heard diesel becomes flammable when it is heated to 76 degree

How much is OEM diesel per litre now bro?

I found a caltex station that gave 16% discount off retail price for diesel so it's about $1.396/L. [thumbsup]

easy way to make them lower price to stay in competition.

whole of singapore go to 1 petrol brand to pump petrol lor. then when the other brands cannot take it, then they will lower price to entice pple to go to their petrol station to pump. then whole of singapore switch together. do this until we get the lowest possible price without making the petrol company go burst.

but who to coordinate this?

in today's ST forum:

March 27, 2008

PUMP PRICE HIKES

Competition keen in Singapore, says ExxonMobil

WE REFER to the letters, 'Pump prices - eight hikes in eight months' by Mr Benjamin Tay last Thursday and 'Price hikes: Oil firms should speak up ' by Ms Lim Li Ching on Monday regarding pump prices. We fully understand the concern motorists are feeling over high pump prices. We have spoken up in the past and take this opportunity to clarify the points raised in the letters.

Pump prices are affected by many factors. A key component which makes up about 50 per cent of pump prices is the cost of petrol and diesel. This cost, known as wholesale fuel prices, is traded internationally at commodity markets and is not set by ExxonMobil. Like other internationally traded commodities, wholesale fuel prices are the result of the actions of thousands of buyers and sellers operating in a global marketplace to efficiently allocate available supplies for competing uses. The same applies to crude oil prices.

Our refinery in Singapore purchases over 90 per cent of the crude oil it processes from third parties and is subject to market fluctuations. Wholesale fuel prices, although a key component, are not the only determinant of retail pump prices. The other factors are taxes and duties which make up about 30 per cent of pump prices, and the remaining 20 per cent comes from land, operating costs and margins.

We operate in an intensely competitive retail market in Singapore. [hur] Competition is beyond pricing and we also compete by investing heavily in our Smiles loyalty programme and recently completed our alliance project with NTUC FairPrice, bringing more value and convenience to our customers. High prices raise our awareness of the importance of saving energy and changing our behaviour.

Some good ways for motorists to improve fuel efficiency include avoiding aggressive driving; planning your trips in advance; and inflating your cars' tyres to the right pressure. Switching to a fuel grade recommended by your cars' manufacturers also helps. We have noticed that more than 10 per cent of our customers have switched from 98 octane petrol to the lower 95 octane petrol over the past two years. Our website at www.exxonmobil.com.sg has more energy-saving tips.

Lastly, we wish to state categorically that we at ExxonMobil support free and fair competition. [hur] As a company policy worldwide, we do not discuss prices nor market segmentation with competitors. We also do not subscribe to nor support any anti-competitive activities.

xxx

Singapore Retail Sales Manager

ExxonMobil Asia Pacific Pte Ltd

This is open eyes say blind language.

Right..of coz they dont discuss. They just take a look nia mah. 1 person change, everyone changed. Need to discuss one meh? And who knows whats going on behind the cartel.

Cant imagine a drug dealer caught for smuggling telling the customs officer that "Hey! I brought drugs into Singapore~"

And the most stupid thing is to tell us about how to be more fuel efficient.

whoa bro! which station? the oems are offerring anything between 1.42 to 1.45 [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

I PM you since not much diesel vehicle owner here. [;)]

fair competition MY FOOT [rifle]

Correct mah, fair competition..

Company A: hey, i'm gonna raise price.

Other Companies: ok to be fair, we raise together to same price.

Company A: ok cool!

[laugh] damn these oil companies...

JB price is real competition.

But gahmen help oil companies to compete by 3/4 tank rule.

Me driving a Partner van lah.... [laugh] ...diesel

I usually pump at Sungei Kadut....not been there quite a while already..dun know what's the price liao.

Sin Ming where??? [sly]