Apollo 1st Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 March 26, 2008 Have $50 notes with 'KF' mark? MAS says they're worthless By Esther Tan WHEN Mr G.S. Lee withdrew some money from an OCBC Bank ATM at Compass Point earlier this month, three of his $50 notes seemed a bit strange - the letters 'KF' were on the top right hand corner. The bank told him then that there was 'no problem with the notes', he said, but the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) has since clarified that such notes have been mutilated on purpose and are therefore worthless. The letters looked 'legally imprinted', said Mr Lee in an e-mail to The Straits Times online portal, Stomp, asking what the letters might mean. But 'KF' is not part of the $50 note's design, said MAS' spokesman, adding it did not know what 'KF' stood for. 'Notes with such markings are considered to be deliberate mutilation and they command no value,' she added. Anyone who has notes with the markings can take them to the banks to be exchanged, she said, and MAS will take the notes back as an 'act of grace'. When contacted, OCBC's head of group corporate communications Koh Ching Ching said currency could have become defaced while being circulated. She said the bank's ATMs will be checked so any other mutilated notes can be retrieved. She added that OCBC's tellers are 'trained to look out for defaced or mutilated notes and handle them as per guidelines provided by MAS', and that it has reminded its staff to be vigilant. Read the full story in Thursday's edition of The Straits Times. http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/...ory_220782.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 wah.. like that very good at making peasants more poor. "act of grace" PCN. so they suka suka can don't exchange the money? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 God is always RIGHT !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bunny21 Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Very strange 'grace' indeed... Once before a trip to UK, went to moneychanger to buy some Pounds. End up, quite a few of the notes had writing on them. Complained to the changer, but he assured me that the notes were acceptable. Went on to UK, and was indeed a little surprised that the locals accepted the 'written' notes with no issue . They were actually more concerned about fakes, and checked for the Queen-head watermark rather than worry about some hand-writing on the notes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 talk about that, many years ago at states, draw quite some cash from their atm machine and sometimes, got new $20 notes... when i use it, those casher will use a marker and draw/mark some lines on it,, then they will crumple it.... dont know why...kekeke.. but obviously, they dont mind those extra marks.. so, who to blame when someone try to use a note with marking to buy chicken rice but rejected?... chicken rice buyer: how much? chicken rice seller: $3 doler.. checkin rice buyer: nah..(hand over a $50 note) chicken rice seller: (took the note but take a closer look before depositing into cashier machine) checkin rice buyer: chicken rice seller: uncle.. ur $50 doler cannot use.. checkin rice buyer: why??? chicken rice seller: got KNN marking wor.... checkin rice buyer: so?? chicken rice seller: according to a clarification from Mas's spokesman, this $50 is worthless checkin rice buyer: since when they make this clarification? news got show meh?? chicken rice seller: if u dont believe me, pls go home, type in this link (http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/STIStory_220782.html) or do a search in internet and read it yourself lor..i no bluff one... checkin rice buyer: errrr.. what is it all about?? this $50 bucks hor, i just draw out from atm machine wor... cannot be fake right?? chicken rice seller: cannot use..i dont want, u take back and pay me $3... checkin rice buyer: ,ok, i can pay u with another note but..but hey...all my $50 bucks from same atm have marking like "KNN" , "CCB", "LOL", and the last piece, "PAP".... so, all u dont want?? chicken rice seller: dont want..even if i accept, it means i take it as a "act of grace" but frankly speaking, only those scholar has such gracious act.. me a chicken rice seller not that gracious wor since i boh tuk chek one... checkin rice buyer: but, i dont any other small change... errr.... chicken rice seller: uncle.. u go to that atm machine draw money lar.. i draw some this morning and no marking one... checkin rice buyer: , ok... me hungry..no choice..have to eat chicken rice... u wait..i come back with $3 for the chicken rice.... ...............The End.... ........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 'act of grace'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 27, 2008 Author Share March 27, 2008 sounds better then 'act of harry' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear March 27, 2008 Share March 27, 2008 I wonder would it become acceptable if the text is "PAP" instead... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched March 27, 2008 Share March 27, 2008 U mean all notes wif written words on it cannot be use in the market currently? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear March 27, 2008 Share March 27, 2008 What does KF means? Kena Fcuked? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 27, 2008 Share March 27, 2008 by right. according to the gahmen newsletter report anyway, the "act of grace" sounds so bloody high-handed and arrogant. HOWEVER, i think they will extend this "act of grace" to most pple with this issue they are just trying to remind us who is boss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched March 27, 2008 Share March 27, 2008 well , they put the signatures the bloody pieces of paper so that we can call it 'money'. Although the people who responded may be just peasants following orders. Unless we can just switch to bartering in gold pieces, then we will have to accept that they have the authority to call what is money and what isn't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 27, 2008 Author Share March 27, 2008 act of harry lagi better... more holy. tat one can confirm will remind u who is G*D. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 27, 2008 Author Share March 27, 2008 draw lightning sign. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 27, 2008 Share March 27, 2008 harry ah? maybe he not joking when he said he'll rise from the grave shd SG need him ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...