Zcold 2nd Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 bro.. if u able to do say 90% of wad was mentioned... tell me yr magazine name... i go buy ... guess in local context... space (roads) and budget (nt enff buyers?) its the main constrain... i see yr difficulities... nice of u to accept recomendations... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 Good thread! About time someone should lambast the local automotive magazines. They are nothing short of merely advertorial writeups laced with crafted words and pictures of the latest car models that are available in local showrooms. Else, borrow a couple of shots or article from overseas counterparts copy and paste. I'll cite one fine example of a Taiwan car magazine I read some years back during my reservist stint there. There was a feature writeup about the services of showroom sales staffs. The writer went undercover with hidden camera and all sorts making rounds at distributors showrooms for comparisons. Then the results were reported on the article in details with undercover pictures, sales person's name, experiences and so on. With so many discussions on local car forums about bad services rendered by local distributors, still, no feature of such were ever picked up by writers. The reason I presume is pretty obvious. Their bottomline are at the mercy of car distributors, rather than the other way. And I haven't bought any local car magazines for many years now. Last car mag bought was Taiwan's SpecR with free VCD in JB Popular Bookstore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear March 24, 2008 Share March 24, 2008 the local car mags need car ADs such as KM, BM, PM to survive. that's why i find that the reviews are very biased. wondering got any kopi $$ given to the reviwer, or even the editor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 (edited) I think the chances of them getting into legal turmoil is most likely. I dun think they wanna get blacklisted. Why not look to PIs instead since the write up is not on distributors? Locally done reviews therefore lack guts to write what is no good about the car. Almost mostly praises about the car. The no good stuff will usually be written to "look" subtle. Which is really sad cos car buyers will have to find out the hard way. Pointing out the cons about the car IMO will help imrpove on QC on the next model. Not pointing it out will only be carried over. Edited March 25, 2008 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikolaiski69 Neutral Newbie March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 well, i hope this helps...what bro watwheels says is quite true, but i try to push that frontier to get ADs and PIs to be more open to criticism about their cars. Do take for example our chery A1 article. http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=26 What do you think, or rather, which areas do you think, could be more honest? In my opinion this review was one of the MOST honest and unbiased that we've done. More to come and improve on, hopefully...haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azarael Clutched March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 (edited) i am very impressed with the write up which was from the taiwan magaine. agreed that u are aright in demanding this kind of standard from our local car magazines...instead of improving reading content, one local publication thinks that by putting a picture of a foreign model next to the car, it will improve the quality of the magazine articles. long term tests like interviewing owners who have owned the car for one year or after 20K mileage to see how good/bad their ownership is would be helpful imagine a owner of a new conti sports car complaining/praising about FC, dealer service, problems with parking the car and getting repairs done after accident or faults....all this make great journalism...if i wanted to see how the car looks like and wanted it's technical specs....i can just go to the showroom.....no need to buy a magazine... Edited March 25, 2008 by Azarael Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 u mean the AD will penalise the publisher writing about a flaw in their product? what the fark man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 side track abit i once read a copy of h**St**, one of the ICE articles about some car that was done up in malaysia. it claimed the car could do " 206dB" of music. biggest joke of the year. scanned and showed it to my US community,we all had a good laugh. but yeah, goes to show the quality of some of the magazines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 bro..it looks like AD will not take bad remark about their cars....so what is the use of a review..may be our local car mag should just become an advertisment space for cars and parts.....well.which in my opinion..it already is.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 isnt that what hotstuff is for? yup I agree the magazines we are paying for are glorified new car catalogues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 brother...don't mentioned name lah..u know i know..we all know can liao....later kana sue for defaming...how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teoky Clutched March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 Wow ! 206dB ? Rocket taking off is 180dB only leh. At that level it is like almost 8 times louder than rocket taking off ! http://www.abelard.org/hear/hear.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikolaiski69 Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) hahaha well, all of you are right lah. In a way, dissent is not tolerated, ESPECIALLY if the related media writing the review receive advertisement money for that particular brand. However, it must be said that they are opening up but VERY gradually, but i aim to make this happen in my lifetime, not the next...lol..after all, i wont be writing about cars all my life And again, all your suggestions are very valuable and i promise that i will try to implement them sooner or later, these coming months. BTW, about that "glorified car catalogue" that has 206db written in it..all their articles are because advertisers pay money for them. Alot of us used to work there at some point of our career Keep the faith! hehe Edited March 26, 2008 by Nikolaiski69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vodkeith Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) ... Edited March 26, 2008 by Vodkeith ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...