Lets "Teach" the Magazine writers how to write a proper review

Kelpie

1. Instead of saying so much about how local car magazines CMI, why not we put into action and tell them what should a more meaningful test review be?

2. I've the following suggestions (not in order of importance):

a) Spaciousness

You often see magazines mentioned how spaciousness the car is, but there is no benchmark nor somethings that they measured against with. They should have something to tell us how spacious is the cabin rather than based on technical specifications, for example:

SCAN0004b.jpg

b) Fuel economy

Instead of relying on manufacturers' data, they should be doing their own tests instead, for example:

SCAN0003a1.jpg

SCAN003b1.jpg

c) For road performance,

again, instead of relying on manufacturers' data, do a 0-100km, 100-400km and etc. Run a few rounds and get an average result.

d) For interior,

Please take more photos rather than write more words. Meanhwile, try to compare the differences between new model with the ex-model. Don't talk about climate control like a big in-thing.

e) Handling,

Work harder and don't be lazy, go find a better place to do handling tests. Not just around a corner in an open space car park. Mention why a particular road or area is chosen for the test, explain what they want to achieve from the test. Testing rpm should be mentioned too.

f) Pricing

When a writer says a car is expensive, please mention why? are OMV, COE and etc included in the formula?

g) NVM

Go and invest in a NVM tester. Instead of saying how quiet a car is, use the tester to measure before pick-up, after pick-up, initial 60km/h and the next 100Km/h.

h) Street Survey

No harm taking a few comments from street survey or in the car showroom or expo. People may have different views and perception. Again be very clear what you want to ask them.

3. Please feel free to comment and add.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

I must say the Taiwanese are very detail in their comparison test. Very much what a car enthusiast would want to read about. And they dun write in such a way that their job requires them to do it.

100 - 400km/hr?

only the bugatti can...

Thanks for pointing out. it should be 0-100 and 100-400. In Taiwan, beside verifying the manufacturers' claims on their 0-100, they also test from 100-400 takes how long and the finishing speed after 400km.

Regards,

I must say the Taiwanese are very detail in their comparison test. Very much what a car enthusiast would want to read about. And they dun write in such a way that their job requires them to do it.

It could be a matter of passion. Perhaps, the writers charge the car magazine on the number of pages he/she wrote [laugh].

Regards,

Opss. yes is Taiwan.. But anyway HK auto mag also as good as tis,

just only SG mag writers noob, only know how to write complaint like speeding LGV or COEERP rise or fall, etc etc... Car reviews is only copy and paste photos with some simple write up.

I think you can wait for a while longer. Even the technical part they cannot get it right sometimes. Anecdotal evidence points out that local editors and magazines hacks do not even know the difference between an opinion and a critique. So how to write creatively? Better not say so much [lipsrsealed]

While this is a good thread. As someone who has been writing for local publications for quite some time, I can attest to the fact that most of the writers/editors are indeed car freaks and very talented journalists, but due to the nature of the magazine/press/freedom of press restrictions, we have to make compromises. Therefore, sometimes we hope you read in between the lines. However, I am, with my own review section on SGcarmart, trying to change all that, but slowly lah, and I agree with this threadstarter. We often do not know what you people want, because all you say is "local magazines CMI"

Let me address this one by one:

"You often see magazines mentioned how spaciousness the car is, but there is no benchmark nor somethings that they measured against with. They should have something to tell us how spacious is the cabin rather than based on technical specifications, for Instead of relying on manufacturers' data, they should be doing their own tests instead"

Yes this is indeed possible. Good suggestion. I do not know how to read chinese so i do not refer to these taiwanese magazines..I'll try to include things like this in the future in my reviews.

"c) For road performance,

again, instead of relying on manufacturers' data, do a 0-100km, 100-400km and etc. Run a few rounds and get an average result."

I have already begun doing this long ago in my reviews. I use simple methods - stopwatch and an average of 5 runs with the variables mentioned in my articles. I'm considering investing in a proper G-tech system in the future.

"d) For interior,

Please take more photos rather than write more words. Meanhwile, try to compare the differences between new model with the ex-model. Don't talk about climate control like a big in-thing. "

Again, I have already done this for the past year or so. I have been taking LOTS of interior photos to the best of my ability. If you guys want some more photos other than what you see in my reviews, PLEASE let me know what and where and let me know before I take the next car out :o) As mentioned, the climate control thing was a mistake, and we apologise for that.

"e) Handling,

Work harder and don't be lazy, go find a better place to do handling tests. Not just around a corner in an open space car park. Mention why a particular road or area is chosen for the test, explain what they want to achieve from the test. Testing rpm should be mentioned too."

Explain "testing rpm." Particular roads CANNOT be mentioned due to legal reasons. I don't think the TP would be too nice about letting us bring a WRX vs EVO along say, Tuas or Neo Tiew or some other road that has lotsa good corners for the taking. I also do not agree with your comment on being lazy as we, being the car freaks we are, DO bring these cars to places unimaginable and we DO whack these cars upside down. What else do you think we do with lets say, a WRX, on a hot afternoon, sleep in it?

Perhaps what could be done, is to devise a standard test like a 5-6 cone slalom or a standard gymkhana course done by a single experienced driver. Again, this requires planning and shall be done in the future when I come up with more interactive reviews.

"f) Pricing

When a writer says a car is expensive, please mention why? are OMV, COE and etc included in the formula?"

We say it is expensive in relation to other competitors in the market. I'll try to include other factors like OMV ARF COE blah blah blah in the future subject to relativity.

"g) NVM

Go and invest in a NVM tester. Instead of saying how quiet a car is, use the tester to measure before pick-up, after pick-up, initial 60km/h and the next 100Km/h."

Good idea. I'll bug my boss when he has DA BUDGET lipsrsealed.gif

"h) Street Survey

No harm taking a few comments from street survey or in the car showroom or expo. People may have different views and perception. Again be very clear what you want to ask them."

In the pipeline man...in the pipeline...

----------

Again guys, any comments and suggestions would be greatly appreciated, especially that you guys seem to be our main reading audience!

Edited by Nikolaiski69

It is at least a good start. Finally our voices are heard and hopefully action followed. Perhaps, I can scan a few full review samples from the Taiwanese magazines later for some inspirartion.

Regards,

How about giving an opinion about whether you liked the car or not? Not some middle of the road "its a good A to B car with blah blah HP and shiny interior etc". Your opinion counts towards how relevant a car is in today's context. Be it good or bad, just state a preference by imagining you owning the car as a daily driver. Why do you think its a good car? If you think its crap then say so. Not everyone will agree but at least they will respect the effort made by the car reviewer to form an honest opinion.

Am willing to give them a chance to show their mettle since someone from there did apologise for the oversight. Just hope they improve the level. A bit tired of the usual stuff that's all.

bro... OT a bit arh... the cars all AT arh... the civic 1.6 or 1.8... lancer lei.. 1.5 arh... hee paiseh... curious + chinese a bit bad...