M'sian minister says price controls 'a joke'

Meecar

Record inflation and stagnant wage for the workers is happening at every single country in asia and many part of the world right now - Singapore is not unique in this case.

You are right but please do remember that nearly all industries (INsurance, groceries, banking etc) are "gahmen" own or run. Therefore they have within their negotiating power to reduces the prices. If they can keep the price eg rice at x dollars why cant they earn even slightly lesser so that the less fortunate can get through this difficult time easier.

If we pay our sillypore CEO and senior managers multimillion dollars to run this country, then dont we expect something better that would commensurate their demand for multimillion dollar salary.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNew...0324-55911.html

Better fill all your petrol needs before it is too late

I suspect the M'aian Minister must be reading MyCarforum postings

You've given only the half-story. Read the full story, and the minister's right.

Basically, he said that imposing price controls is unrealistic because ultimately supply and demand and market conditions will win out, creating a lot of black market and smuggling issues.

Rather than spend so much effort on price controls to keep things affordable, he looked at the problem from the other end and concluded that salaries should go up! Rightly so, inflation means that prices of goods and services increase. And why not salaries as well? By right, the prices for our services should increase as well...

it is not a question of price control

the price of petrol is controlled

can the gahmen do away with a little less tax on the petrol we pump into the tank

recently , there is a posting, that said, there is hardly any public transport (bus) that overlaps

you are absolutely right the prices for OUR services should increase as well .... YES the increased was in anticipation of your posting that they got multimillion dollar salary

i hope you are finally happy

I took bus number 107 that travel from serangoon and pass by potong pasir today and saw the difference

I always thought we the citizen of sillypore, regardless of GRC, constituency or votes, pledge ourselves as united sillyporean

i was looking at several of our ministers

several of them are from Malaysia

maybe we should try to build better relationship with our bros and siss up north

actually I really like malaysia alot not the major city but the rural areas

when I was in penang or kuantan some of the malay families invited us to their home for kopi and we talk about everything under the sun

once I was in Alor star we meant this principal and we ended up going for a fishing trip

the only regret I got was those bloody kamakazi mosquitos

dont bother about those electronic mosquito repellent instead by the largest bottle of sheltox you can get

when i go back my kampung in msia..i always bring those insect repellant we use back in army..one of the best.. [thumbsup] works wonders..