Jayq Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 On 13 March, I bought a Acer Travelmate 6292, less than week on the 17 March, Monday, the laptop can't boot up press power button not working. The next day went to the service center surprising the staff at the service center is able to boot up my computer and everything is working fine just that the time is not synced. The service person did some troubleshooting like removing and put back the ram maybe it's not sit properly and he say it will be nice if i left my laptop overnight at the service center for a more throughout check so i did left my laptop there for a more precise check on it. Yesterday, I received by laptop with a service report claimed that everything is working fine no problem. 10 minutes ago, when i try to switch on again not responding tried everything with battery and without battery still fail to switch on. This laptop really pissed me off I am going down to the service center on Saturday for a refund totally have no confidence in Acer products anymore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidercool 1st Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Do a hard reset, throw it on the floor and give it a body slam. Then try pressing the button again, should be ok now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maersk1 1st Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 bro...you watch too much of WWE liao lah....haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dlar2 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 buy 4D on the serial number I using Benq S32, you should take a look at this model. I compared 6292 with S32 and I buy S32. God bless, it had been perfect so far and is cheap, less than 1.4k with 7300 spec Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayq Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Author Share March 20, 2008 I wish i could do it, waste my time, energy going down to Acer service center only give 1 free parking ticket and the down time without the laptop working. Never had such worst experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayq Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Author Share March 20, 2008 Will consider if i can get a refund. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ajedi72 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Isn't Benq also part of Acer??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zcold 2nd Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 sry to hear abt yr experience bro... i sell laptops part time during my hols at school roadshows... and i talked to owners and different brands owners before... many of the owners of Acer say theirs after 1 year CMI... here spoil there spoil... even one of the sales person frm acer sae his oso spoil... onli gd thing is cheap... seriously the only brands that i trust are thinkpads and fujitshu... (cost aside ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Sorry to hear about your negative experience. I'm pretty happy with my Acer notebook. It has lasted me for the past 5 years already. It's a P3 1.13ghz. Everything still working fine. I'm happy with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bunny21 Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 Me too. still working after 3 years... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 My acer desktop start falling apart after less than 1 year.. either something wrong with me or something wrong with acer's workmanship.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archon 2nd Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 My acer desktop serve me 7 years. Just got a new one early this year. Happy with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 so i guess that is something wrong with me.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 i think thinkpads and fujitsu not that great either. acer has bad models that's for sure. if you pick some models that are well designed, it will be very reliable.. unfortunately to know that, you must speak to the sales person on models that are out 6 months at least. they will know which ones are problematic. in fact the acer laptop i'm using now is one where the sales person told me the lcd will have problem after 1 year. and indeed it is true. but i did "operation" on it and it is working fine now. i hope it stays that way. lol every brand and model has lemons. so i think need to back off from the latest models if want reliablity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 if there is something wrong with you that why complain about others and their posting get a new computer and you will begin to see life differently have a good easter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 in the past ACER had quality issues Futjitsu is apparently all made in JAPAN and that is why they are expensive I think HP is OK i have 3 HP notebooks at home of course bought at different times Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayq Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Author Share March 20, 2008 Either u had no problem with acer computers or u having lots of problem with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thejoy Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 i bought an Acer Travelmate 6292 Window Vista as well 4mth's back at Harvey Norman. It was the worst thing I have ever bought!!! Keypad malfunction after 2mth and need pay $100+ to replace and now still have problem. Wireless connection always keep self disabled and need connect LAN cable Laptop can never wake up after sleeping and have to force restart 2 x fail to power up and dunno why Internet browsing speed slower than my 2yr old XP laptop. hotline can never get thru... SIGH!!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...