Chilidawg March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 (edited) hi guys, was just interested to know which you would rather be subjected to, given that either one is inevitable, of course more ERP gantries are springing up as we speak. still, i think this might be interesting: 1) higher road tax: this means a percentage increase in the road tax u're already paying, ie large cc pros - everyone shares the load and nobody is left out (fair? u tell me) . - dun hv to waste time looking for detours to 'siam' the gantries cons - those who don't usually use ERP-ed routes will feel its unfair 2) more ERP gantries pros - haha, no rise in road tax . - those who can afford it encounter considerably less jams cons - monthly transport expenses rises as opposed to one-time increased road tax payment (which is better? u tell me) thats just mho between the 2 choices lah. now for u guys to let fly ur comments. enjoy Edited March 19, 2008 by Chilidawg ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabss Neutral Newbie March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 honestly either way we've no way out, left pocket right pocket for them nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 (edited) Are u ? U are their lackey? Dan u must be the 66.6% supporter. NON OF THE ABOVE! I think enough of both. Any more increase ppl will rebel. Edited March 19, 2008 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 2) more ERP gantries pros - haha, no rise in road tax . - those who can afford it encounter considerably less jams cons - monthly transport expenses rises as opposed to one-time increased road tax payment (which is better? u tell me) How could it be considerable less jams with ERP alone? I think you need a balance: a) Higher COE and reduce Quota further(Deter 1st time and barely can make it buyers) b) Maintain Road Tax. Some not like it, they should tax according to the car value then just CC alone. You drive Sonata and 520i, also pay same tax, not fair. You rich, you pay more. c) ERP retain for CBD and financial hubs. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 no road tax, more gantries but if maintain road tax, then no more gantries then i can buy a big cc car one day and dun drive it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 exactly, no way out, but which of the 2 would u prefer? cuz there's always ways around problems, but some problems are easier to get around Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 quit being so cynical lah just wanted to c a show of hands. i know everyone just blardy sick of all dis. of course if can then none of the above la, but fact of the matter is, like saabss says - no choice. so hypothetically, IF u were given the above choices, which would it be oh, n y Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 I think enough of both. Any more increase ppl will rebel. I doubt so. We have a very high threshold for tolerating such stuffs. Rebel? Count me out. 安全第一 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamjammer Neutral Newbie March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 Oi, you are from MIW, trying to find out what the feeling at the ground arh? If you are, then my message to you is stop all this bull and reduced all road tax and ERP! It just dont solve the problems on conjestion! Give out so many COE, then now say conjestion is getting worse To the others, please dont bother to vote, it's a waste of time here! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 good points dude. i particularly love point (b) ya lah there's so much more to it than meets the eye, but i just feel that ERP is such a major drag, man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 hi guys, was just interested to know which you would rather be subjected to, given that either one is inevitable, of course more ERP gantries are springing up as we speak. still, i think this might be interesting: 1) higher road tax: this means a percentage increase in the road tax u're already paying, ie large cc pros - everyone shares the load and nobody is left out (fair? u tell me) . - dun hv to waste time looking for detours to 'siam' the gantries cons - those who don't usually use ERP-ed routes will feel its unfair 2) more ERP gantries pros - haha, no rise in road tax . - those who can afford it encounter considerably less jams cons - monthly transport expenses rises as opposed to one-time increased road tax payment (which is better? u tell me) thats just mho between the 2 choices lah. now for u guys to let fly ur comments. enjoy Actually the increasing or decreasing of road tax does not help to solve road congestion,hmmm? Ppl are still going to drive out regardless of amt of road tax paid, rite? So increasing the road tax will still cause certain roads or expressways to be jam. Hence LTA used ERP to control congestions and not road tax. But to pacify the motorists, they reduce a bit of the road tax while increasing the no of gantries. This is called psychological tactics, at least let those who dun pass thru the gantries daily feel damn 'good'. But then more ERP gantries does not equate to less jams. It just brings the jams to other roads. The only real solution to all these craps by LTA is to improve the road infrastructure or simply reduce the no of vehicles on roads. It just like 'accidentally' slip out one fugitive and caused the entire checkpoints to jammed like hell for weeks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 why did you not include the option of significantly lowering the number of coe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 ya ya, we're a very spoon-fed society, so wun rebel cuz if there's one thing the MIW is very good at is keeping the people at bay. they very very good at this balancing act Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 Rebel? You must apply for permit first, you know? Too troublesome! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 fugitive? wah hahahaha ok ok, no joke, when he escaped i was quite fearful, especially when walking thru secluded areas alone anyways, totally agree with ERP relocating the jams. actually, i gave the hypothetical increase in road tax simply as an outlet for less gantries. cuz we know for sure the big guys have to tax us one way or another mah, rite? so maybe the question should be 'if not ERP, then where else u wanna be taxed?' n walau, they're definitely working on infrastructure, everywhere kena detour. but this place is only so big, eventually we'll be forced into the water man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 for simplicity's sake ba. just needed to find something to oppose ERP n i thot 'gee, everyone pays road tax regularly and its based on wat car u drive', so i thot everyone share the load by paying more BUT according to how big a tank u drive lor but i stand by that dude who said road tax should be based on not only cc, but to some extent, OMV too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg March 19, 2008 Author Share March 19, 2008 heh heh heh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie March 19, 2008 Share March 19, 2008 (edited) lower the car price and tax will make more ppl buy. tax is bi annual and the car price is really 1 time off. gantry is daily revenue. the fact that they are holding 50% off the coe quota to April means that they find that current jams are acceptable and more revenue can be generated from the gantries. That means packing more cars on the roads with reduced price while maintaining coe quota and at the same time increasing the number gantries and prices, they will gain more than the "buff children" stats that they are giving out more than taking in.... The Feb speech is worded carefully to point peasants to a perspective thats seems logical and politically safe. But the sums they produced are very childish for ppl with longer foresight. Edited March 19, 2008 by Skoder ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...