Ang Moh "yahyah"

Kezg1

Ugly foreign motorist on CTE today

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have no problem with foreigners in Singapore, and I count many foreigners as my friends. However, I met an ugly motorist, driving a Toyota fortuner (vehicle nos.SGZ24x8 ) this morning at 0800 hrs along CTE. He was clearly speeding, and like me, chose the same exit 11 into AMK1. When he passed me, he showed me his middle finger, and shouted vulgar words. I supposed that he was unhappy that I did not let him pass when I clearly had the right of way to keep to my lane. He has at least 2 other foreigners in the car, and from his accent, can only guess that they are Australians (if I am wrong, I apologise)...and heading back to CTE, which I suppose to exit Braddel Road to Australian Int'l School (?). I shouted back and reminded that they are in Singapore, and not in their own country. I kept to my lane and deliberately stayed a car length behind them at the red light - to take down the vehicle nos. as well as to avoid the shouting incident so as not to spoil the first day of week. I have called the Australian Int'l School (personal assistant to the principal) to check if the vehicle belongs to any of the staff/parents of student. I have yet to receive a feedback. Meanwhile, if motorists see this vehicle nos. on the road, be wary of this driver......Mind you, he is capable of deliberately trying to cut into yr lane, and then switching back to his lane, just as he tried to do same to me within a short distance to the traffic light.

Taken From asiaone Forum...PLs note his car no.

Edited by Kezg1

Hi Kezg1,

First of all, this is not the right folder to post such thread.

Secondly, please take note that posting of number plate in MCF is strictly prohibited.

This thread will be removed from this folder shortly.

even our own govt treat the 'peasants' like dirt and fools, akin to 3rd class citizens in our own country, and por the FTs. Of course these same FTs look down on the average locals. Their 'i-am-superior-mindset' is endorsed by own govt furious.gif

I guess if they are foreigners, they may already be long agitated by the way locals drive, so its just yet another small incident that blew them off.

I was promptly reminded the moment i started driving in local streets, that this is singapore, after i returned from England...

Locals seem very insistant on the right of way. Overseas, there seems to be more.... Graciousness, as well as give and take sort of thing.

Sing Gor..it depends ..

Some foreigners can be quite aggressive. They don't care about your gender can show more than middle finger.

Agree with you there. When they drive, they always very often seem to think that they have the right of way even when they dont.

Personally, be it Caucasians, Indians, Chinese, Malays or Eurasians it doesnt really matter what color their skin are. I really dont see this as an issue.

Besides, like I mentioned to Relagsingh, the story's not complete. What was the situation that started the middle finger incident? I think you'll agree with me on this one.

[nod] There's this manner of driving as if they own the road kind of attitude. Not all though. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Emperor

Hehe... But not only i find them driving more aggressively, but theres something else that makes me feel uncomfortable. I don't know how to put it into words. Feel abit disgusted though... But i soon got used to it, but i try to distingish myself by not doing the same such that i don't point to myself the next time i talk about local drivers.

I agree with you wholeheartedly. The story is not complete. Unfortunately, i doubt we will get to complete the jig saw puzzle here.

In my years of driving in Aussie land, I have never met anything like this, be it in Brisbane,Melbourne or Sydney. This AngMoh must have live in sinkies aleast a year or he is the type that I have very rarely met in pub that are arrogant.

On 2nd thought he might not be an Aussie.!!

why am i not surprised

i travel lor chuan every morning, and everyday i spot 3-4 of these yaya papayas

its always the grandis, volvo, bmw, fortuner...

yeah agreee. in my experience of aussies they are actually quite nice peeps when they are driving. remembered a few times in melbourne i stopped at the traffic light and was studying the road directory den the light turned green i didnt noticed. the car behind not only didnt horn but was patiently waiting behind.

and a few incidents like when i was speeding down the freeways one e extreme right lane they car automatically moved to the left and let me pass. [:)]

i think def not aussie. probably e yankees

Edited by Robo