Header Clutched March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 I am thinking that the oil major has been too quick and eager to raise pump price. Since we cannot stop buying petrol, maybe a good way to protest is to not buy anything at petrol kiosks, other any petrol. No more buying of food & drinks, bread, magazine and even parking coupon at petrol kiosks if possible. Reduce car wash at petrol kiosk. Stop buying engine oil that is branded from Esso, Shell and SPC. Anything that is related to these oil major, other than petrol which we have no choice, we stop/ reduce buying. A collective action by all drivers will send a strong msg. Better than rely on CASE. What do u think? Doable? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 There is a way to stop buying petrol. Consider the CNG option.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black_silk Neutral Newbie March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 Will stop buying from them except using the ATM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 usually i dun buy things at petrol kiosks because it's more exp... unless i really need them urgently, i'd rather consolidate my list and buy at NTUC or other supermarts... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black_silk Neutral Newbie March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 Considering the option but as we discussed the price is getting more expensive From $2800 to $3900. Someone promised to get the vendors to reduce the price but NATO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 but i tot those things like newpapers, food n stuffs r not under their direct account?esso hv ntuc doing business there, shell hv 7-11...so i don tink even if u don buy anything from the shop will affect de petrol co. u only stop buying from ntuc n 7-11...not esso or shell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 Quote I am thinking that the oil major has been too quick and eager to raise pump price.Since we cannot stop buying petrol, maybe a good way to protest is to not buy anything at petrol kiosks, other any petrol. No more buying of food & drinks, bread, magazine and even parking coupon at petrol kiosks if possible. Reduce car wash at petrol kiosk. Stop buying engine oil that is branded from Esso, Shell and SPC. Anything that is related to these oil major, other than petrol which we have no choice, we stop/ reduce buying. A collective action by all drivers will send a strong msg. Better than rely on CASE. What do u think? Doable? NOT doable. Simply becos selling of unbranded petrol is illegal in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 i use esso speed pass so i dont visit the convenient stores anyway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 You should change the title to: To protest rising pump prices, will u stop pump at petrol kioks for one month and all pump in JB ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 (edited) A better strong message is to park our cars at the petrol pumps, and go into the Kiosks to jalan-jalan and read the free magazines and enjoy the aircon for a solid good 30mins. Those Caltex station with coffee and alfresco kiosks lagi best. If everyone does the same, then there will be massive jams all over Singapore petrol station. A kind of public disobedience in CSJ style? Edited March 17, 2008 by Leepee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 You stop buying oso no use...they are rich. Anyone knows how much fat bonus their staff get? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 Long term wise still more savings. We are always claiming to be very angry at wat the petrol companies do, but many pple still complaining abt loss in power, too few CNG stations, loss of boot space and etc etc when it comes to CNG and rather continue letting these buggers earn record profits at our expense. No use one la...with govt not stepping in and CASE like paper tiger and Singaporeans too concerned abt sacrificing some luxury abt their ride more than anything else, the situation will nvr change. Anyway we shld all be mentally prepared that its possible petrol pump price will hit $3.00/L within this yr.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 By doing this, it's only going to affect the business of NTUC, 7-11, Cheers...etc but not the petrol companies... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 global raw material prices are increasing...so not surprised that the CNG tanks, become more expensive. anyway $3800 is not expensive lo.....if your current petrol bill is $400 per month, you will save $300 each month with the CNG. Within 1 year, you will make back the cost of it. after that, save $3600 each year or more (more because if petrol is forecasted to continue to rise further in the future). Gases, come from a different source so will be unaffected by rising crude oil prices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 i realli cannot remember when was the last time i pump diesel in petrol kiosk nowadays, i onli go to petrol kiosk when i need the toilet or want to get free water for the wiper LONG LIVE OEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 Chris Tan wrote a report on Sunday Times that despite increase in private car ownership in sg, petrol consumption has drop of course, he didnt say why , he just left it at that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 Quote I am thinking that the oil major has been too quick and eager to raise pump price.Since we cannot stop buying petrol, maybe a good way to protest is to not buy anything at petrol kiosks, other any petrol. No more buying of food & drinks, bread, magazine and even parking coupon at petrol kiosks if possible. Reduce car wash at petrol kiosk. Stop buying engine oil that is branded from Esso, Shell and SPC. Anything that is related to these oil major, other than petrol which we have no choice, we stop/ reduce buying. A collective action by all drivers will send a strong msg. Better than rely on CASE. What do u think? Doable? To protest .... VERY VERY STRONG unity is needed. In Singapore .... can forget it liao ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 i'm goin to join u soon.. wait wait.. hahahaha.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...