Silklee 3rd Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 This morning I was caught in the ECP jam towards AYE. I was on the left most lane. There were a lot of cars who actually went on the road shoulder (hope that I got the term correct. Basically they were driving on the left of me while I was already on the left most lane) to overtake everyone and then try to squeeze back. It was very irritating. I was in half a mind to get my wife to video them down and send to the traffic police. Do you think the traffic police will take action against these cars if I really did that? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 Confession, I do that only if I am exiting off the expressway (not more than 5 cars length away) and the traffic is like a deadstill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 there are many people like that one there was one time got one van joker chiong road shoulder to overtake some chap, but on the road shoulder got a poor family whose wife came down to check whether boot got bring the passport or not. the poor wife in another case got some big shot's wife car broke down in shoulder. big shot tell wife to stay put in car. got one super tua zhong truck came along....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 well most mornings 8.30am on the PIE bedok stretch towards town...there is always a certain black mazda6 SFN plate, without fail will drive on the shoulder whenever jam....i seen so many times that i give up liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silklee 3rd Gear March 17, 2008 Author Share March 17, 2008 Today there was this saab beside me, die die want to cut in front of me. I have to say that I am usually a very Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Biting 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 What is the fine for driving on the road shoulder? Is it $1000? Maybe can get some of those enforcers who looks after the bus lanes to come and look after the expressway road shoulders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lexxmexx Neutral Newbie March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 I also witnessed a Kangoo chionging along the shoulder last Saturday afternoon on CTE trying to overtake everyone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 he's trying his luck . Driving on the shoulder of an expressway $150 (Light Vehicle) demerit point =6 $180 (Heavy Vehicle) demerit point =6 http://www.aas.com.sg/features/archive/otr03001.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silklee 3rd Gear March 17, 2008 Author Share March 17, 2008 Next time, i think I will ask my wife to take a video of them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 talking about driving on road shoulder. last saturday afternoon while driving my kid to lesson on the stretch of CTE between amk ave 3 and ave 1. i was already rushing for time. as usual, jam appear after ave 3. i was at the leftmost lane already. a kia zoom pass using the road shoulder, i was so tempted to just follow and drove on the road shoulder since i will be taking the next exit at amk ave 1. somehow i decided against and heng that i did not did that. someway down the road, the kia stopped and infront of the car was a motor-cycle with LTA words. the LTA guy was booking the driver. if i had follow and drove on the road shoulder, i will also kenna. what is the penalty for driving on road shoulder? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 learn a lesson thru his pocket Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 $150 and 6 demerit point nia lar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 It only takes one fellow to do something like this and soon u'll see a whole bunch of jokers to follow suit. Funny thing is that I see a lot of motorbikes do that but nobody could care less. I think we'll see more of it in future when more cars are being squeezed into our roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikolaiski69 Neutral Newbie March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 (edited) This morning I was caught in the ECP jam towards AYE. I was on the left most lane. There were a lot of cars who actually went on the road shoulder (hope that I got the term correct. Basically they were driving on the left of me while I was already on the left most lane) to overtake everyone and then try to squeeze back. It was very irritating. I was in half a mind to get my wife to video them down and send to the traffic police. Do you think the traffic police will take action against these cars if I really did that? This sort of humbuggery happens simply because of middle and left lane hoggers that have no consideration for other road users leave BIG GAPS on the road in front of them. They are every bit as inconsiderate as those who weave in and out of traffic, rather, this is at the other end of the spectrum. As for exits, I guess thats pretty normal for pple to cut left into the shoulder earlier, except for some self-righteous @#%! that we all know off.."WAH..DOING THAT IS WRONG! I TELL TP HOR!" yeah our balls all shrinking in my pants... Of course, if we are talking about habitual people who use the hard shoulder on a regular basis, peak hour or not, for no reason, then they are just asking for it lah. For those people, not to worry. Surveillance cameras can catch your car if you are not careful. Confirm tio one..coming from someone who actually kena b4... Edited March 17, 2008 by Nikolaiski69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 i believe can brake right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 It is an offence to drive on the road shoulder even in jam. CTE b4 AVE 5 sometime jam and some ppl like to use it. Once I was on the extreme left lane when it jam and 2 car used the shoulder. Suddenly I saw them turning out because there as a TP bike in front. I hope they have been booked Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 so far he stil quite heng...seen him do it at least 6 - 7 times... he's trying his luck . Driving on the shoulder of an expressway $150 (Light Vehicle) demerit point =6 $180 (Heavy Vehicle) demerit point =6 http://www.aas.com.sg/features/archive/otr03001.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
themagi Neutral Newbie March 17, 2008 Share March 17, 2008 Today there was this saab beside me, die die want to cut in front of me. I have to say that I am usually a very ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...