BMW 318i's poor FC (second hand car )

Azarael

Underpower should not cause poor fc. u just go slower that's all. Unless he is trying to keep up with faster cars.

Underpower will affect the FC. Because power to weight ratio is bad. [:p]

WAH

a jump from santa fe to lexus rx350

u struck toto?

wow pianz u say until like santa fe sibey cheapskate hahaha

Yeah - there is no VANOS in the 4 pot BMW engines.

Only the 6 Cylinder variants have VANOS - DOUBLE VANOS.

there is....but only for the N series 4 pot...not the M series...

I believe your friend's ride is a E46 2.0L 318i with Valvetronic (its like iVTEC).

Ask your friend to send the car to a mech with OBD reader...I suspect the car's O2 sensor is screwed and the car is running on limp mode now (since you say no power).

Its no pocket rocket...but confirm it will not be doing 6-7km/L....my old 525i close one eye also can touch 9.5km/L (not bad for a 18yr old Uber machine)

Once you change the sensor (if its the bugger that is giving the car problem)...you will get improved power and FC.

You can go to BVO (Bernard Sim) or Juzz4cars (Amos) to check...both at Sin Ming...they are very experience with BMW...

Alternatively....you can try Ang Kah Hoe Motorwork at Pandan Rd...they are experience with conti cars and have OBD readers for BMW.

I agree with you, principal is the same, one by digital the other by physical actuation

Vanos + Valvetronic = VTEC + variable valve timing.

removal of butterfly throttle using motor improves throttle response by reducing losses

anyway... inline 6 on a Bimmer do exhibit better FC due to power to weight differences...

so even a M can have good FC, since it can remain even below 2k rpm to overtake vehicles...

The E34 is still in the top 3 spot of cars that I own before...still one of my fav...if I was in M'sia...I would have kept the car and slowly restore it back to full glory.

Why let go ? Cos I had to stick 20 candles on its birthday cake liao...dun make economic sense to keep it....the 50% loading on the road tax is not funny man. (paid 3yrs of 50% loading...can die everytime road tax renewal comes)

I believe your friend's ride is a E46 2.0L 318i with Valvetronic (its like iVTEC).

Ask your friend to send the car to a mech with OBD reader...I suspect the car's O2 sensor is screwed and the car is running on limp mode now (since you say no power).

Its no pocket rocket...but confirm it will not be doing 6-7km/L....my old 525i close one eye also can touch 9.5km/L (not bad for a 18yr old Uber machine)

Once you change the sensor (if its the bugger that is giving the car problem)...you will get improved power and FC.

You can go to BVO (Bernard Sim) or Juzz4cars (Amos) to check...both at Sin Ming...they are very experience with BMW...

Alternatively....you can try Ang Kah Hoe Motorwork at Pandan Rd...they are experience with conti cars and have OBD readers for BMW.

many thanks Ghost rider, i will let my friend know immediately

seems J4c is a good choice

I know what u mean. My bro in MY owns E30 318i. Even though it is IL-4, d power is really raw.

Based on ur experience, is it worth it to buy E46 (IL-6) & keep it until almost 20yrs?

Other than Z4, i don't like all of Chris Bangle's design. Interior center console has been "mercedified".

Edited by Davidtch

Hell no !! Why buy a E46 now when you still have to pay the barf (PARF) value...U should know the E46 PARF is not a lightweight bugger.

I dun like the E46....the steering is no feel...no confident to drive fast with this bugger...

Why not take a look at the E39 520i...IMHO...a better car than the E46 anytime. If you dare...plonk in the M54 3.0L engine...you will go nuts and fall head over heels in love with the car....trust me...my Audi fanatic buddy jump ship to the 530i when he tested it....IMMEDIATELY. laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

But get the later E39 when they got the double vanos engines...those early 90 ones are single vanos only....if you lucky...you might be able to lay your hands on those 2.2L one...(but I doubt so...cos most if not all will be scraped...cos PARF too high to lose). Wait a while first lah...E39 now quite fresh on the market...price is a bit stiff...get those 15yrs one you might get away with a 4K and below depreciation per year !!