Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 Yalor! With the new A4 coming then the 2nd hand A4 is really good buy liao! Any current A4 (1.8T or 2.0 MU) owner can share their experience? I still wonder why the 2.0l A4 has only 130 bhp??? Is it under power? Hows the pick up and FC?? Any bro can advice?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 Decided on 9-5, and must be 06 model, will be shopping around soon..... seems many black color in 2nd hand market but I dun like black cos hard to maintain limited 06 model too but quite a bit of pre-06 (heard many problems so better get latest facelift model) ok. Share with us some photos when you got the car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jems Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 Well if you wanna buy a conti second hand car. Need to prepare at least 2k a year after the third year for repairs. I owned an Audi A4 and the part prices are quite high, especially when u go back to PA. After 4-5 years of ownership, maybe i was unlucky the parts start to fail, suspension arms, bushings, engine mountings, aircon, gear box then i surrendered and scrapped the car. However it is the one of the cheaper conti cars to maintain as the VAG parts are easily available at the shopahouses near mustafa. I bought the parts and then went to a workshop they recommended to change the parts, saved at least half the cost of PA. So be mentally prepared as good things has a price. When the car is okay, it is a joy to drive , especially up malaysis NS highway. The handling and feel is excellent. When i changed to a mazda 3 recently, i had to compromise as i did want to pay so much for the maintainance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemesis Neutral Newbie May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 [reply] Decided on 9-5, and must be 06 model, will be shopping around soon..... seems many black color in 2nd hand market but I dun like black cos hard to maintain limited 06 model too but quite a bit of pre-06 (heard many problems so better get latest facelift model) Hope you find your jets The facelift had alot of improvement like braking, handling and etc but it doesn't mean the < MY 2006 has problems Just improvement only older design Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 Since it's a family car, comfort and space should be more important... Dun turbo with family on-board.. Afterall, how much can one turbo on SG road?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 A4 tat bad? I am considering maybe want to change to a 2nd hand (2~3 years old car) A4 next year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie May 11, 2008 Author Share May 11, 2008 buying a 2nd hand car is always a risk, whether a Jap or Conti, u never know how the previous owner take care of the car. What I know Saab not too bad to maintain, especially with so many facelift lots of problem should be resolved, so hopefully is a better idea to buy a model that has been in market for quite some time..... I won't buy new conti car, depreciation and reliability not worth, if new will be Jap. Owned 2 Jap cars from new (different brand), really give me the confident Jap are worry-free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie May 11, 2008 Author Share May 11, 2008 Fundamentally new facelift is not just improvement on older design, also lots of rectification of problems, just that they dun emphasize when the sell the car. Heard from friend who own Saab said 9-5 <2006 model do have their problems, so all the facelift have resolved lots of them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie May 11, 2008 Author Share May 11, 2008 tat's y 9-5 is the choice since it provide more space compare to 9-3 or A4. A6 cannot afford as 2nd hand still very expensive.... Getting turbo is just to utilize the advantage of high torque at low rev, useful in city driving. With LPT cheaper on the road tax too...no need high cc to achieve the same effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemesis Neutral Newbie May 12, 2008 Share May 12, 2008 [reply] Fundamentally new facelift is not just improvement on older design, also lots of rectification of problems, just that they dun emphasize when the sell the car. Heard from friend who own Saab said 9-5 <2006 model do have their problems, so all the facelift have resolved lots of them. True, depend on the sales tactics Anyway, yes MY 2006 has their problems a typical example will be their DI easily kaput Hope to see you in your new jet Join us in Saabstance Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear May 21, 2008 Share May 21, 2008 So now that you've decided. Have you narrowed down to which cars you're looking at? IMO, Silver or black for the 95 is nice. if you're going for the facelifted version, its more responsive and the brakes are much better. chassis is stiffer and overall a nicer driving experience. I agree that the dash may look a bit dated, but once you start driving it, there are many features about it that you'll appreciate. And IF ever you decide to go the ICE route, it gives you so much flexibility in arranging your ICE set up. Stage 1 for 95 just gives you a nice taste of what the 2.0 engine can do. There are many "uncles" on the road who will put many other sporty cars in bewilderment. All the best! and btw, with the 95, Safety is not ever compromised. It saved 2 of my good friends who got into an accident. both walked out alive and well. Safety is something that is so taken for granted until its really needed. In Sweden, how they measure the safety of the car is not just the crash test. they also record the number of pax who WALK away from the accident, AND those who walk out of the hospital. and Saab rates the highest. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie May 22, 2008 Author Share May 22, 2008 sorry wat's DI? how much it cost to replace? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie May 22, 2008 Author Share May 22, 2008 I will prefer silver, easier to maintain. However, current market mostly are black, which must really spend time keeping it clean Test drove the latest 9-5 from showroom, very good torque, in fact stock engine already very useful on SGP road. Probably this will only last me for a short while, sure backside itchy "upgrade" the performance Talking abt ICE, I will be transferring my current system over, where to fix the HU? a 12" sub and 2 amp should not have problem finding space for them, more worry on HU. Any issue with the electronics? Heard Saab electronics very sensitive, cannot anyhow mod, true? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear May 22, 2008 Share May 22, 2008 Electronics are not too much of a concern for the 95. more so the 93SS. There are a few places that are popular with 95 owners. You can try out AE and Dynasty or New Gen among others. I personally go to Swift Motion. Black is nice. how nice you want to make it, also depends on how much work you want to put into it. If not, there are simple solutions to keep it looking good as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear May 22, 2008 Share May 22, 2008 Buy Audi lah... but Saab much cheaper. Overall OMV play a part in your dep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie May 22, 2008 Author Share May 22, 2008 u mean there are bro done their ICE at these workshops u mentioned? My current ride ICE is done at New Gen, now I know where to go.....at least they have the experience to deal with Saab. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skywalker Neutral Newbie May 22, 2008 Author Share May 22, 2008 A4 too small, A6 too ex...... Saab price is right and spacious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raudie Neutral Newbie August 16, 2008 Share August 16, 2008 Any update? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...