You living beyond your ability?  

61 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes, I agree anything the Drachen Prinz say
    • Yes, my experience say so
    • Dunno... I neber think abt it
    • No, I am prudent but rapid inflation & stagnant pay is the cause
    • No, I disagree, they r distracting from real issues

I agree with you especially on the wedding part. I'm 26 and a coulpe of my peers are already getting married or planning to get married.

The nowadays the wedding banquet is often used by many PARENTS as a show of "wealth & status". Many of the young couples of my generation do not believe in spending lavishly on a wedding banquet anymore.

Blame it on the typical chinese tradition as well as "face-loving" parents.

i held mine at HDB void deck......... with some curry chicken and roti prata only [thumbsup]

yup agreed. Nobody forces you to take the sales job. You have to work out the sums. Is there an another job that doesn't require a car?

If your job requires a car, usually you get a good car allowance which should be enough to cover for a small car anyway. If your job doesn't make enough for you to buy a car comfortably and requires you to get a car.... errr.... isn't there something wrong?

There are not many sales job that can give you an allowance of $1K monthly. Unless you are in the upper echelons of the company.

my last sales job the company pay me $700 for petrol and $500 for 'maintenance'....... not long later, the company collapse [:p]

just look here at no of repossessed cars and how new they are ... only 6 mths.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/listing.php?...=51&sb.y=8&EXM=

look at classifieds in ST to see new list of bankrupts and their I/C nos - 70s, 80s ...

u dun say, having been to a repo yard before, i hv seen mercedes, porsche, bmw..

the uncle tell me so common even amongst the older generation whom are perceived as prudent lot.

just dun ask me what the heck am i doing there laugh.gif

did u see my ferrari there? kind of miss it [smallcry][smallcry]

laugh.giflaugh.gif no choice...no work = all starve

i work = no starving but got to miss alot of school so i must tell u the truth i aint toilet paper holder but graduated from University of Society lor

now, want to find work think must go and look for apollo see if he need cleaning personnel as i've variety of working experiences (fm coffeeshop, restaurant, hotel to factory)

apolo is trying hard to keep his business on the float, dun give him too much pressure [nod]

I am sure you are well covered, but guess you serve as a good story to those who insist that you need a car for sales job. I DO NOT DOUBT that very often salesman need car, but what type of car? How do we do our budgeting?

1. Say, if you get a $1000 car allowance, will this last? Meaning can we base our car loan on a job, especially those who take 10 years and believe that their lives will get better

2. When say you need a car for a job or whatever needs or wants, have you taken all expenses, car instalment, parking, ERP, petrol, insurance, road tax, servicing, wear and tear, fines etc etc into calculation. I have some friends who keep insisting on leaving road tax and insurance out of the calculation because they need to pay once a year and they "forgot" about it during their monhtly budgeting

3. Lastly, when you need a car; does it have to be a new car? It's like you can buy a 2nd hand car at 3-4k over paper value, and pay $300 instalment monthly. But hey, most friends insist that since you are paying $300, may as well top up to $500 (usually on 7-10 years) and get a brand new car. What they fail to realise is the obligation of the loan that comes with it.

Most things are actually "Wants" only, and most of the times we are trying to convince ourselves to justify our "wants" as "needs". I am guilty of it as well, but the key thing is to plan carefully for the future affordability of the "needs" and not merely based on "cashflow", especially those trying to squeeze every cents from their paycheck. It then becomes a vicious cycle, for after you are done with a car, you will move on to maybe a house, a renovation loan, a holiday et etc; and everything is simply plan on "cashflow" and not "asset".

Edited by Notsogoodman

hahaha....

dun wana mod car, but got more wives... my idol sial!!!

YOU THE MAN!!! [thumbsup][thumbsup]

joking... [flowerface]

anyway congrats!

eh bro . not me leh .. sekali i kenna misunderstood for "eating out" leh [:p]

ok since you ask, i reply you lah....... my first car: 8yr old proton saga 1.3L, 2nd car: 7yr old nissan presea 1.6, 3rd car: 1.5yr old nissan sunny 1.6 and 4th car: BN Hyundai matrix 1.6. all normal car, low maintenance type... as long as i fit the minimum requirement of having a car for my work, i dun bother and i always dun think that is nice to have a car better/ on par/ near on par to the boss.

i even poorer, i started off with a 19-year old Charade, then moved on to a 11-year old Starlet (both i needed for work), before I bought a new Mazda3... but you see so many guys now first 1-2 years into job, and sign out a brand new car from the showroom

hahahaaa, think we are alike; but maybe we are the oddballs

[:p]

Bo pian sometimes..raising a kid nid alot commitment,time and effort.sometimes really salute those the older generation people..7-8 kids like no kick one [sweatdrop] nowadays 2 already buay tahan liao [sweatdrop]

Don't envy the older generation with 7-8 kids.

It was simply a case of poor family planning.

I have seen cases where children had to be given away because the parents simply couldn't afford it. My grandfather had 10 children but 3 had to be given away at a young age. For a child, the feeling of the one being given away can be quite a torture.

Some children are forced to skip school as they need to work part-time to contribute to family income. The elder children are usually the ones who had to sacrifice the most.

The children come to this world without any choice. The decision lies with the parents.

My take is: If the parents are not financially ready to raise a child, don't bring them to this world YET. Worse, if the child is born with a medical problem, it can be very sad for the whole family.

i even poorer, i started off with a 19-year old Charade, then moved on to a 11-year old Starlet (both i needed for work), before I bought a new Mazda3... but you see so many guys now first 1-2 years into job, and sign out a brand new car from the showroom

During that time when you bought your 19-year old charade and 11 year old starlet, the COE was probably high at $30k (a few years ago).

For the price that you paid, it was as good as buying a new car today.

Hence, nothing wrong with buying a new car, actually.

i m still doing sales job ah..... never change, juz that sell diff thing.... yeah how u know i sell butt? but i dont sell my own, ur butt wanna sell? i can connect for you [laugh]