Which brand is better, Chery or Geely?

Siyexcalibur

I intend to use the Nissan Primera as the main car, to be used 7 days a week. The 2nd car to be used maybe 5 days a week. Chery A5 is not bad but it is a very heavy car at 1.3 ton, approx same as Primera. If buy A5 would have to get the 2.0 version and not cheap, so I am thinking more of the 1.6 A168 or the Geely CK, MK.

Regards

I dont know what type of car u consider.. A lot of complains have been heard about Chery QQ and A168.. Personally i drive T11. So far i have no complains except when the speedometer spoilt... They replace for me free and the milage is rese to 0. I was involve in a accident with a nissan lation(sedan).The lady swerve to my lane and i hit the backside... lation from sedan become hatchback.. That was 1 week before hari raya.. the lation claim 8k plus from my insurance.. My car repair is only $400... only the bumper dented.. Got my car is 1 and half day... T11 have very strong body.

Tat what i told the lady husband.... But he seems in no mood to joke.... [laugh] ... They claim injury some more... bopian... i hit from behind... i write very long report to the insurance... saw their report just 1 line.... Car hit from behind... knn... Wat to do....

Hi, DS

How is your car and milage?

I was interesting and monitoring the T11 for quite some time. But was hold back by hearsay that chinese car is not reliable. We know it is cheap and prepare for some minor issue, such as not so good insulation, bad FC, etc. But based on your experience and other owners', can you give a fair judgement on the issues and safisfaction?

YOu honest and valuable inputs are highly appreciated.

I owned a Proton Wira 1.6 before, feel that it is okay, much less reliable than Nissan but much more reliable than Hyundai. It also handles pretty well. I was hoping cars like Chery A168 based on older technologies are simpler and easier to maintain. Too much electronics can give you a lot of headaches and very often you have to go back to the agent for repairs.

Since it's a 2nd car you are buying, who will be the main driver? yourself or your wife? Ever considered a Kia?

I just gotten my Rio 2 months ago, FC is definitely alright, the least i gotten was 13.75km/l, i hitted 16km/l before. Not all Korean are guzzlers. I believe Avante is a good buy.

Actually, the main consideration that i take into account is $$$. if can afford, go for better car. If not, any car will do.

Well, Proton has been hanging around to have most of its glaring mistakes corrected... But MIC cars still having a lot probs. So I do feel that now buying a MIC car, is like playing with Russian roulette, but with 5 bullets in a 6 round chamber; very high chance of shooting yourself... [:p]

I am thinking that one shouldn't pick MIC car - just not now. Don't save that kind of money... If one really wants to buy MIC car, do it in the future - just give it time to follow the same process as other sushi, kimchi brands i.e., improve QC & image probs. Then one might consider parking money on that brand.

For just $2-3 k more - which translates to mabbe extra $20 a month (mabbe less, but depending on loan type), get a more reliabe & trusted car, yah... Just think about that your car won't likely to die on you while you need to rush off somewhere... [thumbsup]

Edited by Deathstalker

I think Chery is doing much better than Proton in production and export figures.

In 2006, Chery ranked 27th (produced 307,200 units) versus Proton at 43th (produced 79,072 units), Chery exported 51,600 units versus Proton 14,706 units.

In 2007, Chery produced 381,000 units and exported 119,800 units worldwide. The export figures for Chery has doubled for 3 consecutive years.

The figures speak for themselves.

Personally, I am very doubtful about the future of Proton, when Malaysia lifts the protection of its domestic car market, (AFTA kicks in), Proton may disappear all together as it is losing market share domestically and not competitive overseas. Also it has difficulties in finding a Technology partner since its breakup with Mitsubishi.

Compared to a profit of 86.5 million ringgit in 2005, the car company lost 281.5 million ringgit in 2006. Proton blamed discounts from rivals. Total losses in 2007s financial year climbed to $591.4 million ringgit. Continue like that will become bankrupt.

Edited by Siyexcalibur

Thanks for the info... [;)]

I am saying that branding (for me@least) goes way beyond the export figures; even if say, Chery sells more than Toyota, Honda, Nissan combined... I still stick to the latter 3 brands.

Why? The 3 brands have a higher reliability of bringing me home safely (less chance of accidents) & in time (less chance of breakdown).

To me, really it is reliability of a car that really matters. Cuz' that's the one that's gonna affects me the most... [thumbsup]

Edited by Deathstalker

Production and export figures are more due to marketing rather than quality or reliability. Just consider the number of Microsoft Windows OS shipped compared to Mac OS, does it means Windows has better features or less crashes? [:p]

it is hard for even a NON-lemon china car to have more problems than that, i will readily admit [shakehead]

but how likely are u to get a lemon hyundai AGAIN?

comparing avg korean to avg china car, which do u think is likely to be better?

ultimately, ur choice and u will have to live with it. other bros here just offering their opinions [;)]

I owned a Proton Wira 1.6 before, feel that it is okay, much less reliable than Nissan but much more reliable than Hyundai. It also handles pretty well. I was hoping cars like Chery A168 based on older technologies are simpler and easier to maintain. Too much electronics can give you a lot of headaches and very often you have to go back to the agent for repairs.

1 bad car dun = to all bad cars

i owned 3 sonatas, 2000, 2004, 2006, meaning the EF sonata, the H-matic sonata and the latest NF sonata (taxi). all 3 sonatas no problem at all, not even a single complain. 2000 sonata i got 9.5km/l. 2004 sonata i got 9.5km/l (17" rims n tyres). 2006 sonata 10.3km/l with 17" rims n tyres.

moral of the story is a lemon comes only once in a blue blue moon, besides u mentioned u din send back to AD for servicing? give people a chance, try out the new models. ask around the NF sonata n avante owners, any complains/problems?

similarly, if the export figures for chery is better than proton, dun = good/acceptable cars, then wat can proof? u mean those people who imported chery cars are stupidier than singaporeans? come on! jus bcos its a china brand, dun mean lousy cars. jus like hyundai, they r making very good cars. of cos if u wan korean cars to b better than jap cars, then u hv to pay higher prices (still lower than jap cars). so for china chery cars to b on par with at least hyundai/toyota, r u willing to pay higher (but still lower than hyundai/toyota) prices?

If given both options only.

I believe even the chinese will pick Chery. Themself don't like geely alot, and even make jokes "if geely crash onto a bike, the geely will flip."

But if given more chooses and financial allow, they won't pick either.

I did consider Korean car also but Advante is more expensive than Japanese car, so might as well get Jap, like Sunny or Lancer.

Reliability is an issue, thats why I come to the forum to seek the advice of owners that actually drive a Chery or Geely for a few months. For example, I can tolerate a certain amount of problems being quite handson myself.

I think the average Korean car should be better but it is a lot more expensive, not really value for money in my opinion.

Your Sonatas all very good. It is true that I did my normal servicing outside at CAS (Sin Ming near my house) instead of Komoco, but I did major servicing and repairs at Komoco. In the past, I did asked around, some Hyundai got lots of problems but some very good like those owned by you. However recently, due to the appreciation of the Korean Won, none of my colleagues or friend buy Korean made cars, so no means of asking.

jus like hyundai, they r making very good cars. of cos if u wan korean cars to b better than jap cars, then u hv to pay higher prices (still lower than jap cars). so for china chery cars to b on par with at least hyundai/toyota, r u willing to pay higher (but still lower than hyundai/toyota) prices?

So cheap cars = no good cars?

Regards,

Production and export figures are more due to marketing rather than quality or reliability. Just consider the number of Microsoft Windows OS shipped compared to Mac OS, does it means Windows has better features or less crashes? [:p]

It may simply mean Microsoft Windows OS has better value for money compared to Mac OS. Or at the minimum, it is a useable OS.

Similarly, for a second car, I am trying to get a low-cost useable car for point A to B, not the prettiest, most powerful car or the fanciest car. It is reliability that I am concerned with. Although I can access reliability reports in other countries, they may not be so relevant to Singapore's hot and humid city driving conditions.

Edited by Siyexcalibur