Gearoil 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 After looking thru quite a few surveys about the earning power of working individuals, I have come to a conclusion that if you are 30 and above and have at least a diploma or general degree and is above 30 yrs of age...you should be earning a gross definite salary of at least $5000 per mth ( if not more!!) excluding bonus etc ... If you are not doing so..it would mean only one thing...YOU ARE DAMN HOPELESS! ...by current Sillypore Standards. Any bros/sis who would disagree with me? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 While I agree with you on the 5k a month thng...ie, by the time u r 30 and with the qualifications mentioned u should earn around 5k, I can't quite bring myself to agree that a person is hopeless... maybe he's choosing/doing something he really likes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Depends. For engineer, $5k per month by 30 years old is almost impossible. Typical engineer starts with only $2.8k at age 25, 26. Even fresh engineering Ph.D grad at age 29 years old is only drawing $3.8k to $4k only. Other sector, maybe. Not semicon engineer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Well, I'm >30 but earning <$5k.... Quite hopeful leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Author Share March 11, 2008 Well spoken....of course, being that almost every well being is being taken care of HOW MUCH MONEY ONE CAN MAKE....( unless some other forumers would care to disagree with me on this )..the term HOPLELESS is really a rather....subjective term! But money is money afterall! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Other sector, maybe. Not semicon engineer. Also not from an engineer from petrochemical industry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 I agree with you > $5k income will be just nice to live in SG w/o any complaint. But disagree with you those who earn < $5k , they are not hopeless. They are struggling to survive here. I am one of them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Inclusive or not inclusive of not declared income? After looking thru quite a few surveys about the earning power of working individuals, I have come to a conclusion that if you are 30 and above and have at least a diploma or general degree and is above 30 yrs of age...you should be earning a gross definite salary of at least $5000 per mth ( if not more!!) excluding bonus etc ... If you are not doing so..it would mean only one thing...YOU ARE DAMN HOPELESS! ...by current Sillypore Standards. Any bros/sis who would disagree with me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Shouldn't say hopeless lah ... wannabe is a better word. Anyway I'm one of them . So are some of my colleagues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Also not from an engineer from petrochemical industry... Petrochemical industry engineer can still look forward to a slightly better annual bonus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corgan Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 not all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 I dun think a person at the age of 30 earning less than 5k is hopeless.... 5k monthly is very comfortable amount I agree..but it depends on wad u paying for every month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 [reply] Also not from an engineer from petrochemical industry... Petrochemical industry engineer can still look forward to a slightly better annual bonus. Just marginally better, but still looks miserably when compared to finance & banking industry. Cos petrochemical gets the raw product from petroleum industry, as crude oil price increase the raw material price will eat into profit margin. But Petroleum industry are different, they're getting better bonus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hutan 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 After looking thru quite a few surveys about the earning power of working individuals, I have come to a conclusion that if you are 30 and above and have at least a diploma or general degree and is above 30 yrs of age...you should be earning a gross definite salary of at least $5000 per mth ( if not more!!) excluding bonus etc ... If you are not doing so..it would mean only one thing...YOU ARE DAMN HOPELESS! ...by current Sillypore Standards. Any bros/sis who would disagree with me? say till like that, i no more hope for my tomorrow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 But assuming a couple each earning slightly above $5k, they won't be qualified for new HDB nor EC....will be also hopeless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 U are damn right! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 (edited) Just marginally better, but still looks miserably when compared to finance & banking industry. Cos petrochemical gets the raw product from petroleum industry, as crude oil price increase the raw material price will eat into profit margin. But Petroleum industry are different, they're getting better bonus. During my time, I should have gone into accountancy at NTU. Would be in banking sector for quite a number of years by now. I was deciding between the two (engineering or accountancy). Engineering used to be one of the most difficult faculty to enter many years back. But now it's as good as a dumping ground. Any Tom, Dick or Harry could enrol. Or should I say, even Tom, Dick or Harry also DON'T WANT to enrol? Edited March 11, 2008 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 After looking thru quite a few surveys about the earning power of working individuals, I have come to a conclusion that if you are 30 and above and have at least a diploma or general degree and is above 30 yrs of age...you should be earning a gross definite salary of at least $5000 per mth ( if not more!!) excluding bonus etc ... If you are not doing so..it would mean only one thing...YOU ARE DAMN HOPELESS! ...by current Sillypore Standards. Any bros/sis who would disagree with me? how many toylet janitor u know earn 1/2 as much? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...