Metalslug Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 dealer said the hairs sticking at the side of the tyres are new. is that true? i know its a rough gauge but i see the thread like not so nice leh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 (edited) There is a manufacturing date stated on the tyres one It would state in a couple of digits which indicates the week of the year whereby the tyres are being manufactured Edited March 11, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
St88 Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 look for the 4 digits following "DOT" on the side wall of tyre. the following sites sh give u a clearer idea : http://www.conti-online.com/generator/www/...yre_age_en.html http://www.conti-online.co.uk/generator/ww.../Howold_en.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sugarette Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 This is useful info to know! Thanks dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Author Share March 11, 2008 (edited) ok but what about 2nd hand tyres? how to tell the thread? i mean, i do see the hairs sticking out at the sidewall, does that mean its confirm quite unused? Edited March 11, 2008 by Metalslug Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Otsego Clutched March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 how many years can a tyre last? 3yrs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 hard to tell for used tyres.. maybe it's new as in hardly on the road but it's on the car for an extended period of time. The most you can do is check the week/year it was made and try to co-relate it to the usage period of the ex owner. when I trade in my tyres after 35k on them, it still look good, esp after some wheel shine.. but then, compound have harden over the period on the road and it's not as good as well, although the thread look good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 rule of thumb: 1) 2 years or 40k. 2) Some go up to 60k (but that's up to individual to decide) 3) as long as the wallet can last, some change after 1 year or 20k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 dealer said the hairs sticking at the side of the tyres are new. is that true? i know its a rough gauge but i see the thread like not so nice leh. got hair doesn't means it's over 16.. better check the IC.. but to be serious, in the tyre's case, the week/year on it. Some are new tyres but keep in the shop for an extended period of time, thus there's changes in the compound. I'm sure you know tyres are not just pure rubber in them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Author Share March 11, 2008 in that case, i will e blow torch to burn off e hair. anyway now its clearer. got hair doesnt mean is new, maybe kept in workshop long. use DOT and then year of ownership. if DOT is new, and got hair, then should be new la? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 if you are difficult customer or expect a lot, then look at how they store their tyres and that it have the original foil before it was deflowered to be installed to your car. some can be new but the way it was stored compromise the integrity of the tyres. but then, for normal driving, i wouldn't go to that extent... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Use a tread depth gauge to check the tread depth.Do not expect too much from our local tyre shops - you will be lucky if the shop own of the the tread depth gauge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 ok but what about 2nd hand tyres? how to tell the thread? i mean, i do see the hairs sticking out at the sidewall, does that mean its confirm quite unused? Paiseh Bro ... 2nd hand tyres hard to advise you cos i have not purchase them before ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 how many years can a tyre last? 3yrs? Standard is 40K or 2 years whichever comes 1st but most would endure all the way til 50~60K with some even til can see the metal ... But of course, it also depends on how one 'Sab' corners and the type of tyre he is using Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 [reply] got hair doesn't means it's over 16.. better check the IC.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Not sure if this is true for all tyres. I realise that some new tyres have coloured lines painted on the thread itself. So after say 50km or so of travel, the coloured lines will be "worn" out by the road surface. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 dealer said the hairs sticking at the side of the tyres are new. is that true? i know its a rough gauge but i see the thread like not so nice leh. got hair doesn't means it's over 16.. better check the IC.. but to be serious, in the tyre's case, the week/year on it. Some are new tyres but keep in the shop for an extended period of time, thus there's changes in the compound. I'm sure you know tyres are not just pure rubber in them ROFLMAO!!!!! got hair!!!! Whao u expert sia, know this from experience? u must be ti ko peh expert. LOL Any way for the tires check the manu date, if it is more than 5 yrs from it, then forget it liao. Rubber also got expiry date one. even "got hair" the rubber compound could already be harden and even cracks along the sidewall maybe undetectable. Do yourself a favour, the rubber is the only contact between u and the road. get a good and reliable one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 dealer said the hairs sticking at the side of the tyres are new. is that true? i know its a rough gauge but i see the thread like not so nice leh. Really new tyres have that shiny look and rubbery feel as you rub across them. Check the edges of the cut grooves about an inch or 2 from the side wall from both sides of the tire. They must be sharp and well defined. But most important even if tire looks new, you must ensure that they are made not more than 1 year or so from factory. Check the production date on side wall. Should be able to see the week it was made and the year it was made in. Happy drifting!... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...