Gantan88 Clutched March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 I am not sure if their faith are diminishing. To me, they are operating their churches like operating fitness club like california fitness, trying to get more ppl to patronise and build chain stores. Not sure if they can get themselves listed end of the day. It is all abt competition. Competition? Did i say wrongly? I dun think so. People go church to worship their god and seek mind peace and forgiveness and a sense of belonging. Compete for what? Compete for f*&k? Compete on more ppl to join = more donation = the fellow at the top of the hierachy drives a BMW. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edix73 Neutral Newbie March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 it's so funny why the mega churches would invite so much jealousy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 Give to the poor and needy as you deem fit then. Jesus said if one gives to one of those in need, it is as if he/she is giving to God. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 (edited) Eh... get it right bro... I dont go to church.... did u read properly? So I dunno WTF is cell group or explain to you how monies are collected..... Instead of me telling you about it, y not u tel me about it? Tell me if anyone in yr church attempt to 'educate' you in donating like paying subscription fee and if yes, how do they do it? I also wonder wat do you people do when u attend cell groups, are those 'educating' sessions? Edited March 10, 2008 by Achtung Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 The destitude deserve more of our $$ than these churches IMHO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foxfire Neutral Newbie March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 Some people like to invest in the afterlife more then they do for their soul. But then, some people will even donate to the school principal comfort of a nicer armchair. The thing about donation is that once the money is out of the hand, my obligation as a 'better' human being is over. How the money is being used is now the responsibility morals of the person receiving it. That's where the abuse begins and anger derives when the truth reckons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 that's the problem with a lot of organisations in Singapore...poor CRM skills..ended up only getting more bad publicity for themselves.. agree. not sure if the church has replied by now but it better act fast and give a good answer quick. not like some leaders we have Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 i concur with your last statement. Seems like the policymaker in the organization is more incline towards the building expansion rather than the well-being of their ex member. I had visited the church before at their jurong west compound. Its very lavishly built and they even building a bigger one now to accomodate more members. Old one cost abt S$25M to be built if I din rem wrongly, and the new one probably is going to come at a cost of over S$30M. Is it true that they even have atms at the basement/groundfloor for members to draw cash for donations? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Well said. Look at how many of our charitoes failed.... when mismgt of funds kick in. Next will be churches... mark my words. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrc206 Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 (edited) Totally agree... I would rather give $ to the orphanage or old folks home than these churches. Edited March 11, 2008 by Wrc206 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Not only they have ATMs, they also have machines where you can use credit card to make the donations! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Was wondering.. are Horse Face songs dat nice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hicksau Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 That one....Last Sunday I was at Carrefour. My wife asked me.. How come so many people upstairs? I replied: Church Lor! She said: Wah danz.... in a commercial mall? I replied: yeah... so many followers, that why become so rich! This fat lady next to me chided me loudly: IT IS BECAUSE GOD LOVE US!!!! i dun mind such people unless they become too "mormon" towards me .. then my ah-beng attitute comes out .. though there have been many good examples of behaviour which followers of these mega-churches have shown .. there are also some really deplorable ones too.. too many for me to list them out either.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hicksau Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 i've not seen these machines ... wunder what they are called? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Yes, there are certainly some scary people. Those that threaten you that death befalls u unless u repent this vey minute and embrace God. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 ah ha...at least 80% of the church members would buy her album....given that there are alm 50,000 CHC members in singapore, sales of her album coming from church members alone would be around 40,000 copies alr..therefore, its no surprise she has always been one of the best selling chinese act in Singapore...as for her sales in taiwan, its once a while her album reported good results but she's not always that popular over there...in China, she is practically non-existent. so is not that her songs are that immensely popular, just that her status as a one of the founder of a church helps to propel her singing career.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 I have personally seen the ATMs myself, but as for those credit card accepting machines, I was told they are there, although I din see it personally myself.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 (edited) Wah danz.. as a Lau Chiao in Taipei, no one has heard of her and when they saw her picture, reaction would be WTF!?!??! Such an old hag and not a SYT. Reports had it that she is damn pop in US of A leh.... any truth in that too? Her sexually abused story was also timed with the release of her last album I heard! Edited March 11, 2008 by Achtung ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...