Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 PM Lee says JI fugitive Mas Selamat's escape a setback By Asha Popatlal, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 09 March 2008 1754 hrs SINGAPORE : Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has said that the escape of Jemaah Islamiyah leader Mas Selamat Kastari is a setback and is something that should never have happened. Making his first public comments on an issue that has gripped Singaporeans, Mr Lee on Sunday also called on the people to "close ranks and bounce back, chastened but stronger and more on guard". With Mas Selamat still on the run after 12 days, it is not surprising the hunt for the missing fugitive remains the talk of the town. In his first public comments on the issue, Mr Lee said the authorities are not absolutely sure yet what happened. But they will find out what went wrong and "fix it". A Committee of Inquiry has been set up to look into how the escape occurred. Mr Lee said, "As Minister Mentor said, we are not infallible. If we are not careful, we make mistakes. When we do, we better find out and put it right. I think that the security agencies are taking it very seriously - ISD certainly. "I think the police and the Gurkha unit and the SAF forces, which are now (trying to) catch him, they are (carrying out) the operation with a lot of resources and close cooperation. I have been talking to the ministers responsible and I think we have a good chance of catching him, provided he is still in Singapore." When asked if he believed that Mas Selamat is in Singapore, Mr Lee replied, "We have no reason to believe that he has left." However, while security forces will learn and grow from this, Mr Lee said such a mistake must never be repeated. Asked if it has affected the country's reputation, Mr Lee said, "It's not done (any) good for our reputation, but I don't think people believe that we are just like any other place....we are different, this was a lapse. What to do, it has happened." Meanwhile, Mr Lee said it was good to see how Singaporeans of all races had come together to distribute flyers to residents and maintain watch. And he called on the population to overcome this setback and close ranks. - CNA/ms http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../333838/1/.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoner Clutched March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 Said like no said. Repeated comment... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 no mah..must come out with comment or else cannot justify multi million dollar pay.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thefear Clutched March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 Ya lor.. was hoping he say something more interesting like whose head is goin to roll etc etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banban Neutral Newbie March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 Asked if it has affected the country's reputation, Mr Lee said, "It's not done (any) good for our reputation, but I don't think people believe that we are just like any other place....we are different, this was a lapse. What to do, it has happened." why our MIW always so arrogrant? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 Agree. And why took him over a week to say something? Just recovered from his initial shock? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoner Clutched March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 I have been talking to the ministers responsible and I think we have a good chance of catching him, provided he is still in Singapore. We have no reason to believe that he has left. Contradicting lehhh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hutan 1st Gear March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 err... how can he make a comment before his father Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 came a bit too late lah ... why must let MM Lee say first ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 no mah..must come out with comment or else cannot justify multi million dollar pay.. Maybe the last increment for them not enough leh? WTF, can't even meet minimum standard. Paika also can run away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vista Neutral Newbie March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 Is still hiding under the bed with his million dollars salary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banban Neutral Newbie March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 is there any difference who say first? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdexxxxd 2nd Gear March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 Please count how many "I THINK" that's in his million dollar statement... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 Yeah, MM must break the silence first, that's the hardest and critical part. Afterwhich, PM just follow up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 got lah.. where got Like Son, Like father? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 of course must let his father comment first. Mr Wong is his relative, won't want any family disputes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 if the pride of lions from the singapore zoo escaped and after 12 days still at large...u think the zoo ceo still has his job? or better ask the chimpanzees in the zoo to distribute flyers so that all the animals can recognize the leaping lions and close ranks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banban Neutral Newbie March 9, 2008 Share March 9, 2008 Both also Lee where got difference! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...