Meecar Clutched March 10, 2008 Author Share March 10, 2008 I do sincerely apologise to you for upseting your day i felt it was a good time to reflect as the Malaysian's election just ended from my bottom of my heart, your mum really wins my heart thank you ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 (edited) Meecar, that's the spirit I look forward to in a discussion forum. My apologies to you if my earlier words were inappropriate. *shake hands* I want to keep you as a friend in this forum. Edited March 10, 2008 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 do not underestimate Meecar. i believe he is not whining bcos he cannot keep up with the pace. i believe he is upset bcos he is seeing too many of his singaporean comrades falling behind. life is like a race. some go for the win. others cannot keep up and fall back. some cheat to win, some don't. some get a head start, some don't. some think of themselves only (these ppl are usually more successful) whereas others like meecar i believe thinks of the good of the whole group. meecar gets upset whenever his comrades are used unfairly or get left behind by our leaders. meecar is a guy with a good heart. yes life is easy for me and i can live with it without complaining. but i would like to see less wayanging and more competition at the top level too. personally i hate pessimists who always complain but when they make sense i have to accept it until i find a reason not to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 What could we do to respect you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 There lies the difference. Similarly, I have been working in several countries too. BUT the main difference is you are a sillyporean and NOT a texasen or a londoner. This is our home our country what we make out of it ..... we have to live with it As I mentioned before, the MIW has done good in many areas but there is a great difference when you (policy makers) experiment with out children (streaming and etc) but sending your own children to overseas universities, then start calling people names like quiter is very unbecoming even for a learning person policies that affect the public (sillyporeans) should be made known early and consulted before they are implemented, you dont built ERP gantry first and then tell people there is too much jam when these action affects the livelihood of sillyporeans who need to use these roads when I visit other branches in overseas, some political scientist explains, that it can only happen in sillypore, papa lee (MM), baby lee (1) (PM), baby lee (2) (CEO), daugther in law (GIC chairwomen) and so on. Basically, the entire country (including both social and economy) is runned by a family so to say. I think we sillyporeans as I have mentioned before, to those who are mature enough to understand, our future generations are going to be so "handicapped" 1. we as sillyporeans are being bred to do and not think, obey and not question, even MIW policies are moving into your matrimonal bed, you snip snip we will give you incensitive but now if you connect connect we will give up incensitive ... 2. the premise for paying Ministers multimillion dollar salary is to avert corruption, we should be paying everybody million dollar salary so as to not to tempt them from corruptions, therefore NKF cEO should be paid million dollar salary including the monk who was in charge of another charity organisation, the logic is uncomprehensive 3. how to ensure many good years and stay in power for another 5 years, quote "If nobody is afraid of me, then "..... it seems nearly 90+ of sillyporeans are in debt one way or another, so what easier way to control 4. etc you know the rest look there must be some reasonable scale to follow most forumers salary here are likely to be from 3000 to 6000 per month but when you compare to a public servant like the minister multimillion dollar salary you have to ask, you and me pay take tax on our small salary to pay our minister multimillion dollar salary first we have to find ways to move north to buy cheap petrol, cannot let us do that easily must impose 3/4 tank, basically are you helping us sillyporeans or MNC second there is no such thing as complacency or such word exist in the military or police, why because we are suppose to be trained to be ready at any time, hence reservists and in camp training, so this excuse of complacency is just to divert a serious mistake to someone call "complacency" if complacency exist, surely Dr Chee who have not threatened to carry arms, but police seems to know his every move BUT ASIA MOST WANTED can escape from a toilet while peeing is a serious JOKE that truely, we should be named sillyporeans NEXT! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 Haha do you really think it's only the older generation who think or feel this way? Quite a number of my peers are also paranoid about being "punished" for voting "wrongly" such as not being able to get a HDB flat when applying for one, not being able to get their children into a good school when applying for one, being "blacklisted" etc. And whenever I explain to them (rather exasperatedly) about how unfounded their fears are, their reply is always "Better be safe lah you never know". The problem here isn't really ignorance. It's about how we as a society are so self-absorbed and self-centered that for the majority of us, the only factor that really jolts our consciousness and grabs our attention is our self-interest, or how it will be affected. Larger issues that extends into the moral/ethical realm, et cetera, will not make a large impact on their choices. In fact my opinion is that most Singaporeans aren't REALLY that ignorant. They just put on a mask of ignorance so that they have an excuse not to make difficult choices or participate in the process of change. That's why we really have to be thankful to people who are willing to sacrifice their self-interests just to highlight these moral and ethical issues to our society, encouraging everybody to participate in and be conscious of the difficult choices that might face us as a nation, as a people. Not going to name names here but I guess it's pretty obvious with regards to the certain heros (that's right, they're our everyday heroes) I'm referring to here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 10, 2008 Share March 10, 2008 (edited) but if everyday see the same superman also sian.... y'know what i mean? as for your point, i think its STILL bo pian for now. partly due to upbringing, how the systems work here, etc, etc. the lower to middle classes are being arm twisted. some of these 'heroes' can keep on talking, but its only when they can walk the talk- and not getting shot, or sued, that's when their efforts wun be futile. just too bad that it wun happen here.... just too bad it may never happen here.... just too bad we're singaporeans, or sillyporeans some may like to call.... just too bad.... we can only 'hope' for a brighter future. but if i have the ability, i would'nt want my kids to stay in sg.... but sometimes we can reflect on the positives, rather than looking at the darker side cuz thats the only consolation that we've got hope what i've said here does'nt send out a wrong message that i'm a MIW fan. i'm not. Edited March 10, 2008 by Relagsingh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Just thought I would share this with everybody here. Great things happen to those who dare Singapore Democrats 9 Mar 08 Many of us in the opposition rejoice vicariously in the electoral victory of our counterparts in Malaysia. As we bask in the reflected glory from up north, many of you hope aloud that a similar change will take place in Singapore. Unfortunately, it will not. For change does not come with timidity. It belongs to those who dare. And the opposition and people in Malaysia dared greatly. The historic victories by Democratic Action Party (DAP), Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and the Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party (PAS) in the elections did not come about because they opted to work within the rules set by the Barisan Nasional (BN). If they had done so, none of what happened yesterday would have taken place. Instead, they told the ruling coalition what they wanted - a political system that is democratic and one that respects the rights of the Malaysian people. They called for Reformasi. More importantly, they worked - and made huge sacrifices - for the change they wanted to see. Starting with Mr Lim Kit Siang who was an ISA detainee himself for years. The leader of the DAP was also convicted and jailed under the Official Secret's Act. His son Mr Lim Guan Eng, now the Chief Minister-elect of Penang, spent 12 months in prison for criticising the government's handling of a rape case involving a BN official. Mr Anwar Ibrahim, the one who broke away from former prime minister Mahathir and led the reformasi movement in 1998, was himself jailed for six years. One of those who rallied around Mr Anwar in his dark years was Mr Tian Chua, Chief Information officer of PKR. Mr Chua suffered ISA detention for two years. He regularly graces the pages of our newspapers with photographs of the police dragging him away during protests. Mr M Manoharan, a brand new member of parliament, was elected from his prison cell in Kamunting camp, Malaysia's version of the Whitley Road Detention Centre. The DAP man has been detained without trial after he led the Hindraf protests. For every one of those who gained high profile in Malaysia's democracy movement, hundreds more made sacrifices that didn't make the headlines. Folks like Dr Syed Hussein Ali, Ms Elizabeth Wong, Mr Rasiah Sivarasah, and so on, have been doggedly doing battle for democracy for years. None of them advocated for reform by working "within the law". Instead they pushed the limits, they challenged the rules, and they spoke up when told to shut up. They did not seek just to survive in an autocratic system by trying to appease those that held the reins of power. They put the people first, themselves second. Yes they were often bloodied in the process of fighting the BN and there were times when they seemed all but obliterated. But they were never cowed. Even Mr Lim Kit Siang, official Leader of the Opposition, was often seen in the frontlines of protests calling for change in Malaysia and in his own words, the "voice inside and outside of Parliament." (empahsis added) Today, they reap the bountiful harvest that their years of collective sacrifice has produced. Activism and electioneering There is one more important lesson to draw from the earth-shaking political change in Malaysia: These newly elected MPs were once looked down upon by the BN as trouble-making, law-breaking, good-for-nothing human rights activists. And yet, the Tian Chuas and Elizabeth Wongs didn't ride the high horse of "respectability" by shunning human rights work. They knew that in an autocratic system, one needed to engage in activist work while running for elections at the same time. This is why they got together in the hundreds of thousands during the Reformasi Movement ten years ago and why they continued to march for change in Bersih and Hindraf protests last year. Even the Malaysian lawyers Walk(ed) for Justice when a couple of thousand of them marched down the streets of Kuala Lumpur, demanding the rule of law for their country. The one thing that all these MPs and lawyers had in common - they all broke the law. But they broke the law in order to uphold the rule of law. Mr Edmund Bon, chairman of the Human Rights Committee in the Malaysian Bar Council, was one of those who took part in the lawyers' protest and was arrested. He was recently in Singapore to help conduct a workshop on Nonviolent Action. Asked why he broke the law when he himself was a lawyer, Mr Bon said that sometimes governments leave law-abiding citizens no choice when they abuse the laws to deny the people their rights. "I came to the conclusion," he said, "that I was willing to take the consequences for standing up for the rights of Malaysians." Our Malaysian friends have repeated the time-honoured practice and reminded us again that the dissidents of today become the leaders of tomorrow. If there is anything that Singaporeans should learn from the watershed elections in Malaysia, it is not the if-it-can-happen-in-Malaysia-it-can-happen-in-Singapore-too thinking. This is daydreaming. Without working for change, change will forever elude us. The real lesson to learn is that we need to dare and dare greatly. For freedom and justice do not belong to the timid. The Malaysians have had to work and pay the price for their achievement. They have shown us that it can be done. Singaporeans now need to begin our own climb to the top where democracy and freedom awaits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 do you think singaporeans will learn from this? i doubt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 (edited) similar jail birds, but so what? the jail birds next door do their time fr a good reason, unlike the current leader of this party who do his time fr doing stupid things. he ruined a strong opp party that was painstakenly built up by CST. if anyone is to blame, he should be shot fr bringing down the people's confidence of the opp party. Edited March 11, 2008 by Smiley Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched March 11, 2008 Author Share March 11, 2008 But sillyporeans pride ourselves that we are better than the rest out there therefore we have the brains to think logically i am not exactly for a reformasi which would be too disruptive but more of a gradual change in the stand of the policy markers that the younger generation in time to come will not take things sitting down unlike their fathers (that includes me - the father part) in the past the polcy makers can shaft everything down our throat because we were too concern of livelihood issues and putting food on our table but today it is different, the younger generation have traveled, learned and know what is right and wrong we need to breed a new generation of responsible cohort, that value the family, honest living, taking care of our less fortunate sillyporeans why keep talking about trying to be swiss of the east I have faith that sillyporeans are NOT dumb but in time they will realised what is happening the poor of the poor had been affected, then the lower middle class and those get affected will reach you sooner or later unless you are super rich Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 For a start you should started calling Singaporean Singaporean and not things like Sillyporean, Sinkaporean and all sorts. How to take you seriously? How to respect you and your thoughts? It does not make us proud to be Singaporean. Imagine if you called you, instead of by your proper name that was given by your parents, !@#$%^&*(). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched March 11, 2008 Author Share March 11, 2008 sillyporean is more light-hearten rather than on a very serious note everything we do in many ways rather appear silly eg policy makers make it easy for people to own cars - eg 10 year loan on a car then put in place COE, ARF, PARF, ERP etc driving the cost of owning a car high and higher - in the guise of reducing the number of cars on the road petrol price expensive in sillypore, sillyporeans smart and move north to buy petrol - why the 3/4 tank rule eg many years ago cannot put bill boards on top of taxi because study showed that it distracts drivers and lead to more accident not too long ago such drivers are like racing horses, no longer distracted eg number plates .. apparently from recent posting some one saw at the zoo mp got illegal chrome plate a law maker coming an offence but TP pretend it does not exist yet when some forumers park by over a few minutes kena fine eg policy makers tell us we need to keep and value of family, not too long ago an MP daughter in the net rebuke an elderly for being a lost cause and dragging our country down please do kindly remember, the daugther comes from an MP family who preached to the sillyporeans to value our senior citizen, then you have to question what really are they doing and what are they doing ... is it some kind of cleansing it is contradictions after contradictions, looking at many issues, isnt it silly because I am a sillyporean too there is english and there is singlish thanks for your feed back I apologise i upset you but this is a forum and I do respect your comments like someone in this forum wants to ejaculate his sperms into my head 7 orifices now I am so paranoid that i am wearing a helmet to work just incase I may be artificially become pregnancy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunnrainy Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 (edited) He must be jiu hu kia Edited March 11, 2008 by Sunnrainy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 (edited) or a start you should started calling Singaporean Singaporean and not things like Sillyporean, Sinkaporean and all sorts. How to take you seriously? How to respect you and your thoughts? It does not make us proud to be Singaporean. Imagine if you called you, instead of by your proper name that was given by your parents, !@#$%^&*(). This, I agree. The thread would be of better substance if solutions were suggested after each issue raised. The suggestions need not be the actual remedies, but they could serve as a platform for further discussions. This way, we are more likely to see thought-provoking exchanges among MCFers. Edited March 11, 2008 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 all we see is one particular fella that keeps on lamenting non stop.... he goes on like a duracell bunny... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Friend, I am sure the speaker's corner is alway open for you to express your view on how miserable and screwed-up your life and stocks were. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 singaporeans are not dumb, but complacent and no balls fr change. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...