Qpik Supercharged March 7, 2008 Share March 7, 2008 Check out the following link. http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singapor...List.jsp?id=249 With the above, here's something that I like to share:- For a start, I can tell you that PRC commuters won't do that in their own country MRT station as such acts are strongly discouraged by the presence of guards and also punishments will be meted out accordingly. Public transport companies especially SMRT which I believe has the highest no. of users are not doing anything. Why did I say that they are turning a blind eye? It is because such incidents are becoming more common. For the price that we pay, are the profit to be "parked" in the remuneration package?? Can they not deployed guards (job creation) patrolling the station and enforcing certain housekeeping rules to make the journey a more enjoyable event for all? Why have rules, if they are not going to enforce it? To convince more pple to switch and willingly pay for the constant increase in tpt costs, they have to justify why it makes sense to travel with them. Is it because of the lack of competitors that they can exhibit such nonchanlant attitude and get away with it? Aiming for world class service is not about providing things that commuters do not need though appreciated but also address basic issues that they have been sweeping under the carpet. The stompers who contributed the stories are really cowards. If they had gather their courage and speak out, it will motivate others to stand up for basic rights. Why complain and wait for the relevant authorities to do something about it after the matter has happened? Wouldn't it be better if they take up the cudgel and address it themselves? Sometimes, timing really matter when addressing such issues. And if they don't help themselves, would the relevant authorities bother. They have clearly taken the line between courage and cowardice out of context. So, next time, if you do encounter something that is causing your journey to be unpleasant, gather the courage and speak out in a polite manner. Address the issues instead of waiting for others to do it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched March 7, 2008 Share March 7, 2008 I still remembered this incident in 1995 I was on a Municipal bus in SFO. The bus driver noted that a young passenger boarding the bus with a cup of drinks in his hand. The driver did not stopped the passenger from boarding, however he reminded the passenger that there is no drinking or eating onboard. The young passenger ok. Halfway through, the bus driver pulled up the bus after spotting the young man drinking at the back of the bus. The young man had a telling off and the bus driver continue the journey. Again shortly, the driver pulled the bus up and this time he was adamant in getting the young passenger off the bus after he failed to heed the first warning. The young man refused so the driver refused to continue with the journey. He called the depot for help from the bus. These bus they have a telephone to comm with the depot in case of seeking help. The best part is all the passenger in the bus(it was like 1/4~1/2 full) scolded the young man and trying to get him off the bus. No one complained to the bus driver that he should continued with the journey despite the nuisance caused by the young man. The young man eventually got himself off the bus after the rukus raised by the rest on the bus. The fact is that 1)the driver is empowered by the tpt company to tell the offending passenger off and take necessary precautions/actions. Ain't it about time that the driver here have the same power. This is despite the numerous signage since the early days on "No Eating/Drinking on Bus". 2)If the rest of the passenger recognised its their rights to have a clean and condusive bus rights and if they can obey the rules, why not support the driver to meting out the action despite the delay in continuing the journey. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 7, 2008 Share March 7, 2008 it will motivate others to stand up for basic rights. I beg to differ on the motivation part. If you search a thread started by me regarding how I told off a auntie for jumping queue but ended up getting a strong tongue lashing from her and threatening to hit me her water bottle. What one guy people around me told me to cool off and let her be, since this lady has gone wildly mad. No one care to scold her. Even the uncle whom she jump ahead just smile and nod his head as the auntie complain how busy body I am. In Singapore if you styand up, be prepare that no one will stand on your side.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched March 7, 2008 Share March 7, 2008 Not racial here but chinese have a saying like "tou yi shi bu lu sow yi shi". My hanyupingyin is graded F10 but basically here it say literrally.....if do one more thing, better to less. I find the chinese(generally) always adhered to this only because my own mother always tell me that. I am a chinese. But there are upside and is improving, only thing is there is no critical mass for it to be felt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 7, 2008 Author Share March 7, 2008 Bottom line, most pple don't respect bus driver in spore but if something does happen, they expect the bus driver to take charge. I encountered a similar case on my outbound flight. I was purchasing something at DFS. The staff brought me to the cashier. At the counter, there was a Jap lady making her payment and besides it was some items which the cashier asked whether it was mine. I said no. The cashier was about to put it aside and scanned my single item when out of the blue an Ang Mo lady came up and told me off about cutting queue and not seeing that she had put her items on the counter but not done with her shopping. I was so fed up. I told her that I noticed the items on the counter but I am not the inconsiderate party who was hogging the queue. Why queue if not done with shopping and not ready to make payment. She had to spend 5mins digging through her handbag for cash!!! Understandbly all these while, the staff kept quiet (cos they probably afraid of standing up given the AMTK syndrome). Therefore, my pts are if we don't stand firm for our basic rights don't expect third party to do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 7, 2008 Author Share March 7, 2008 (edited) Yes, I did saw your thread. I truly understand cos I do encounter from time to time. That why it takes great courage and strength to stand firm. Are we going to stop voicing out issues that bother us (ever increasing costs of living in Spore etc) just because 66.6% will come and tell us not to bother cos it is of no use or we do not hv strong opposition party? If we were to do there, then life will only get worse. Why? Cos if we do not make it known, then changes will not come about. If there's any changes to be made, one has to start from oneself. I hope you will continue to stand for your rights and not be deterred by one incident. Edited March 7, 2008 by Qpik Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 7, 2008 Author Share March 7, 2008 Yes, I know what you mean. You might be surprise that sometimes, you might be the catalyst that creates the mass. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 7, 2008 Share March 7, 2008 Tats why i dont like public transport. I'd rather take vespa or bike to work rather than these eye soar.MIW can only say...see how they react if taking these "world class BS system". I think in future can see ppl "make love" inside mrt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 7, 2008 Author Share March 7, 2008 U very long never take MRT liao is it. Now already can see gina frenching inside. No more miles high club liao... More like Miles Row Tunnels. The kind of crap that we have to put up with. Really atrocious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 8, 2008 Share March 8, 2008 Ishh...got larr...after 10 years , like mountain tortoise getting on public transport I was squeeze dry...basket,no more space the door open and a rush of mad ppl come in..lucky i didn;t faint Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged March 8, 2008 Author Share March 8, 2008 squeeze dry be careful if u hv to squeeze near a woman. last time i took a sardine-packed train. a fight broke out between a woman and a man. woman accused man of molesting her by rubba-rubba when the train braked! it was such a huge commotion as punches flew and the train personnel had to stop the train at the next station and call in police. pity those who got hit too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 8, 2008 Share March 8, 2008 Yeah,i'm aware of those,in fact ...there's a lady in front of me But then,she's not paiseh at all no doubt got body to body contact...i guess she's not local,can even see the longkang As for stomp,these stompers are really bo liao...i dont really read it much. Benefit is the owner lor...lots of sensational new Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear March 8, 2008 Share March 8, 2008 longkang... NPNT... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 8, 2008 Share March 8, 2008 Sorrlee no picture ,only me got to see it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched March 8, 2008 Share March 8, 2008 Tats why i dont like public transport. I'd rather take vespa or bike to work rather than these eye soar.MIW can only say...see how they react if taking these "world class BS system". That's very true. So many times, I've seen buses packed to the brim, passengers struggling to hold on to the hand rails etc....... while I'm seated comfortably in my car listening to mp3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged March 8, 2008 Share March 8, 2008 (edited) it will motivate others to stand up for basic rights. I beg to differ on the motivation part. If you search a thread started by me regarding how I told off a auntie for jumping queue but ended up getting a strong tongue lashing from her and threatening to hit me her water bottle. What one guy people around me told me to cool off and let her be, since this lady has gone wildly mad. No one care to scold her. Even the uncle whom she jump ahead just smile and nod his head as the auntie complain how busy body I am. In Singapore if you styand up, be prepare that no one will stand on your side.. Here people are only very brave on internet forum... but in actual situations, keep very quiet... MUTE as the thread title says! Our younger generation are now being trained by the education system to be more vocal. Let's hope the situation will change in future... or still will be brave and vocal only on the internet?? Edited March 8, 2008 by Sosaria ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...