Does anyone has an "overqualified" staff as a colleague and worse still, as a subordinate?

Yr1985

This farker, he's 50+ came to our company to work in my department just to return my director a "favour". He talked about his military, his MBA, his face in the newspaper cuttings and of cos his seniority in his ex company. So time passed by, and my boss told me that my department is not moving things fast enough. So I hold a meeting and as a department, I said to them that "we" are not moving things and wanted to discuss on how to move things. This guy argue with me and told me off that I am responsible for all these. After which he tendered, and go on telling everybody he knew including my HR manager that I am incompetant and even said that should I offend him, he would not let me off. Well I am just waiting if he has the guts to tell it on my face. Not to mentioned, he comes to work late frequently, doesn't reveal his well abouts, and now I have to clear up his mess. KNN...wat can an old man do to me?? No wonder he was a jailbird, CCB! Good thing he is out of my sight. [shakehead][shakehead]

Seems that you are pretty frustrated abt this person.

Overqualified or not, I would show him the door once company rules are flouted. Late frequently? Well, you can start from there. And also insubordination is another reason. Always don't like to abuse position, but if have to do it, you just gotta do it.

Sometimes, these people would humble themselves once they know u mean business.

since he is boss friend hv u checked out what he is good at? other then being good for nothing?

u sud not invest time in office politics but doing ur job right. if u can harvest his talent, overcome ur bias and overlook the trivials, u will go on to greater things.

learn from 曹操 he is a master in management

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cao_Cao

This farker, he's 50+ came to our company to work in my department just to return my director a "favour". He talked about his military, his MBA, his face in the newspaper cuttings and of cos his seniority in his ex company. So time passed by, and my boss told me that my department is not moving things fast enough. So I hold a meeting and as a department, I said to them that "we" are not moving things and wanted to discuss on how to move things. This guy argue with me and told me off that I am responsible for all these. After which he tendered, and go on telling everybody he knew including my HR manager that I am incompetant and even said that should I offend him, he would not let me off. Well I am just waiting if he has the guts to tell it on my face. Not to mentioned, he comes to work late frequently, doesn't reveal his well abouts, and now I have to clear up his mess. KNN...wat can an old man do to me?? No wonder he was a jailbird, CCB! Good thing he is out of my sight.

So he left, whats the hoohaa now?

This farker, he's 50+ came to our company to work in my department just to return my director a "favour". He talked about his military, his MBA, his face in the newspaper cuttings and of cos his seniority in his ex company. So time passed by, and my boss told me that my department is not moving things fast enough. So I hold a meeting and as a department, I said to them that "we" are not moving things and wanted to discuss on how to move things. This guy argue with me and told me off that I am responsible for all these. After which he tendered, and go on telling everybody he knew including my HR manager that I am incompetant and even said that should I offend him, he would not let me off. Well I am just waiting if he has the guts to tell it on my face. Not to mentioned, he comes to work late frequently, doesn't reveal his well abouts, and now I have to clear up his mess. KNN...wat can an old man do to me?? No wonder he was a jailbird, CCB! Good thing he is out of my sight. [shakehead][shakehead]

eh.. a bit confused.. what have his "overqualification" got to do with the "restructuring" or "moving forward"?

I think you only show Eps 1 and the finale. where's the context of the whole show?

tv just finish showing Xiang Yu and Liu Bang.. got to wait for them to start firming San Guo..

nowadays got people read meh? [:p][laugh]

I have not even pull rank yet, just trying to make things work...this guy go around telling people he don't need this job to feed mouths, he's here to return big boss a favour...lanjiao...good thing he chose to go, save my breath.

oh..this guy a master (MBA) too. Big boss asked him come over to improve things, but all he do is murmured and chucking to himself that this company is f**k up. If the company in good shape, why need him?? He's welcome to lead by example, be my boss if he's capable...well he dun need this job..so be it.

I guess it is just a typical case of an old man being a subordinate of someone younger than him (in yr case is so so much younger). I experience it before, someone older working under me, but he is not overqualified in that sense, and to make things worse, he is stubborn, want things his way... but similar to yr case is that he go round telling everyone how i mis-manage the department and stuff... all craps... but he never say all this craps to the big boss... laugh.gif

According to him, he thought he would be coming here to be a manager due to his glorious past, never expected to be under me a junior manager instead. He want to lead, not to be lead. Big boss could be putting him to a test but he can't handle the truth, therefore with that burden he could not contribute, then he chose to leave.

My belief is never work with someone "who dun need this job", I would avoid an ultra defensive person at all cost. [nod]

What's the issue? [sly]

The issue is very simple , the TS got a working personality clash with his colleague...but instead posted it as something to do with each others qualification! [sly][laugh]

End of story! [laugh]