Stream or Mazda 5

Ehonda

Stream or Mazda 5  

114 members have voted

1. 1.

• Honda Stream - 75K
    • Mazda 5 - 82k

Till today I still can not decide. I can get a Stream SE at $70k, Stream RSZ at $77k but Mazda 5 is $84k [sweatdrop]

whoa - your Stream prices where get one? so low?

me look at the price tag of Stream with sunroof at $78K and Mazda5 at $84K - difference is $6K but if you consider the following

+ 2 auto sliding doors

+ 1 rear aircon

+ slightly newer engine

then maybe these plus are worth the $6K ???

The price I quote is from PI.

Is this worth $6k? [hur]

+ 2 auto sliding doors

+ 1 rear aircon The aircon is not as good as those mounted on roof but I guess better than none.

+ slightly newer engine This slightly newer engine is nothing to shout about, just very minor improvement.

While there is no doubt Mazda5 is a very good car. I think they got their pricing wrong, or they are just plain greedy.

Comparing Stream RSZ at 78k and the new Mazda 5 at $84k, i'd have to say the RSZ is a better buy.

I think the only things that got people thinking and uncertain is the damn auto sliding door and rear aircon vent. Without these 2 items, the choice is so obviously clear.

Not forgetting Stream's OMV is higher than Mazda 5.

if both RSZ and Mazda5 are priced at $78k ... i think many will go for Mazda.

New Mazda 5 should have a OMV close to RSZ.

But the price diff is $7k [:/]

coe crash?

my heart says ... yes yes yes ... please crash

but my brain says ... crazy lah ... singaporeans want to change their rides - coe will not crash, only in your dreams maybe.

if Mazda5 and the Stream has got similar OMVs, then its quite obvious that the Mazda AD is greedy, wanting to "earn" that extra few Ks.

really ... if you take into consideration that similar OMVs and similar markups i.e. profits, will result in similar OTR prices, then if they are priced exactly the same, i am sure that the Mazda5 will sell alot more units that its currently doing.

perhaps then, the actual volume of the Mazda5 sales would then even churn in more profits for the AD in the longer run.

10 units with $12K profit = $120K profit

20 units with $6K profit = $120K profit

30 units with $6K profit = $180K profit

i guess we can all see the result. smaller number of units sold with high profits versus high number of units sold with larger profits. its all a matter of prospective and how the Madza5 AD wants to position the car. to me, i'll go for market share and a higher number of units anytime. just ask yourself, if the AD Stream with sunroof and the AD Mazda5 is priced exactly the same, which will you choose? my choice would definitely be for the Mazda5

but then again ... i'm only a lowly-ranked and lowly-paid employee ... who would bother to listen to me? sigh, its up to the "smarter" & "bigger" boys and i just have to follow lor :P

once again - repeat after me ... NICE CAR but weird PRICING STRATEGY! lol :P

The profit margin of MM is always very high, car with low OMV but sell higher price [rifle]

Maybe they are comfortable with small sale volume but eran more per car?

How about " Cannot compare with Stream lei..M5 is 2 litre,Stream is only puny 1.8 L,somemore when u drive mpv hor..cc must be big big,m5 is big wor cannot compare wun,so the price diff is justified" . [laugh][:/]

well - we are not comparing if 1.8 or 2.0 is better for an MPV. if we were, i'm sure most would agree that a 2.0 is better for an MPV.

if the OMV of the Mazda5 is higher by say $3-$4K than the Stream, then probably the argument that the AD is greedy wouldn't be valid. but in this case, overall cost of the both cars are the same - yet there is a difference of $6K in the final retail price - if that isn't trying to gain more profit, i don't know what is ...

The other thing that can happen is that the MM bring in a bare 5. so same OMV as Stream but MM locally install a lot of options. These options then push the retail price up

Some ppl buy it cos of the wagon look

some want it cos need to ferry extra passenger during holiday and weekends and need a sedan like drive when driving alond,its subjective [flowerface]

[nod][nod]

IMHO, no matter how cramped the space in last row for mini-MPVs like wish/stream/sienta, I feel they still offer more flexibility than sedans cause they can still ferry 7 or 8 ppl, unlike sedans. If just fetch 5 ppl, fold down last row for the boot space.

Say after a night out, you intend to fetch 6 other friends home.

I bet your friends will be so appreciative of a ride home in your mini-MPV that they will unlikely to complain abt cramped space.

Rather than if have sedan, have to leave out 2 friends.

Edited by Redboy